We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Arley Arboretum

Arley Arboretum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These beautiful historic gardens and arboretum dating back to the late 1700's are surrounded by over 1600 acres of countryside within the picturesque village of Upper Arley beside the river Severn. In addition to providing wonderful walks through the grounds there are walks along the banks of the river, all set in the beautiful Worcestershire countryside with far reaching views. Go back in time and watch the Severn Valley Railway trains steam across the hill from one of the magnificent signposted walks. It is a garden that provides the ideal day out for you and your family, a dream escape from the bustle of everyday life. Our proximity to Birmingham, Kidderminster, Wolverhampton, Worcester, the Malverns and Cotswolds makes us the ideal attraction for individuals and groups alike. The estate offers plenty to do for all ages from the Italian garden with its fountain for the adults, to the dinosaur and fairy trails and maze for the young ones. Arley Estate and Arboretum also provides a unique venue for your wedding reception, civil ceremony, or partnership. There is more to Arley Estate and Arboretum than just a garden. It can also be used for corporate hospitality, promotional and photographic shoots and filming. Furthermore, there is a wonderful tea room, where you can buy a light lunch or full, traditional afternoon tea. We hope you enjoy your visit to Arley Arboretum and Garden and thank you for taking time to look at our Trip Advisor page.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

An ever changing landscape. A new sight to see every season. We've been in rain, snow and brilliant sunshine and enjoyed it each time.

1  Thank kinverkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArleyArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We completely agree - never a dull moment at our arboretum! We look forward to giving you another new experience next time you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tea room"
in 24 reviews
"severn valley"
in 34 reviews
"beautiful trees"
in 7 reviews
"play area"
in 18 reviews
"dinosaur trail"
in 9 reviews
"steam train"
in 15 reviews
"half term"
in 7 reviews
"walled garden"
in 8 reviews
"water features"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 10 reviews
"per adult"
in 6 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 14 reviews
"easter egg hunt"
in 4 reviews
"cake"
in 9 reviews
"italian garden"
in 25 reviews
"children aged"
in 3 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 6 reviews
Filter

214 - 218 of 226 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a beautiful site well worth a visit in the spring to see the marvellous array of flowers, the summer is an absolute delight what could be more pleasant than to take afternoon tea in the walled garden after a stroll around.The most stunning time of the year is autumn when the colours of the trees are magnificent. There is a cosy tea room with an excellent selection of home made cakes , light meals and beverages where you are made very welcome.

1  Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArleyArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Wow a 5-star rating! Thank you so much, we really appreciate your thoughtful words and take pride in receiving them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A beautiful garden, with some stunning trees. Always something to view here, no matter what time of the year you visit. Spring, is of course delightful, but the colours in Autumn are also magnificent.

1  Thank GillH007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArleyArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Every season provides new colours, smells and new things to see! Thank you for supporting us, we really appreciate it. And look forward to welcoming you back to the arboretum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We loved our walk around, very dog friendly, dogs do have to stay on a lead but we don't mind. On our arrival we where even asked if we needed poop bags how good is that. The photo opportunities are endless and we will be visiting again. It gets 4 paws up from George, well worth a visit if you are in the area, but check out the opening times on the web site first. If you time your walk right you get to see the Steam Trains pass in the valley.

1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArleyArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We're glad you and George enjoyed your day. We welcome dogs and their owners to the arboretum! Can't wait to see you all next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've been here many times over the last few years but only one this season due to moving further away. I suggested to a couple of friends who live local to here that we go for here to enjoy the autumn leaves on the trees at this time of year and it didn't disappoint as there was a vast array of colour for us to enjoy.

What I love most about Arley Arboretum is it's view over the river Severn and that the Severn Valley Railway runs down in the valley below and you can hear the trains chuffing along and the siren (?) echoing.

If you venture to the far corner of the Arboretum as well you will find the beginnings of a model of the arboretum that is being lovingly created by one of the groundsmen who work there with the help of volunteers and if you stop by and he is there he will talk you through what is going to go where - he's very friendly and loves to talk about his project, his enthusiasm is catching! I saw the start of this last year and I can't wait to go back next year to see the progress.

The only downside to Arley Arboretum is that the tea room is a bit...rubbish. Somewhere like this I would expect food made from local products and drinks and juices from local farms etc, but it's just Knorr soup, diet coke and instant coffee (unless you are savvy enough to realise that you only get proper coffee if you order a cafetiere!) and it's all very uninspiring Passable but could do so much better! I wouldn't mark the venue down for the cafe though as technically you can come to the cafe without paying to get int the Arboretum so it's almost separate.

So on the whole, great place to visit, love the old trees and the colours, the fountains and the ambience - and don't forget the maze, it's fun for kids. Highly recommended.

2  Thank winter-st*r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArleyArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind thoughts and for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We really appreciate the effort you have gone to, and are looking forward to your next visit to see the progress of Arleyensis, the model project you saw being worked on! We are consistently aiming to improve, in regards to our Tearooms we have introduced a new machine this season so there are a larger variety of hot beverages available. We also have homemade quiches as well as a huge variety of homemade cakes to keep the hunger at bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arley Arboretum also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Great Witley, Malvern Hills
 

Been to Arley Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing