We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable break and a pleasant night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Durker Roods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durker Roods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meltham
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A comfortable break and a pleasant night”
Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

As with many of the reviews we stayed at the hotel through Groupon which was a Christmas present from my brother and his wife.

ARRIVAL
We arrived at the hotel at 13:00 and was welcomed by reception. Although checkin was not supposed to be until 14:00 we managed to check in and was told that our wine was in room waitimg for us.

THE ROOM
We decided not to upgrade the room so opted for standard and our first impressions were that it was clean and warm but looked and felt old. The room door and furniture were dark wood and the carpet, curtains and light fittings reminded me of a retirement home but the rest of the room looked as though it had been kept well. The bathroom was pretty modern and the walls/decoration of a good standard.

The bed was comfortable, although a choice of pillows would have been good as the ones provided were pretty soft so even when you had two it sometimes felt as if you only had one.
The room was warm when we arived but unfortunately the heating was on all night so it did get a little overwealming through the night and we had to sleep without covers.

FOOD
We had an evening meal which was of a good standard. There were 4/5 choices for each course and we opted for a pwawn/salmon starter, Roast pork dinner and then apple pie/chocolate cake for afters which were reasonable.
For breakfast we had a full english and a continental and again the food was of a reasonable standard and service excellent.

SERVICE
The service we received was excellent but we did have an evening meal at 17:00 so there were not many people in the dining room at that time. The bar did seem more chaotic and shared its staff with the restaurant which I think was the problem. If the bat and restaurant were both busy then i cannot see how this would not create issues as people in the bar were having to ask for simple things like knives and forks.

OVERALL
Overall we had a pleasant stay and would stay again. If it was my hotel I would change a few things to make it more pleasant and acommodating but it isnt by any means a bad place:

1. Offer guests brown and white toast at breakfast (white was provided with no option)
2. Update the light fittings in the room (we were in room 31)

If you are looking for somewhere reasonable to stay in the area then its a good place to stay at a reasonable price.
Thank you for everyone at the hotel for an enjoyable stay.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the suggestions you made, that would have improved the overall experience for you. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Durker Roods in future.

Matthew King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    149
    74
    45
    53
See reviews for
129
210
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

we came up to holmfirth for a family christening and having been to this hotel before, we did not hesitate to go any other hotel than the Durker Roods. At 60.oo per night double room and Breakfast at Easter proved very good value for money. The rooms and Hotel were spotless, Breakfast with a choice of cereal,juices,full english, ample coffee, and toast, We both started the day of well.The staff in all areas gave superb service and a smile, with the bar and lounge busy every evening of our stay.Evening meals can be had with a good choice for the early bird menu priced at 6.95 for a two course meal. For those who have dogs this hotel will accept pets. I will recommend this to you with honesty, take my wor.d ,you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor and this was comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmenwestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel is in a no through road within a peaceful location.
The staff at the reception were very friendly, warm and helpful.
The family room we had was very cold (no heating on.)
We switched the radiator on and it took sometime to warm up the high ceiling room.
(Although the bathroom radiator was on making that lovely and warm.)
The family bedroom was just average and providing a poor display of tea/coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meanwhatisay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Met friends in the bar at the Durker Roods on Friday night for a chat, a glass of wine and a bar meal and what a dissapointment it was!!!!!!!We had eaten here a few weeks before and the food was poor but we heard a new chief was in place so wanting to support local business we thought we would give it another go. We ordered a bottle of white wine but there didn't appear to be any behind the bar and they couldn't find the keys to get any out of store. We were eventually served our bottle of wine with three hot, soaking wet glasses. We ordered our meals but the waitress came back to tell us that we would have a 45 minute wait, we were a little suprised as the bar was all but empty, we agreed to wait but asked her to check that it wouldn't be any longer. She returned to tell us that actually it would be more like an hour probably longer due to some crisis in the back and we were given the impression that it would be preferred if we didn't eat at all! We would have been more forgiving had the Bar/Restaurant Manager offered his apologies and an explanation but this was not the case. We find it astounding that a hotel professing to have a restaurant 'renowned for it's outstanding cuisine' and a bar and lounge where you can 'relax with friends and get a quick bite to eat' couldn't even knock up three bar meals when the place was like the Marie Celeste, crisis or not this is inexcusable. Needless to say we left and we won't attempt to eat here again nor would we recommend anyone else to. We walked to Quirkey Courner, another local restaurant, where they bent over backwards to fit us in even though they were packed and it was after 9.00pm, we had an excellent meal and will be giving them our business in the future.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JML482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Meltham hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My partner and I have just got back from our wedding at Durker Roods yesterday and I had to write a review to say what a wonderful day we have had. I got to the hotel a day before the wedding with my Mum and I was instantly greeted by the very wonderful Mayumi who helped plan our very special day. I was obviously very nervous and slightly stressed about my wedding but I have to say Mayumi made me feel so calm as nothing was to much trouble. We stayed in room 6 which is massive and was a perfect room to for me, my mum and bridesmaid to get ready in. We had a meal in the bar on friday night which was fab and very reasonably priced, house wine is lovely. My now husband and I had brilliant wedding day from the start and the hotel provided the wonderful setting. The food for the sit down meal and the buffet was again excellent and drink flowed all night, I think all our guest had a fantasic time. All the staff where brilliant but again a big thank to Mayumi who is a credit to the hotel.
Overall the hotel is a lovely place for a weekend away and also as I found out a great place a wedding.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt we belonged there. Very grand building but not the least bit intimidating due to the warm welcome we received from all the staff.
Lovely room and spacious bathroom with every facility. Evening meal excellent - formal but very relaxed atmosphere. . Service attentive but not overwhelming.
Good manicure from the charming chatty Natalie, and Mark, the manager was efficiently involved from breakfast to dinner. Seems unfair to single out staff but didn't get the names of the others who were equally efficient. We were there on a Groupon deal but would be happy to return without the discount !!
Only minus was the TV tho' I'm sure that if we'd complained it would have been put right - but we weren't there to watch telly so didn't bother. All in all - highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in Room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassetlawbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights 9th & 10 March with Groupon. Absolutely faultless. Staff friendly, efficient and helpful. Room ( No 1 ), clean and spacious. Had meal on first night, excellent. Really enjoyed the week-end and will go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heyref51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meltham
4.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
735 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 17 in Huddersfield
519 reviews
4.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durker Roods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durker Roods Hotel

Property: Durker Roods Hotel
Address: Bishops Way, Meltham, Huddersfield HD9 4JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Meltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Durker Roods Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Despite its’ quiet location, it is only 20minutes from Junction 24 off the M62 and offer’s complimentary WI-FI , restaurant, beauty salon, and free parking. Situated within 1.5 acres of beautifully mature gardens and woodland, this historic 19th Century family-run hotel is perfect for those seeking a peaceful, yet welcoming retreat. This magnificent Hotel was originally built in 1870 and converted into a hotel in 1975, ensuring that it still retained the traditional grandeur and charm of its’ Victorian origins. Stylishly blending the old with the new, it succeeds in crafting a distinctive ambiance of luxurious splendour and homely comfort. This, coupled with its’ picturesque location, beautiful grounds and impeccable commitment to service provision, has helped the Hotel garner an impressive reputation for exceeding all expectations.Each of the 30 en-suite bedrooms are individually designed and furnished whilst still retaining the traditional character and allure of the building’s historic origins.Comfort and relaxation are very much the order of the day and this is reflected in the wide range of modern conveniences and luxuries that each room has to offer. Including; complimentary Wi-Fi access, remote-controlled TV, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities and fluffy bath towels. There are a range of cosy room options available, from double and twin to Family size and singles, a luxurious Bridal suite, and several rooms on the ground floor for disabled access.No visit to Durker Roods Hotel would be complete without first whetting one’s appetite at Oscars, the on-site restaurant. Renowned for its outstanding cuisine and its’ unpretentious approach to quality dining, it has gained an enviable reputation for using fresh seasonal produce and locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. With extensive menus providing good honest food, there is something for everyone whether it be home cooked bar meals and snacks, traditional Sunday lunches or elegant evening dining. There is also an extensive wine list & Champagne Specials which together perfectly compliment the depth of flavours that the menus have to offer.Durker Roods Hotel are pleased to offer a sensational range of personal salon treatments within our professional beauty salon providing services tailored to meet your individual needs. Whether you require nail treatments or wedding makeup our professional beautician will be more than happy to oblige.The Hotel is located in the foothills of the Peak District National park, yet is only a 15 minute drive from the market town of Huddersfield. It is easily accessible from junction 24 of the M62, Huddersfield train station offers fantastic transport links to most major destinations across the UK and for those flying in; Leeds Bradford Airport is only a 50 minute drive away whilst Manchester International Airport is not an hour’s distance from the Hotel.Just a short distance away, there are a wealth of local attractions and tourist sites to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durker Roods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing