We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dounias

Dounias
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Drakona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek, Healthy, Yunnan, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ntounias restaurant is a traditional Cretan restaurant with authentic tastes cooked in the wood oven, even the bread is hand made and cooked in the restaurant. Most ingredients are taken from the family farm and many are harvested from the neighboring area. Stelios is a unique person with love for life and cooking, and this spirit you can see, smell and taste in his food! When you visit Ntounias, take your time as we will produce to you to taste our plates, which are different every day. The restaurant is located at Drakona village, east of Therisso village at Keramia, Chania prefecture in west Crete.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is how a restaurant should be: local, simple...FRESH! Everything here shows that good food is their passion. I've visited Dounias twice, once in winter, once in summer and I'll definitely go back there whenever I feel like having pure, good food (and an amazing drive).

Be ready to visit the kitchen to see what's on offer and if you find it difficult to decide, like we did, just tell them to bring "a little bit of everything". The friendly waitress brought us decent portions of everything and always remembered to explain what is what and whether we'd like some more. My favourite is arnaki (baby lamb) in the oven and everything else is VERY good too, even the bill.

You have to experience Dounias!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jutta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    45
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Top quality Cretan cuisine in a stunning setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Do take the time to search out this restaurant on your next holiday to Crete - it's memorable in so many ways. Firstly the food is top quality, healthy and super delicious - authentic, locally sourced, organic, part of the Slow Food movement. It's all cooked over wood or in wood ovens - just looking in the kitchen is an experience in itself. Secondly, you eat in a stunning location looking down the valley across to the mountains, it's beautiful and unspoiled. Thirdly, the service is warm and welcoming. The owner gave up his professional career as a chef in the nearby town of Chania to build this business from scratch in the tiny village his family comes from. You can taste his passion - he deserves to succeed. We ate in many village tavernas recommended to us by Cretans during our recent stay on the island and this restaurant really stood out for all the right reasons. It's worth searching out - it will be the highlight of your day!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vamos, Greece
2 reviews
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were introduced to Ntounias tavern by our friends and so glad we were. Drakona is hardly on the beaten track and you really have to go out of your way to get there, but it's well worth the gorgeous drive, especially this time of year when everything's so green. We were shown into the kitchen and all the home made food was described to us in detail, then it arrived at the table....no menu just freshly cooked wonderful food. It reminded me of Greece 35 years ago but even better.
If you're in the chania region check it out....

Mark and Sharon

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markandSharon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Everything is cooked on open fire and we could look round the kitchen at all that was on offer . As we couldn't decide we were given small plates of several dishes until we had to tell them to stop ! A super welcome and food was very tasty . Well worth the drive .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cariadcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, authentic and natural food, with warm welcome and very kind service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Delicious, authentic and natural food, with warm welcome and very kind service. You feel the real taste of the food, you can choose in the kitchen what you want to eat, they even make a panel of everything for you whenever you are unable to choose among all these delicious dishes, the meals change every day based on what is available and fresh, the bill remains very cheap, and the personnel is so kind and welcoming and smiling all the time. Definitely a place to go!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank IGenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dounias also viewed

 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Dounias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing