We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveler rating
376
77
10
2
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
77
10
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjuan and jennifervending machinethe ownerbed dormother guestsequipped kitchencuba libregreat hostsnew friendssafe neighborhoodlovely weeksocial atmospherefamily atmosphereplace to stayhome from homeplace is cleanquiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 473 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

I went with 2 friends of mine and I had a great time at the hostel. Alejandro, Juan and Shaggy treated us as a family and helped us with whatever we needed.
I strongly recomend to, after enjoying the beaches during the day, go out at night with the people from the hostel to have fun.
Cheers!

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
Thank GabrielM4027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2016

Great experience!
The staff were so nice, the other travelers amazing, we had an awesome time with everybody, it kind of felt like everyone was friends. The rooms were okay. Alejo and Juan are always willing to give info about the island and we even had the opportunity to spend some time drinking with them and other visitors.
It felt like home, totally recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2016 via mobile

I had a great stay at the blue almond, The owners really look after you and it really feels like a big family when you stay there. They help you organise all the activities on the island and can help with getting to Providencia as well. I met some great people in my time there and can deffinetly recommend it to any backpacker travelling to San Andrés. They also have an awesome Dogg named shaggy!!!!

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
Thank Ash C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016

The wifi is the worst we have ever had. It didn’t work properly at any point during our stay, and at one point took 16 minutes to load one simple web page. If a good internet connection is important to you, we recommend you don’t stay here. We stayed elsewhere on the island, and connected to Wifi at restaurants/bars and these all had a much better connection that actually worked.

The hostel has a vending machine which was quite convenient upon arrival as it was late and meant we didn’t have to go out to a shop. We were told the prices were the same or cheaper than the supermarkets, but this wasn’t the case. They were only slightly more expensive but if this is the case, just don’t say it is cheaper than or the same prices as the supermarket.

Staff gave us incorrect information. We were told local buses were random, and whilst the buses don’t stick to a specific schedule, a local who regularly uses the buses told us they come roughly every half an hour. It would have been useful to have some information on this.

Our visit was over a weekend, and one of the staff members was going out as it was a Saturday night. The next day we asked the same staff member what time shops were open as it was a Sunday and he told us the shops were shut between 12pm and 2pm, but restaurants/bars would be open all day. As we wanted to shop we delayed our plans to visit the shops until later that day. When we did go into town at around 2pm, all of the shops said they were shut between 1.30pm and 5pm on Sunday. So we ended up wasting time we could have shopped in sitting around waiting, only to go in and find the shops were closed, when if we had just gone in earlier we would have been fine. Without the incorrect information we would have been fine and it was very frustrating wasting so much time of our day due to being told the wrong thing. When we asked about why we were given the wrong information we were told the staff member didn’t realise it was Sunday, but this seems like a lie as most of the shops shut between 1pm and 3pm on weekdays, so either way the information was incorrect. The owners did apologise to us about this but at this point it was too late and our day was wasted, which was incredibly annoying, as we didn’t have that much time on the island.

Alejandro (the staff member that gave the wrong information) did apologise but it didn’t seem very sincere and he said he had got the days confused, but as we said the information didn’t seem to be correct regardless of the day. He also should have known it was a Sunday as he was out drinking the night before because it was a Saturday. We booked this hostel after reading really great reviews but were very underwhelmed with our stay and our alternative accommodation on the island was cheaper, had better wifi, the rooms were nicer, and it had aircon. Really for this price we feel the room should have included aircon. We were aware it didn’t have aircon when booking, but thought the reviews were so good it would be worth not having it but we just don’t feel the value was very good at all.

The bathroom was also quite smelly and our bathroom bin was not emptied at all during our four night stay. As the pipes are not suitable for toilet paper this meant that the bin was overflowing by the time we left and it is unhygienic not to have this emptied more regularly.

Also, we booked a tour on our first day to visit two islands (Jonny Cay and Acuario) through the hostel for 25000 pesos each, being told this was the same price with all companies. When we actually got to the port to take our boat we saw other companies advertising the same tour for 20000 pesos – so we lost money due to even more incorrect information. It may not be much money but when on a budget, it is frustrating to see the same tour can be done cheaper. If you do stay here we do not recommend booking through them for such tours as you will be able to do it cheaper yourself.

The staff are relatively friendly, but they give a lot of incorrect information as mentioned above.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

The best about this hostel is for sure its atmosphere. I should have stay 5 nights and I finally spend 10 more nights there. Really don't wanted to get away from this little paradise where I felt so good.
Juan, Jenny and Alejandro are here to help you, whatever you need. I've done my PADI open water as well as the advanced level and they organized everything for me. They will make you feel like at home, welcomed and comfortable. This hostel they built is something really special! The people you will meet there are probably the ones you'll keep in touch with. As a solo traveler, I had the feeling of a little community and this place is probably the best to make friends and create real relationships between travelers.
The rooms are great, beds are really comfty the place is always really clean. Location is good too, between the town centre and not too far from the most beautiful beach of the Island.
Tip: Book early because of their high demand!
Thank you so much to Alejandro, Juan and Jenny for this incredible experience in Paradise, hope to come back one day !
Oh and a big kiss to shaggy the chilliest dog ever !

Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
Thank Compass293062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews