We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beyond Expectations”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large roof top terrace, great for dining alfresco, barbeques, and sun-bathing! The family lounge, plenty of room to relax with DVDs, books and games to enjoy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Large roof top terrace, great for dining alfresco, barbeques, and sun-bathing!
The family lounge, plenty of room to relax with DVDs, books and games to enjoy.
Well equipped kitchen and dining area, with fridge and freezer, oven and hob and microwave.
Large double bedroom-  one of four large bedrooms
Twin beds in bedroom four.
Bedroom, a double bedroom with access to the large roof terrace.
Family bathroom with shower, bath and bidet.
Feel free to pick whatever is ready from our orchard.
Come and have a lovely glass of champers on our Orchard terrace...
Amazing view of the sea from our roof-top terrace.
Stunning views from the front of the villa across to Bomba.
One of the many stunning views from The Olive House Italy, across to the Majella Mountains.
Castle and Abbey in our local town, just five minutes from The Olive House Italy.
Festa in Roccascalegna, Italy really is the festival capital of the world!
Our local famous lake, Lago di Bomba, great place for hiking and horse riding.
The ancient village of Gessopalena, only 20 minutes drive.
Just some of the amazing traditional Italian food served at one of our local restaurants.
Cathedral in the medieval city of Atessa, only 30 minutes away from The Olive House Italy.
Local beach resort, Vasto Marina, popular with Italians from all over Italy.
Fara San Martino-  international home of pasta just down the road from the Villa.
Famous beach resort of Vasto, great place to try gelato!
The lively city of Pescara a great place to shop and relax on the beach!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Roccascalegna, Province of Chieti, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
baz61
Casoli, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I needed a space to work with a colleague and as my house is currently being restored with builders on site I booked two nights at The Olive House, giving me a chance to visit an area of Abruzzo I'd not been to before. Upon arrival we were met by the owners who were attentive but not cloying, a quick tour of the property was followed by a welcome drink on the terrace. The rooms are comfortable and traditional without being that horrid, fake shabby chic and the uncluttered spaces were light and airy. I chose to sleep in the room with the collection of wooden shoe patterns; there's a future magazine article here. The bed was comfortable and clean. The villa was ideal for us to work at, there was ample space to set up laptops and the free WiFi was a bonus. The villa is slightly out of town meaning a car is required but the peace and quiet coupled with the views more than makes up for this. A superb place to stay with helpful yet unobtrusive hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: not too far from the town with local bars and pizzeria
Liked least: the bathroom tiles... personal choice, silly I know
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us here at The Olive House Italy. We are delighted that you like the comfortable and traditional style that we have tried to achieve.

We are delighted that you have such great memories of your stay and do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back to The Olive House Italy in the future. We are working hard to make the villa even better for 2014.

Graham, The Olive House Italy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisB681...
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location with great terrace for the views. We felt welcome.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed here as we were attending a family wedding in Roccascalegna. Four good sized bedrooms for the eight of us and good communal space. Well presented and very clean. The owners were really helpful - lovely welcome basket. In particular we enjoyed sitting on the terrace from where we could see mountains, Roccascalegna and, when it was clear, to the sea. Good wifi which was much appreciated. Lovely stars to watch at night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sitting on the terrace
Liked least: just one bathroom - a bit of a challenge for 8 of us but we managed
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2014
You mentioned so many positives, I don't know where to start. Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us here at The Olive House Italy.

We are delighted that you like the facilities that we have and agree that the views locally are amazing and enjoying the sea from the house is also a bonus. We work hard to ensure the villa caters for all needs and the welcome pack and wifi are great examples of this.

We are delighted that you have such great memories of your stay and do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back to The Olive House Italy in the future. We working to make the villa even better for 2014, come and visit us again soon.

Warm regards, Graham, The Olive House Italy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarark79
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful,relaxing place in the italian coutryside to get away from it all.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

If you really want to get away from it all, the Olive House is just the place. There are breath-taking views from every window in this spacious and well equipt villa. By day you can relax on the terrace overlooking olive groves, orchards and mountains. Or take a short drive to several local villages, perched high in the hillside, to wander through the narrow and ancient streets and get a taste of the real Italy. The area is also great for walking, with plenty of quiet country lanes.
In the evening you can relax in the cosy lounge and watch tv or sit on the terrace and watch the fireflies, while crickets sing in the background.
The beach is about 20 minutes drive away, or if you prefer, Lake Bomba offers fresh water swimming and is just a short drive down the road.
I really enjoyed my stay at the Olive House and will definitely return in the not too distant future.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2014
We are delighted that you have such great memories of your stay and do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back to The Olive House Italy in the future. There are always new alleyways and ancient towns to explore, one trip does not do them justice! And of course after a long day exploring the crickets will always be here to welcome you home.

We are working hard to make the villa even better for 2014 and hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards, Graham, The Olive House Italy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 30, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locality.
Liked least: Going home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2014
We are delighted that you have such great memories of your stay and do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back to The Olive House Italy in the future.

We are working hard to make the villa even better for 2014, hope to see you soon!

Warm regards, Graham, The Olive House Italy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us here at The Olive House Italy.

We are delighted that you have such great memories of your stay and do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back to The Olive House Italy in the future. We are working hard to make the villa even better for 2014.

Warm regards, Graham, The Olive House Italy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2014
We are delighted that you have such great memories of your stay and do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back to The Olive House Italy in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us here at The Olive House Italy.

Warm regards, Graham, The Olive House Italy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing