We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“treated like a king”
Review of Western Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Western Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Folkston
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“treated like a king”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

me and my husband have been staying here for years very nice motel great owners very clean rooms nice swimming pool security no problems what so ever i highly reccommend western motel folkston georgia

Room Tip: any room is excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
13
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This motel provides fine basic accommodation. It was clean, well lit, spacious. quiet enough,had comfortable beds, and everything worked as it was supposed to. The staff was helpful and friendly. It is a good place to stop prior to going to the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge. We awoke well rested and relaxed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury,N.C.
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Folkston to do some train watching and visit the Okefenokee swamp. Check in went smooth and the owner was very nice and helpful. The motel needs some repairs and updates but it did what we wanted which was sleep. There were no bugs and the overall experience was ok. We thought it was a little pricey and the taxes were very high.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danandleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The Western Motel in Folkston is really starting to show it's age. The bed has seen it's better days and was in need of replacing. The carpet and furniture also showed signs of wear and tear. The micro/fridge was in good shape and the room was pretty clean. If you are staying in Folkston, the Western is the best bet but Waycross and Kingsland offer better hotels for the same price as the Western (I paid $73 a night with tax). I hope they decide to upgrade the rooms soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBDFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2011

For this to be Folkston's newest hotel, I found it to be poorly furnished. The mattress/box spring was in terrible condition, ~ it looked as though it had been pulled from a trash pile! We disinfected and cleaned the room before we felt comfortable using the restroom or sitting on the beds!
Would I stay here again? Absolutely not!!!

Room Tip: directions to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saras7645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Folkston hotels

Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2010

The motel was more like one of those extended stay motels. The beds were terrible. Dirty carpet, stains on bathroom walls and the continental breakfast is fine if you like prepackaged bear claws. The coffee may have been OK but both pots were empty and there was no one around to make more. I waited for five minutes then left. I would not consider staying there again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJCAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The room was fine, adequately clean and comfortable. Room cleaning service good. Liked the microwave and refrigerator. Small continental breakfast with good coffee. Small pool cool and relaxing. Reasonably quiet, near to the places we needed to visit. Staff friendly and helpful. Rates reasonable. This is a good motel for the average person to get a good night''s sleep and a place to stash belongings on a shor trip. It is excellent for a visit to Folkston, Hilliard, Fernandina, and St. Mary's. Definitely not a metropolitan luxury hotel, but then you are not in a luxurious metropolis! We were in the area to visit family. Great southern cooking nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pogo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkston
22.9 mi away
Mariners Suites
Mariners Suites
#15 of 21 in Kingsland
45 reviews
20.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsland/Kings Bay Naval B
20.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingsland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kingsland
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingsland
Hampton Inn Kingsland
#6 of 21 in Kingsland
392 reviews
20.9 mi away
Florida Hotel
Florida Hotel
#5 of 6 in Yulee
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Motel

Property: Western Motel
Address: 3340 Second St S, Folkston, GA 31537-4303
Location: United States > Georgia > Folkston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Folkston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Folkston GA. The Western Motel is a well maintained motel with restaurants nearby. Close to all of downtown The Western Motel is your destination when you want to relax in Folkston Georgia. Just minutes from scenic parks and Folkston Funnel. Privately owned property with friendly staff and all the amenities you could need. Let our friendly staff make sure your visit is the best it can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Western Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing