We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
48
6
2
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
6
2
2
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 63 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2016

- Unfortunate location, No Sea view, no close access to the beach and restaurants

- NO HOT WATER and no water by 4pm daily causing the toilets and sinks not to work. we often used bottle water that they later charged us for. When we asked about this we were told they never said in the advertisement they had hot water!

- decor outdated and particularly rundown -The pool is small, in poor condition and had
significant safety issues - the diving board broke sending me and the board into the pool breaking my phone - I was offered no compensation for the phone and they put the board back without any notice to other guests that it was broken.

- I woke up to worms all over the bedroom - when we asked about it we were told its normal and that we were living in nature.

- They overcharge not only for the rooms but for any service drinks, chips etc for which there is not a price list. You do not assume that a mini bar is going to be the same as the four seasons in London. They charged almost triple for ordering you a bike or scouter

- When we very kindly discussed with the owner that we felt the price was really not reflective of our accommodation the response was dismissive, aggressive and the owners choose to respond in an unprofessional manner attacking our character.

Sadly our hotel left us with a very negative view of the island and we felt like we were continuously and shamelessly financially taken advantage by the summer dream hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank CharlieEmmaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2015

The positive things first: very clean, friendly host and maid Hilda, nice pool, great looking chambers, good-working airco, breakfast ok.

Negative things: very bad toilet in the bathroom, flushing was almost impossible and during two nights we had no water in the bathroom at all. I always went to the toilet in the hall.
Because of an error by the plumber we had salty water in the bathroom. We had some bottles of water for free to brush our teeth.
We almost always showered in the shower near the pool, that worked fine.

It is a bit far from the center. For me personally I liked the quiet nature of the place, but people who want some action will not like it.

We also hired a 'mula', a little car, to explore the island. We payed 300000 cop for this.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Henk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2015

We spent four nights in the Summer Dream Hotel. It was mostly pleasant, the hosts Karam and Suad are friendly and attentive. Our room was ample and comfortable. We enjoyed the quietness of the location but there is very little around that you could walk to. So you may find it too remote if you don’t intend to have your own transport or feel uneasy to use the bus, especially in the evening (the last one leaves town at 8:30pm). There are no marked stops for the bus, they stop wherever a person makes a hand signal and if you are on board, you need to shout to the driver ‘parada’ when you want to get off. Some things you may want to know about the Summer Dream before you make your booking. It is not a hotel, it is a guest house with four en-suite rooms (ours had one double bed and one single bed). Usually, the hosts are around, but not always they have noticed us arriving/leaving. We have noticed two staff, a very pleasant lady that helps with breakfast and does the cleaning and the gardener. The front door is kept open until the guests return to the rooms in the evening. The house has a well-appointed leaving room, but on the fancy side and I have never seen a guest using it (perhaps a simpler and more cosy room with sofas or chairs that guests feel invited to use would be more appealing and of better added value for guests (besides the room, guests use the pool lounges and have dinner in the kiosk garden). During our entire stay, the pool was green and we could not use it at all. We had issues of lack of water overnight twice in our room (shower, toilet and wash basin). The shower had very little pressure/water (be aware there is no hot water at all, as most places in the Caribbean coast/islands of Colombia. Breakfast is good (fruit, juice, bread, jam, omelette or eggs to your liking) and included in the room rate. We paid COP 400,000 per night, which is at the top range of San Andres, excluding the all-inclusive options. They also offer cocktails and dinner on demand. We had a couple of meals (one of fish fillet and the other of beef) and few cocktails (the margarita was good) and a ‘big’ surprise when we got the bill. It was our fault that we didn’t ask the prices beforehand, but not in our wildest ‘Dream’, we thought it would be at the range of a London top restaurant (we paid less for a 3-course with wine at Marco Pierre and others!). The bill was more than twice of what I was expecting. I got so shocked I could not make any comments. To my dismay, the same wines (and same vintage) they have charged us COP 160,000 for a bottle, we found for sale for COP 42,000 in San Andres city centre. I thought it was outrageous. I did send this review to the hosts before posting it, their reply was merely based on the quality and exclusivity of their services, what in my view did not fairly justify their high costs for food and wine.

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Ludalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2015 via mobile

This four bed house/hotel feels more like a welcoming home because of the kindness of the hosts, Carim, his wife and son. The beautiful garden is fire torch lit at night with chair hammocks and a pool. The inside has interesting and unique decor. The food is delicious and fresh and available when required. The location is peaceful and great, away from the crowds but walking distance from West View for great swimming and an easy bus or taxi to anywhere else on the island. Genuinely upset to leave - every touch was personal, helpful and kind. We will return.

Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karam Alberto G, Gerente at Summer Dream Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews