We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect accomodation in a lovley location”
other traveler has booked this property
La Maison Bleue (sleeps 4)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Maison Bleue (sleeps 4)
Alfresco Dining at its best! Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
La Maison Bleue (sleeps 4)
Alfresco Dining at its best!
Lounge
Lounge
Dining area
Coffee and croissants.... what better way to start the day!
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Double Bed
Garden
Back Garden
Enjoy traditional French Markets.
There are fetes and festivals in abundance
Within easy reach is the Golfe du Morbihan
Another deserted beach waiting to be discovered....
A trip to Brittany wouldn't be complete without a crêpe or two!
Nearby medieval town of Malestroit
So much to see and do .....
Canal paths - perfect for walking and cycling
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Treal, Morbihan, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ron E
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Maison Bleue is bit out in the sticks but not without some character”
Reviewed October 6, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

This gite comprises one half of a semi-detached property on the D147 at the southern edge of the small village of Treal.
Entry to the property is via a side door that opens directly into a spacious and comfortable lounge/diner that features a large Breton fireplace, the flue of which was noted at the time to be blocked up with a wadge of unprotected glass fibre. A low archway (67.5 inches high - so be prepared to duck!)) leads through to the kitchen area, off which there is a door into the toilet/shower room, with a small sink set into one corner.
A narrow, steep staircase leads to the upper floor where there are two bedrooms but no bathroom or toilet, which means that in the night it is necessary to negotiate the stairs to access the facilities downstairs. One bedroom contains a comfortable double bed and the other, smaller room, two singles.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2018
Thanks Ron for your description of La Maison Bleue which mirrors perfectly our description and the many photos on the website. The weather was absolutely glorious whilst you were in Brittany and I do hope that you were able to visit to fascinating medieaval towns of Vannes and Josselin, to explore the sandy coves and beaches of the Golfe de Morbihan and of course stock up at the vibrant Farmers market at Malestroit. I am sure, like most of our guests you enjoyed a meal at the restaurant just a two minutes walk from La Maison Bleue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireSwi...
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect accomodation in a lovley location”
Reviewed September 12, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We all loved the holiday, the house was exactly what we needed for a family with 2 teenagers. We found lovely places to visit everyday and some excellent places to eat. The owners were really helpful and even came over with a fresh bottle of milk when we bought the wrong type. We would definitely love to try another of their homes, it was so clean and really well equipped. A fab holiday, with lots of great memories.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2018
I am so pleased that you had a lovely holiday and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshiref...
Twemlow Green, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely Gite in Tranquil area ”
Reviewed November 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have stayed before in one of Nicolas Gites and the first thing to say is that the Gites are exceptionally clean and well equipped.
Maison Bleue is well located in the village of Treal with a local shop providing most that you could require with supermarkets in Guer about 10km away.
Whichever village or town you visit locally will not disappoint. Take a look at Nicolas recommendations in the information booklet in the Gite and you wont go far wrong.
We love Malestroit and went there a few times to soak up the atmosphere.
The local french are in the main very friendly and happy to pass the time of day.
Well worth a visit. One week is not long enough

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2017
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday!
I have to agree with you, Malestoit is a lovely town and it hasn't changed a bit in 20 years!. Every other year Malestoit hosts a medieval weekend, and it really does feel like you have been transported back in time!.. the architecture, cobbled streets, traditional shops just add a few knights on horseback!.
I hope that you visited the Malestroit on market day!, and if you did I bet you didn't leave empty handed!..
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we really do appreciate it, and once again, I am so pleased that you had a lovely holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshiref...
Twemlow Green, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect location for exploring Brittany”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is the second time we have used one of Nicolas Gites and we were not disappointed. Superbly fitted out and spotlessly clean.
We spent a lot of time visiting local towns. Special mention for Josselin,Ploermel,Auray,Questembert, Saint-Martin-sur-Oust, La Gacilly and only 10KM away Malestroit which has a lovely center with lovely Creperies. Basically you can't go wrong.
Ploermel has several large supermarkets to stock up. Damgan has a lovely beach and the sea is not to cold, Just don't expect Med temps. We will be sure to return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Really pleased that you had a good holiday!.
You have discovered all of our favourite places!.. I hope that you sampled the delights of the boulangerie at Saint Martin sur Oust. If not, next time you must try a Kouign-amann !...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian h
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Gite in a lovely area.”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay. Gite is very clean (not always the case in some gites we have stayed in) and well equipped. Village is quiet and convenient for visiting the many interesting places to visit. It's location a few km the Nante Brest Canal was a real bonus. We did miss any Wi Fi connection but it is available a few minutes away at the owners property. The village only has a small shop/bar which stocks most essentials including bread but only a limited amount. Croissants only available to order but the very friendly lady has no problem doing this for you. Just ask and they appear each morning. Altogether a good value gite run by a highly professional and very friendly english couple. If you do get any problems they will instantly sort them out. Not that we had any. Lovely area and well worth visiting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Liked least: Lack of Wi fi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Maison Bleue.
The Nantes Breast canal has fantastic tow paths which are great for walking or cycling (no hills!.. always a bonus!).
When you have exhausted the canal you must try the enormous Voie Verte network of tarmaced disused railway lines. Also great for walking and cycling, and again no hills!
La Maison Bleue is our only gite without wifi but I am pleased that you were able to use our internet office which is dedicated to our gite guests.
Once again, so pleased that you enjoyed exploring our corner of Southern Brittany
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOB_13
Mullaghbawn nul United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chillaxed!”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I have just returned from 2 weeks in La Maison Bleu with my wife and daughter. The accommodation was clean and well equipped with good ameneties. My daughter did miss access to WIFI although this is available a few kilometres away with good directions from house to the office. Nicola thoroughly prepares her guests with research in advance on festivals and events of interest which she sent by email. A car is a must on this holiday to access the house and I was glad I hired one with a good in built sat nav which guided me from Paris. Treal is easy access to some of the most beautiful towns and villages I have ever visited in Brittany including 30 -45 minutes away Gacilly ( incredible Japanese photographic exhibition extending into forest); Rochefort en Terre (Artists of every hue); 1-1.5 hours Saint Malo (walled city and beautiful beach); Renne (lumieres). We enjoyed the firework displays around Bastille Day in Malestroit and Gacilly but remembered with sadness victims in Nice.
Locals were friendly and invited us into their houses. The Boulangerie less than 5 min walk was multipurpose and also served as restaurant, bar, coffee shop, and provided essential groceries with wider ranges available 10km away. Enjoyed reading and having quiet glass of wine outside bungalow. In summary it's quiet, rural, ideal for relaxation, good quality accommodation ; car essential. Bonne vacances!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2016
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Maison Bleue. I couldn't agree more, the outdoor photographic exhibition at La Gacilly this year is magnificent. Well worth a visit for anyone visiting Brittany. (Every year La Gacilly hosts a different photographic exhibition...and every year it is equally as good as the year before)
Rochefort en Terre has this year (2016) won the award for being 'The most preferred village that the French like to visit'. so you are in good company!
Once again, thanks again for your review and I am so pleased that you are relaxed after your holiday in Brittany!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley W
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable gite and a good base for seeing the area”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Maison Bleue is a very comfortable gite in the very pleasant village of Treal. It had all the equipment in the kitchen that anyone would need and British freeview TV in the lounge. The gite was cool which was very welcome during the lovely weather we had. It was a bonus having Nicola and Mark (the English owners) nearby and they were extremely helpful answering any questions we had. Treal is a very pleasant village and is very central for exploring other towns and going to the coast. All in all we enjoyed a very comfortable stay, the only downside was not having WiFi in the property, however, we were able to access free WiFi at the owners property very nearby. I would thoroughly recommend Maison Bleue for a very comfortable and stress free holiday.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2015
The stone walls certainly do help to keep the house cool during the summer months and this summer has been a scorcher!

So pleased that you were able to make use of the internet office which is about a 2 - 5 minute drive from La Maison Bleue. This office had a computer for our guests to access the internet and collect emails and wifi. This office is dedicated only for our guests and is completely free of charge.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Brittany in October!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing