We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
61
23
9
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
23
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge cabinbunk bedspots and panscoffee filtersfamily weekendmilitary idrv sitesclorox wipespot holdersdish soapboat rentalstoilet paperbeautiful campgroundblow dryerlarge sitesbasic training graduationgreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 99 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We stayed at Uchee Creek Campground for Family Day and Graduation at Fort Benning from Feb. 5-7, 2009. It is a fabulous place to stay. I read the reviews on this website and we were not disappointed! We rented a large cabin and there were 5 of us staying there...plenty of room. We counted 42 deer in the campground while driving through one evening! The view of the river is beautiful. The people at the campstore couldn't have been nicer. The cabin was very clean. They even supply you with basic cooking tools, pots, pans, dishes... there are linens and towels and a hair dryer and ironing board/iron. A nice size refrigerator, stove, microwave, toaster and TV. The furniture is awesome...leather sofa and the beds look like timbers. An absolute deal to stay there! You get so much for the price and you have the convenience of making meals right there - a huge savings over eating out. There is a little grocery store a few miles down the road - Rainbow Foods off RT. 165. It takes about 20 min. to get from the campground to Sand Hill, but that is because you are traveling on backroads and then through the base (where the speed limit is very low). If you plan to stay there, I recommend stopping at the Fort Benning main gate - off RT. 185 to get your visitor's pass for clearance to the base before you head to the campground. That way, you will be able to travel directly through the base instead of out around. The one thing the other reviews mentioned...it is a little difficult to find in the dark...but certainly not impossible! We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank soldiermomPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

I agree with everything said on the review of February 2008.

We stayed December 9-13, 2007 in a Large Cabin. We arrived just before midnight and it was a little confusing to find where the mobile home was to check-in, so it would be better coming in the daylight hours. We had a large cabin backing onto the Chatahooche River. The moss trees (like spaghnum moss) reminded me of some scary movie, but it was really beautiful in the daylight hours.

It was fun driving around at night or just before dusk to see the lights on the communication and water towers. We thought we were seeing a UFO (See picture)

We picked up some food at Wal-mart on the 10th in Columbus.(The roads in Columbus were a little confusing to find which direction to go, but we eventually made it.

The cabin was clean and just right for our small group and we were able to find where my son's Basic Training graduation was. I loved Fort Benning and its history. We were able to see the beautiful historic buildings in the Fort's center area. We were told by the Fort Chaplain that there is a building on the fort that holds a World Record for having the longest continuous roof or porch. We drove over and saw it and it was a "feel good" moment. Everyone at Fort Benning was very friendly and informative.

The wooded areas were wonderful and beautiful. I found the Georgia asphalt very intriguing as it really sparkles all over Georgia (see picture).

It is best to get your access pass for Fort Benning the day prior to any graduation ceremonies and remember to ask for a pass for your entire stay.

I thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations and it was a wonderful way to enjoy an exciting family event. It seemed more like a vacation than it would spending the time in a regular hotel.

Everyone in our group thoroughly enjoyed the woodland setting and cozy and family friendly accommodations.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank footsilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2008

This campground is outside Fort Benning base. I stayed in the large Chalet, they have several places to choice from to stay. The Chalet was incredible. Two bedrooms down stairs, one bathroom, a large living room kitchen area and a loft with two bunk beds. Very roomy ,clean and excellent condition. I was very impressed. Only caution is if you can get there in daylight do so. It is marked fairly well to get there from base. If arrive after 5:00 p.m. the country store will be closed but do go up to the door and it will tell you where to go. Well it will tell you which trailer to go to. Just get back on road came in and do not go back same way you came in go same direction you were going to country store and right after there will be a gate. The # to open the gate is right there in plain view and then just look for the # that is shown on the door of the country store and someone will be there to give you your key at one of the trailers. Do not stay on Victory Drive. My brother and his family stayed at Days Inn on Victory Drive. I will just say don't stay in that area it is not very ruputable. We could see the paratroopers right from the porch in the back. See attached pictures.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
17  Thank Auntiesandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2007

We stayed at the Uchee Creek cabins before and after my husbands deployment. We had a great time! The cabins are cute and have all the linens and pots & pans you need. We had campfires, took walks in the woods, and the kids played in their playground. If we ever find ourselves at Ft. benning again this is where we'd stay.

Stayed: February 2007
10  Thank MauraAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2007

was worth every penny and well worth the trip. cabins are beautiful and all equipped with everything you need. people very friendly and helpful and even the deer that roam on the property are very friendly and will stand to get their pictures taken. was the best place i have ever stayed and if you are going to a graduation or going to ft benning this is the closest place to stay minutes to the base maybe 5 at most. also the cheapest place to stay for miles of ft benning. would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to ft benning georgia.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank marylandarmymom1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews