We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place in Folkston”
Review of Western Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Western Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Folkston
Rome, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“best place in Folkston”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

If you want to stay in Folkston, then the western is the best for the price. The place is just a little run down and it stinks but its clean and the owner is very very friendly. We stayed because its just a short drive to the Okefenokee swamp. For the price this guy charges for a room, its a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ed-Holder1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
13
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Past two decades of enjoying the glamour of business travel, I've seen a lot of bright lights, big cities, and business hotels. On a value per dollar basis, the Western Motel is easily tops,room was very clean and comfortable, the beds were also beyond "motel quality." Cleans sheets, comfortable pillows, . Great all around, aside from the friendly and hospitable atmosphere & their personal attention on the morning of our departure they made us little snacks and offered Misala Tea can never forget the taste,its certainly admirable and certainly owned us over.. :) The property is also well-maintained.I hate to share such a secret, but in all honesty they deserve even more business. It's a comfortable stay for me, and I look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mahmud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We booked 6 rooms at this motel the week of May 10th to May 17th and we very pleased with our stay. The staff members were all very hospitable & gracious. Our stay was peaceful & they had new mattress delivered during our stay which made it all the better.
After visiting with a number of the locals we learned the other two hotels in town were horrible. One had a fire in their laundry last year and to this day the owner removes hairs from the used sheets and only occasionally washes them in one of the bathtubs. The third hotel is said to have a good bit of drug activity.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Motel was clean, that's nice, been all over, Nita and Pat (the owners) are very nice people and the housekeeper, Alice, is really GREAT at her job. A laid back kind of place, no noise which made resting a very pleasant experience! Pat, Nita and Alice are great people and cared about making our stay very comfortable (which it was). Consider them our friends. Will definitely stay here again and will refer others to stay here, too. THANKS Nita, Pat and Alice for making our stay enjoyable. :)

The Sheffields

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racersdream71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

me and my husband have been staying here for years very nice motel great owners very clean rooms nice swimming pool security no problems what so ever i highly reccommend western motel folkston georgia

Room Tip: any room is excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This motel provides fine basic accommodation. It was clean, well lit, spacious. quiet enough,had comfortable beds, and everything worked as it was supposed to. The staff was helpful and friendly. It is a good place to stop prior to going to the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge. We awoke well rested and relaxed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury,N.C.
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Folkston to do some train watching and visit the Okefenokee swamp. Check in went smooth and the owner was very nice and helpful. The motel needs some repairs and updates but it did what we wanted which was sleep. There were no bugs and the overall experience was ok. We thought it was a little pricey and the taxes were very high.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danandleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkston
22.9 mi away
Mariners Suites
Mariners Suites
#15 of 21 in Kingsland
45 reviews
20.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingsland
20.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsland/Kings Bay Naval B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Okefenokee Pastimes
Okefenokee Pastimes
#1 of 5 in Folkston
31 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Folkston
Inn at Folkston
#1 of 1 in Folkston
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Motel

Property: Western Motel
Address: 3340 Second St S, Folkston, GA 31537-4303
Location: United States > Georgia > Folkston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Folkston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Folkston GA. The Western Motel is a well maintained motel with restaurants nearby. Close to all of downtown The Western Motel is your destination when you want to relax in Folkston Georgia. Just minutes from scenic parks and Folkston Funnel. Privately owned property with friendly staff and all the amenities you could need. Let our friendly staff make sure your visit is the best it can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Western Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing