We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good for a short stay but not a week” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montaperti Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montaperti Hotel
N Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good for a short stay but not a week”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as we had trouble booking anything else in the area and had already booked our flights to Pisa. As we had our two teenage sons with us it wasn't a great success as there really wasn't much to do either at the hotel or in the surrounding area. Thankfully we had hired a car so we did visit a few vineyards and the odd restaurant but we had to travel some distance on each occasion as the hotel was rather remote.
Unfortunately we didn't have any cooking facilities and the hotel didn't serve lunch so again that was an issue. We enquired about this a few times and on the day before we left they started serving burgers and chips at the pool at lunchtime which was a blessing but came a little too late for us.
The evening meals in the restaurant were limited choice wise and really over priced I'm afraid. I don't think we ate once for under £100 for the 4 of us. But as there was only one very basic cafe/restaurant within walking distance we hadn't much choice but to eat in the hotel as we didn't want to drive every evening.
The hotel was clean and tidy but not luxurious and we did pay quite a lot for our stay. Other guests were only staying for one or two nights which would have been fine especially as it was quite a good location for a visit to Siena.
We wouldn't return to this hotel because of the lack of things to do and the remote location but it wasn't a disaster, the Tuscan countryside is as always amazing.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies and some look over surrounding houses with washing and dogs etc. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wobbleshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    556
    205
    79
    40
See reviews for
216
715
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florianopolis, SC, brazil
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed 2 times at this hotel without any issue.
Location is quite far from Siena but it's an easy access to Tuscany cities and main roads.
Rooms are new, fresh and with modern style.
Breakfast is OK.
There is a nice "happy hour" at bar to enjoy before dinner.
Price is reasonable. I paid 80 euro / 2 people per night.
I recommend and could stay again.

Room Tip: If you like to use air conditioning, try before unpack your stuffs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fredpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My partner and I spent 9 nights at the Montaperti Hotel during October 2012.

We chose this hotel primarily due to the location as we were visiting the area for the L'Eroica Cycling Event in Gaiole in Chianti. The hotel itself was about a 10-15 minute drive from the L'Eroica start point if you are interested.

The room itself was large with enough room to fit to road cycles inside without them getting in the way. We had a small fridge, television, free Wifi and a lovely bathroom. The bed was huge and we definitely had plenty of space.

We didn't use the outdoor area much, only to dry clothes, but there was a small table in a shared balcony. Our room overlooked the house at the front of the hotel but the road was quiet so it wasn't a problem.

Unlike other reviewers, we found the hotel easily. It is easy to get into Siena and we chose to do so through Taverna D'Arbia which we found was quicker.

There is a restaurant in the hotel but we didn't use it. We did have breakfast most mornings however and the food is okay; nothing special.

The staff were very friendly and patient; nothing was too much trouble.

If I was visiting the area again, I would definitely consider staying here. Perfect if you have a car with you but I don't know how frequently the public transport it.

There is a Coop supermarket in Taverna D'Arbia and a lovely pizerria. We liked it so much that we ate there 7 out of the 9 nights; their food is simple but delicious and well priced for Italian prices. I recommend asking for Pici (prounced Peechie) which is the traditional pasta for the area. It is a little like fat spaghetti and is lovely in olive oil with black pepper.

I am happy to answer any questions you might have about the area, feel free to send me a message!
Happy travels!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the second floor at the rear of the hotel. Go down to breakfast early to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lozzi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is great the staff is helpful and the hotel is beautiful.
My room was in front of a corn field no noise.
We went to the pool at night and the light keeps changing colors really nice.
The breakfast is good.
But you have to go there by car otherwise you will not be able to do nothing because is about 30 minutes from Sienna and 1h from Pisa and Firenze.
Bacal

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leandrobacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontapertiHotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Montaperti Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
- MONTAPERTI HOTEL: TOGETHER FOR A TOAST! -

Dear Leandrobacal,

thank you so very much for such an enthusiastic review! And thank you as well for the pics you posted on Tripadvisor!

Your nice words mean a lot to all of us and we're are really glad of the appreciation you have shown about your stay at Montaperti Hotel: we work hard every single day, with passion and constancy, and feedback like yours are the greatest reward ever :-)

I'm glad that you enjoyed staying by the pool at night: it's a real pleasure taking a night swim or just relaxing in the outdoor garden, when the sun set over Siena Skyline, filling the air with powerful, intense colors, so unique and unreal that almost look like a postcard!

I hope to have the chance to welcome you back here in the future: we'll be having a toast to your beatiful country, Brasil, and to our wonderful land of Crete!

Ciao,
Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

In July 2012, I went to Montaperti Hotel with my sister and parents. It was a wonderfull vacation because th wheather in Italy was excellent, the staff was nice to us, they were friendly. On 10 July, it was my sisters birthday and I told that to an waiter and in the evening, and we got all a present. We could drink champagne and we received fruit for dessert, that was all for free!! So, I am the waiter very gratefull and I hope I return next time because it was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontapertiHotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Montaperti Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
- MONTAPERTI HOTEL: HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, TO ALL OF YOU -

Dear FloorA,

first of all I want to thank You and all your Family for chosen Montaperti Hotel for your holiday in "LaBellaItalia": it has been a real pleasure to welcome you here and we are glad to had the chance to celebrate with you your sister's birthday!

It would be a pleasure to welcome you here in 2013 and we're doing our best to satisfy you with some other surprise that will make you remind about us for a long long time :-)

I have already passed on to the Colleague that waited you at the restaurant all your nice words, he's really pleased and he looks forward to see you again in the future . . . and so do we!

Wishing you all the best!
Ciao,

Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
222 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you are looking for a Tuscany typical scenario, classical values, this is not the place for you to visit.
However, if you are business-like mission or just looking for an efficient base, for functionality, good food restaurant, practicity, a modern scheme then come quickly. You will not be disappointed.
Good installations, good wine selection, a little bit difficult to locate. (the road access even with a GPS, is rather cumbersome). We did not have the time to use the pool or anyother facility apart from the restaurant, so we will not be able to help you there. Service is okay, nothing outstanding

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norbafreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner and I spent a week at Montaperti and I have to say that this was the best value for money hotel we have ever been to. Spacious room thoroughly cleaned daily, gigantic and comfortable double bed, good spa facilities and last but not least...NICO! Wonderful customer service from NIco at reception, he suggested lovely places to visit and wonderful restaurants!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontapertiHotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Montaperti Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
- MONTAPERTI HOTEL: FRIENDS ALL OVER THE WORLD! -

Dear Sara,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor!
I really was delighted to read your review and I too hope we can have the chance to look after you once again in the future!

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in our junior apartments, which I think are ideal for a longer stay!

You've been staying with us for many days and I know you had the chance to visit the greatest areas of our beautiful Land, but I love challenges and I'll do my best to find some other interesting place, some other good "trattoria toscana", some other astonishing landscape for you to visit and to enjoy if you come back at Montaperti Hotel :-)

By the way . . . I'm still waiting to know if you liked the last restaurant I reccomended :-)

With my best wishes,
Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casanova Pansarine
1.8 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
6.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 39 in Siena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,841 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 39 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,821 reviews
12.5 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montaperti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montaperti Hotel

Property: Montaperti Hotel
Address: 53041 Casanova Pansarine, Asciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Asciano > Casanova Pansarine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Casanova Pansarine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Montaperti Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Montaperti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montaperti Hotel Casetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing