We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brisket, wow!!!”

Moonie's Texas Barbecue
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brisket, wow!!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Place was great and clean. Best brisket in GA. Jalapeño sausage was good too. We will be back. Owner care about the customer and the quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whrgogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    38
    18
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best BBQ I've Had in Georgia By Far!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What an addiction Moonie's became while living in Flowery Branch, GA. Jason, the owner, is a great guy who has perfected the craft of fine BBQ and deeply loves what he does. I really couldn't get enough of his smoky brisket, but everything on the menu is absolutely mouth-watering delicious. Even if you don't live in the Hall County area, it's worth the drive from Atlanta to taste real Texas BBQ done right.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OSUBucks77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Big servings”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had the brisket, juicy, however the smoke was a little to strong for me. The baby backs were tender and I put on the hot sauce, just right. I love the paper as plates, made for easy clean up and a fun meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yeehaw! Come an' git yer Texas on!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Yeehaw! Come and git yer Texas on!
In the past year Flowery Branch has been privileged to have some real Texas style barbeque come to town. What a great place Moonies is! We dine here often and so far have not been disappointed with anything.
Our first visit was because of word of mouth. One friend knew the owner from their church and had had some of Pitmaster J’s food at an event and was excited about the opening of the restaurant. Hmmm, I don’t know, it is new, he might not really know what he is doing. Then a second friend brought up going to lunch there and what an awesome meal he had had. Well, I still don’ t know. I wonder if friend really knows what he is talking about. Well after two more people had said how good it was we finally decided to give it a try. Yes you have figured it out, I am not an early adapter when it comes to restaurants.
The atmosphere is great, the owners have taken what was basically on old garage turned chicken joint/fast food place and made it into a great facility for their ‘que. Little bits of Texas décor here and there but not too much ala Zaxby’s or the like. Booths and tables for large groups with rolls of paper towels and drink cartons holding the in house made sauces and couple of flat screened TVs have been installed as well, so it is a great option for football Saturdays and Sundays. The menu is on a chalkboard above the counter where you place your order and pick a $2 beer (yes, $2 Lonestars my friends) out of the watering trough that now serves as a cooler.
As I previously mentioned the menu is on a chalkboard because it sometimes changes, not the meats mind you but the sides can sometimes be switched up. Moonies serves plates and or baskets, whichever you wish to choose. The basket is a sandwich with a side and a drink, the plate is the meat with two sides. My husband and I usually order a plate and split it. And what is nice about the great staff at Moonies is they will also let us choose two meats because sometimes we don’t always want the same thing. I often go with the in house made jalapeno sausage. It is awesome, not too hot, just a little kick. My husband likes more variety and has been known to order the brisket or the turkey. Both are great. If I am feeling adventurous (and skinny) I’ll order the ribs – mmmmm. (Side note: we brought another friend here who travels often to Kansas City and is somewhat of a rib connoisseur who said they were the best he has ever eaten.) I think that the other part that makes Moonies a standout is the sides. I have not had a bad side here and as a matter of fact I often crave the creamed corn. Only once has it been a little thin but usually it is thick, delicious and creamy with some whole kernels and amazing black pepper. The slaw is great too – not too mayonaise-y – not too sweet – not too sour – just right. The baked beans are also a top pick. It took me a few bites to figure out the secret ingredient but finally I figured out there were small bits of apple in there. It might sound a bit odd but think about it – it works! I also often want the macaroni salad as well and my husband who is usually not a big fan of macaroni salad will agree because Pitmaster J’s is so good. Recently added to the sides menu is Brunswick stew and chili. We have not tried the Brunswick stew yet but hope to soon. The chili is good and I would love to try their Frito ™pie but so far I have not been able to pass up the meats and sides. I could obviously go on and on about the sides at this barbeque joint and the reason they are so good is that the crew at Moonies makes these sides in house, they don’t purchase big tubs at warehouse stores and just plop them in the fridge or microwave. Not only does tender love and care go into smoking the meats the same thought and time goes into creating the sides.
Do I have any complaints about Moonies? Well, I did but that will be remedied as of next week when they will be extending their evening hours including Sundays. One more word of caution about Moonies – the food is so good they sometimes sell out of items – since theirs is a craft not an assembly line food. Just get there early or if they don’t have the item you planned on – try something else – everything is good and you won’t be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best in the State!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is the finest BBQ by far around. They serve pork, brisket, turkey, sausage, and ribs. The meat is perfectly smoked. Tender, moist, smokey, succulent. These are only a few of the hundred or more words I could use to describe this BBQ perfection. The sides are home made. The slaw is a vinegar and light mayo sauce type. Very good and tangy. The stew, "a new addition" is great. This is real Brunswick stew and not vegetable soup. The stew has lots of meat and has the right smokey twang that good stew has. The potato salad is a traditional southern variation. There are several other sides that I have not tried and I have heard are very good. This is a not to miss BBQ restaurant on your quest for trying all the best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scottdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonie's Texas Barbecue also viewed

 
Flowery Branch, GA
 

Been to Moonie's Texas Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing