We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AnEarly Birds Menu of Excellent Quality”
Review of Durker Roods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durker Roods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meltham
Mirfield
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“AnEarly Birds Menu of Excellent Quality”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel was the former home of the David Brown family (of tractors fame0 and is now an hotel and restaurant.

Our party called in for lunch from the Early Birds Menu (£8.95) for two courses. The food was freshly cooked and well presented. The table and bar service was of the highest standard.

The starters and main courses were both substantial and very well cooked.

On a value for money I would give this restaurant full marks and will certainly call back again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirfieldOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your meal with us. Thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate the positive feedback.

I will pass these comments onto the Chef and Staff, we try our hardest to deliver the service and quality our customers deserve. We hope you will call in again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    161
    80
    50
    62
See reviews for
137
241
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here recently for a friends wedding and whilst the grounds and exterior of the hotel are quite beautiful, the interior is seriously in need of some care. I travel a lot and have stayed in all kinds of hotels and was quite upset that this beautiful house has been left a bit neglected. We had travelled 5 hours to get here and did not get a very warm welcome at all, the lady at the reception, when she finally emerged, was very young and lacked any kind of enthusiasm at all. We wasn't told the basic information like breakfast and check out times, I think some hospitality training is in order! I had to ask other guests for the information. The room decor was cold and lacked any kind of attention although clean, a few warm furnishings would give this place a warmer feel, it really doesn't need a lot. Walls had huge dents in them as if someone had punched the wall!!
My shower didn't work and had to resort to running a little bath and as I was pushed for time wasn't impressed but I did not want to make a fuss as it was my friends wedding. I did inform them for future guests.
The actual wedding was superb, very well organised and the hog roast was first class. The waiting staff were friendly and did all they could. Breakfast was good. When we checked out we got a slightly better response but again, no request for feed back or if we enjoyed our stay, this is a small thing but I think is quite important. This house has a great marketing point with it once being the home of entrepreneur Sir David Brown. Somebody please give this place a little love.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellieBoreiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us recently. I am glad you enjoyed the wedding, which incidentally was ran and organised by the same lady that checked you in.

Unfortunately, at check in she thought you had heard the breakfast & check out times etc at the same time as the couple before you, as there was a large group who arrived together. I apologise if you had not, it is normal practice to greet people with this at check in.

We receive a lot of praise as to the upkeep of the building, in particular the communal areas but of course can't cater to everyone's taste. Being a 2-3* hotel we offer good value for money, especially when attending a function, and aim to provide clean and functional accommodation in a beautiful building and grounds. Any problems, if and when reported are dealt with as soon as possible with as little disruption to guests as possible. Please do not hesitate to address them with the Manager on duty in future as we want you to have a pleasant a stay as possible. I hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 6. No wifi in that room. Wifi works in the hall, but no signal in that room. We were left with one set of towels for three people. The staff corrected by bringing extra towels. We did not have enough hot water for three showers. Restaurant for dinner was very good. Breakfast was reasonable. Walked into town to the convenience store, short walk.
All said, we would consider again. If you expect basic accommodations in a small town, this will work.
If you are looking for an old English manor with period furnishings in a country setting, you may be disappointed.

No AC. Temp was warm till around 10pm, wasn't a problem for sleeping but if you happen to visit on a really warm day you will be toasty.

Probably the quietest night in decades. Windows open, silence, awakened to the birds chirping.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank waxrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you had a peaceful night's sleep and enjoyed your stay with us recently. It is a great place for country walks and a rest from busy schedules.

I will look into fixing the WI-FI in this room as it has previously reached.

Hope to see you again soon!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

As frequent business travelers on the look out for something different from the budget chain hotels we usually use, we were delighted with our stay at Durker Roods. The staff could not have been more helpful, and the food in the bar and at breakfast was excellent. We stayed on the "Sleep, eat, retreat" package which proved to be excellent value for money.
The hotel is being updated and as such some areas show their age, but our room was comfortable and everything worked as it should.
We loved the quiet location because on previous trips to this area we have stayed in several hotels along the M62 corridor, all of which suffer from road noise.
We would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vibman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and we are very grateful for your kind comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you if you are ever in the area again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We as a family of 5 stayed in room 6 . As the previous comment said the room was very hot and we only had a mirror in the bathroom. There were no headboards on the beds so the pillows kept slipping. We had no hot water and the T.V. worked but had a crackling sound. The only toiletries was a hand wash pump on the wall There only seemed to be 1 bar staff member which flitted between the 2 bars. Breakfast was a choice of cereals or juice, also a full English breakfast and egg of your choice (Which was fried or fried) or kippers. When the Breakfast arrived (on cold plates) it was dumped on the table. I had to ask for hot drinks as we were not offered this, also more toast as 2 slices between 5 does not go far. When checking out after waiting 10 minutes I had to ask the cleaner to get someone. Customer service really needs improving.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologise that you feel customer service was lacking during your stay; it is usually one of our most complimented qualities.

As we are a 2-3* hotel our bedrooms are not extremely luxurious, but offer good value for money in a beautiful building & location. Our food and service is very well received in the locality and being a family run business offers a more warming and friendly stay than larger corporate hotels nearer a town or city centre.

I do hope you try us again for accommodation or a function etc as I am sure you will enjoy it.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Meltham hotels

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed overnight for a family celebration which included a party of 20 Swiss friends and relatives who had flown in for the occasion. We have stayed here on 2 previous occasions for family celebrations and nothing seems to have improved over the years despite the hotel saying 'customer comments are important so we can strive to improve'!

This is a beautiful old building, in a nice location with a lovely garden. The food is good and the staff, most of whom seemed young and quite inexperienced, were very friendly and helpful. (That said I had to ring 3 times to get my booking confirmation by email!) Such a pity that all this is let down by a lacklustre interior which, whilst not exactly dirty, just looks unloved and run down. Whoever has been responsible for decorating the public rooms should be ashamed. Nothing matches, curtain fabrics look cheap, nothing goes with the beautiful period details, the choice of pictures is shocking, mismatched bulbs have been replaced in the chandeliers, and lightbulbs are missing here and there. A lot of the furniture is worn and needs replacing. The bedroom we were in (Room 6) was large and spacious but there any compliments must end. The furniture was old and worn - I touched a mirror hanging on the wall and the frame collapsed and the mirror fell out. There was no bedside table on one side of the bed, no full length mirror, a very, very old TV, no in-room information at all about the hotel or how to work the TV (which for foreign guests would have been difficult). The room lacked any character or colour and felt like a basic, no star hotel bedroom. Added to which the free wi-fi didn't reach our room and we had to stand in the corridor to download emails. Even the complimentary tea and coffee was just that - not even a biscuit. It was also stiflingly hot and we were unable to open single bedroom window more than a few inches to try and get some air in.

The evening meal was excellent - I think there were about 70+ guests and I didn't hear a complaint about the food from anyone. The breakfast was quite basic though especially the buffet table and was not really for the health conscious. Please have fresh fruit juice not juice from concentrate and what about some fresh and dried fruits, and some speciality breads/croissants? I don't think breakfast has changed since the last time we stayed there about 5 years ago.

I was born in Meltham and whilst I have not lived there for many years love coming back to my roots. I feel so sad that It's as if no-one cares about the hotel and I wonder why. It needs much more effective management particularly of the young staff, and better housekeeping. The front desk welcome was fairly perfunctory as was the goodbye and I thought it was fairly unprofessional. We weren't even asked if we'd enjoyed our stay. Perhaps it needs a visit by the hotel inspector to put them on the right track - the building deserves it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ginny0150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I am sorry that you feel your experience could have been better. Our staff are usually complimented on their pleasantries and service so I am disappointed that you were not greeted as you would have liked.

With regard to the decor of the building, all the features of the property remain and are tastefully decorated to retain the attractiveness of the building. We often have very positive comments about the decor and features alike, but unfortunately cannot cater to everyones tastes.

I will endeavour to improve the areas you have addressed and I thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. In future, however, please do not hesitate to address any issues with Duty Manager at the time as we would prefer to rectify things immediately.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had our marriage reception at Durker Roods in 2011 and had a wonderful experience. The best thing about this place is the staff....they were superb. They couldn't do enough for us and made our day so special. The food was great, beer was well kept and flowed and everything was spot on. It might not be Claridges but for a good Yorkshire welcome you cannot beat it. We still go in for a pint when we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darkarthur1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are very grateful for your feedback, our staff try their utmost to deliver the service our customers deserve, we are glad we made your experience an enjoyable one and very happy to hear you come back when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meltham
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
463 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.7 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
4.8 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
546 reviews
5.2 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durker Roods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durker Roods Hotel

Property: Durker Roods Hotel
Address: Bishops Way, Meltham, Huddersfield HD9 4JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Meltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Durker Roods Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Despite its’ quiet location, it is only 20minutes from Junction 24 off the M62 and offer’s complimentary WI-FI , restaurant, beauty salon, and free parking. Situated within 1.5 acres of beautifully mature gardens and woodland, this historic 19th Century family-run hotel is perfect for those seeking a peaceful, yet welcoming retreat. This magnificent Hotel was originally built in 1870 and converted into a hotel in 1975, ensuring that it still retained the traditional grandeur and charm of its’ Victorian origins. Stylishly blending the old with the new, it succeeds in crafting a distinctive ambiance of luxurious splendour and homely comfort. This, coupled with its’ picturesque location, beautiful grounds and impeccable commitment to service provision, has helped the Hotel garner an impressive reputation for exceeding all expectations.Each of the 30 en-suite bedrooms are individually designed and furnished whilst still retaining the traditional character and allure of the building’s historic origins.Comfort and relaxation are very much the order of the day and this is reflected in the wide range of modern conveniences and luxuries that each room has to offer. Including; complimentary Wi-Fi access, remote-controlled TV, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities and fluffy bath towels. There are a range of cosy room options available, from double and twin to Family size and singles, a luxurious Bridal suite, and several rooms on the ground floor for disabled access.No visit to Durker Roods Hotel would be complete without first whetting one’s appetite at Oscars, the on-site restaurant. Renowned for its outstanding cuisine and its’ unpretentious approach to quality dining, it has gained an enviable reputation for using fresh seasonal produce and locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. With extensive menus providing good honest food, there is something for everyone whether it be home cooked bar meals and snacks, traditional Sunday lunches or elegant evening dining. There is also an extensive wine list & Champagne Specials which together perfectly compliment the depth of flavours that the menus have to offer.Durker Roods Hotel are pleased to offer a sensational range of personal salon treatments within our professional beauty salon providing services tailored to meet your individual needs. Whether you require nail treatments or wedding makeup our professional beautician will be more than happy to oblige.The Hotel is located in the foothills of the Peak District National park, yet is only a 15 minute drive from the market town of Huddersfield. It is easily accessible from junction 24 of the M62, Huddersfield train station offers fantastic transport links to most major destinations across the UK and for those flying in; Leeds Bradford Airport is only a 50 minute drive away whilst Manchester International Airport is not an hour’s distance from the Hotel.Just a short distance away, there are a wealth of local attractions and tourist sites to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Durker Roods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing