We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Benning
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uchee Creek Army Campground and Marina
Certificate of Excellence
stevensville md 21666
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2006

We stayed at a chalet, it was a wonderful experience. Our son was graduating from basic training and it was a great place for us to stay and for him to visit while he was allowed. My other kids loved it too. If it wasn't so far for us to visit we would definately go back. I think anyone going to Ft. Benning for graduation and family day would enjoy this place.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank purplemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
59
13
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

My son was recently stationed at Ft. Benning, for Basic Training, in the Army National Guard. We hadn't seen him in 9 weeks. We tried to find some kind of campground, in or around Ft Benning. We came across Uchee Creek Army Campground and Marina on the internet. There was no phone number or any other way to book a campsite, although there were several reviews on the place. We decided that we would go down early in the week, even though graduation wasn't until Friday. We found the place easy enough, it was a very nice campground, kind of out of the way. They had tent sites, RV sites, two small primitive log cabins (for 2 people), and 40 log cabins, with air, ranging from small to extra large(chalets), sleeping from 2-8 people. The cabins and other sites were all reasonably priced. I think we paid $12 a night for a tent site. They have a nice little store, for all your needs. You can rent boats and pontoons or bring your own, as it is located on a nice little lake and the Chattahoochee River.There is a nice swimming pool and spa, with lifeguard, for the campers. The campground is part of Ft Benning, although it is located outside of the base itself. It's located between the Main Post and the jumpsite for the paratroopers. Everyone was very friendly and helpful (southern hospitality), including the other campers. Although we were there for my son's graduation from bootcamp, it is open to the public. We have been to many campgrounds around the U.S. and this is one of the nicest I've been to. My son goes back to Ft Benning next June to finish his training and I plan on staying at Uchee Creek again. I would recommend this campground to any and all that was planning on going to western Georgia or eastern Alabama(it is located right on the state line).

  • Liked — close to Ft Benning
  • Tips/Secrets — bring lots of mosquito repellent and a good air conditioner in your vehicle
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank mamalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2006

We stayed in a chalet at the Uchee Creek Army Campground and Marina on June 21st and June 22nd. This place exceeded our expectations! It was like a home away from home. I would recommend it to everybody going to functions at Fort Benning, as you will not find a better place to stay in the area. We saw deer in the woods and there was even an alligator in the area. The central heat and air was a very welcome addition to an awesome place to stay. We had everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The chalet was very spacious and we loved the entire interior, everything was made of wood. The loft was spacious and held two sets of bunk beds. There were two bedrooms downstairs with double beds in each one. There was also an extra container of towels, washcloths, etc. We did not want nor need anything more. I would recommend it to everybody, but you have to book it in advance as it fills up rapidly. The staff at the Country Store where we had to check in were very helpful and the gentleman offered us maps and advice on the area before we even had a chance to ask for them. We had such a great time that the only thing I could wish to be different was that we would have had more time to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank zachwardsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 10, 2006

this is my second home , my family has had their family reunion here for 37years we rent 22 cabins each year . there is no place better!!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halstad mn
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2005

To get to Uchee Campground you go thru the base and it is located approximately 10 miles away from the base in the woods. It is very hard to get someone on the phone to make reservations. I would suggest calling during the day. You can either tent, camp with your own camper, or rent the cabins.
The camping areas have nice accomidations with water, electricity, tarred parking areas, picnic tables, fire rings and a campground type grill. there is showers and public bathrooms. The grass is mowed nicely around the camping areas. all of the camping areas arae in the woods. It is very peacefull.
this campground would be very nice for a family there is baseball areas, a swimming pool. and areas for lots of sporting things to do. If you have small children you would want to supervise them as the pool doesn't have a lifeguard on duty. The campground is very clean.
There are many things that can be rented at the general store boats motors, for fishing on the river on the campground. They rent bikes and many other things The river is a slow moving stream. Be sure and take lifejackets and wear them as there was a drowning on that river because a dam leavy was opened up. This campground would be nice for a family day for a soilder on leave for a few days, to spend quality time with his family. The campgrounds have plenty of space between the units so you can have privacy.
I stayed in a cabin. the cabins are very nice. They have a main room that includes a kitchen, a table, chairs, a television, VCR, a bunkbed and a rocking chair. The floor is laminated throughout th cabin. So it is easy to keep clean and sanitary. It was very beautiful flooring. The bathroom was equipped with a shower and all new fixtures. sanitary and clean. The bedroom had a full bed and night stand. with a door.
The kitchen is designed in a corner. It works very well for most cooking, the Stove and refrigerator are apartment sized, but they are new and clean. The kitchen is designed for one or two workers if you use the kitchen table as a preperation area.the porch has a very large deck with a large picnic table that will seat 6 comfortably, and you could use the chairs and table to make room for 4 more. There is a small overhang on the porch with a loveseat sized swing. Included in the kitchen are cooking utensils. we had a set of three pans and one skillet. In our cabin there was a set of four dishes and utensils. Be sure and bring foil, and things you might need for storage of food products. there are some bowls for cooking but not many. Also be sure and bring steak knifes, and any cutting tools you might need. We did not have a toaster in out unit. An electric coffee pot is included with some filters. If you are busy at the base with graduations and things, a crockpot would be nice to cook for some of those "homecooked" meals your soldier might like.
There will be bedding for the beds and towels etc. you will have to make your own bed and bring the laundry in for exchange. At the end of your stay you will have a list of things that you need to do to check out.
It is easier to check in before 1800 hrs (6:00 PM). There is a security gate to get to the campground. All units seemed to have air conditioning, our unit had central air. There is a phone, TV with cable, and a VCR. in the cabin. The employees at the general store are pleasant and imformative. If you like birds be sure and bring your birding stuff.
If you are a city person this experience might not be for you because it is a natural habitate. If you have lots of activities you might be too tired to want to do the housekeeping. A motel might be better for some people. I would rate this a 5 star campground. A discount is give for our Men in the Armed Forces based on rank.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
65 Thank sweetsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2005

The cabins are beautiful, clean and come with everything you need to feel at home. I am looking forward to staying there again when the weather is warmer to experience the beautiful scenery while swinging on the porch swing!
Barbara Reich
Proud Army Mom of Glenn Latronico

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank breich00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 9, 2005

This is truely a great place to stay. It is well worth the money and so comfortable in every way. It is very nice and quiet. Has blacktop drive and parking. The chalets are just as comfortable as being at home. And they are beautiful. It made our stay at Fort Benning a great experience. The people are so acommadating and friendly. Thank You!

Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Benning
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
7.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus Fort Benning
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbus Fort Benning
16.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning
9.8 mi away
Value Place Columbus Bldg. 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uchee Creek Army Campground and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uchee Creek Army Campground and Marina

Property: Uchee Creek Army Campground and Marina
Address: PO Box 53323, Fort Benning, GA 31995-3323
Location: United States > Georgia > Fort Benning
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Fort Benning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Uchee Creek Army Campground And Marina Hotel Fort Benning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing