We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Dounias

Dounias
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Drakona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ntounias restaurant is a traditional Cretan restaurant with authentic tastes cooked in the wood oven, even the bread is hand made and cooked in the restaurant. Most ingredients are taken from the family farm and many are harvested from the neighboring area. Stelios is a unique person with love for life and cooking, and this spirit you can see, smell and taste in his food! When you visit Ntounias, take your time as we will produce to you to taste our plates, which are different every day. The restaurant is located at Drakona village, east of Therisso village at Keramia, Chania prefecture in west Crete.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were very happy with our trip out to Dounia today. Great authentic food and such a wonderfull host who took us on a tour amongst his gardens. Recommended!

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JenJero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 475 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you are interested in authentic Cretan cuisine try to find your way to 'Dounias' near Drakona, inland from Chania, western Crete. Stelios Trilirakis and his wife prepare wonderful dishes cooked on wood stoves and baked in wood ovens using fruit and vegetables they have grown themselves, local wine, olive oil and honey and meat from free range animals. Stelios, formerly a professional cook in Chania, returned to his home village about 8 years ago to develop a 'traditional centre of gastronomy of the Cretan diet'. There is no menu; customers are invited to see what is available in the kitchen and choose from the range of dishes Stelios has prepared on the day from ingredients he has been able to harvest himself, servings are generous and prices lower than they ought to be.

Dining at 'Dounias' was a unique experience for me and one I hope to repeat when I return to the region later this year. The passion Stelios exudes for his gastronomic values and principles is a delight to behold and it is no wonder that his restaurant is Cretan Cuisine Certified.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank franklandbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I have been staying in Crete on extended visits for four years, so we are beginning to become quite familiar with the dining options in the area. We’d been hearing about Dounias and its wonderful Cretan food for some time from several of our Greek friends and only finally took the 40 minute (from Chania) drive to Drakona today. What took us so long??? Stelios, the owner and chef, and his staff/family made us feel right at home and gave us a table in the upper terrace (highly recommended) with a beautiful view of the area. We joined Stelios in the kitchen to see what he had available for the day and after being overwhelmed with the choices, asked him to bring us a few dishes to share. Note that practically all of the ingredients in Stelios’ dishes (meats, vegetables, olive oil, wine, cheeses, fruit....) are from his property, he makes his own bread from a three-grain flour ground the old-fashioned way, and everything is cooked in and on old-fashioned wood-burning stoves and ovens. We started with an amazing meze of cheese, olives and home-made baximadi (my husband even pulled ours fresh from the oven) followed by stuffed vegetables (pepper, zucchini flowers and wine leaves), a vegetable stew, stewed rabbit, baked potatoes, and a piece of rack of lamb roasted in parchment. All accompanied by one of the most delicious whole-grain breads we've ever had. Finishing touch: mulberry preserves on the house (traditionally Cretan) - yum! Everything was top-notch quality, fresh and full of flavor and presented simply. Service was very friendly and fast (regardless of the fact that Dounias is known for its “slow food.”). Bill for two including home-made wine was 30 euro. We will be back!

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank creteadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Home cooked food , home grown ,free range , home made bread ,the food is cooked on wood burning stoves& baked in wood ovens delicious . Stellios & his wife welcome you into their kitchen to choose what you would like to eat we chose 5 different dishes approx 3 euros plate .good value for money & quality of food . It's a peacefull place scenery stunning & the drive there means you keep stopping to take in the breathtaking views It's a definite must for an afternoon of slow cooked food & a slow lazy lunch .

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brenda026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Ntourias was recommended by a Cretan local as "the best restaurant on Crete". I've not been to all of them but it was far and away the best I've experienced (and it is an experience). Incredible food by people who clearly care about every aspect. Priced way below the value IMO.
It was a bit confusing to find (it's not actually in the village of Drakona - and there's a large taverna there which could be mistaken for it - but between Drakona and Theriso). Really worth the trip.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kazan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dounias also viewed

Drakona, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Theriso, Chania Prefecture
Zourva, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Dounias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing