We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Love this place

This is a fab day out. The kids can run around see the chickens, peacocks, play in the park, get... read more

Reviewed December 2, 2018
jenniec123_11
,
nottingham
via mobile
Beautiful and Tranquil

Visited the arboretum yesterday afternoon with my friend as a last minute decision. Been meaning to... read more

Reviewed November 23, 2018
RavenRen
,
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 256 reviews
  
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveler rating
159
70
14
4
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
159
70
14
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea room severn valley beautiful trees play area dinosaur trail italian garden steam train suggested walks walled garden water features autumn colours adventure playground treasure hunt visited today run around per adult worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 256 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a beautiful site well worth a visit in the spring to see the marvellous array of flowers, the summer is an absolute delight what could be more pleasant than to take afternoon tea in the walled garden after a stroll around.The most stunning time of the year is autumn when the colours of the trees are magnificent. There is a cosy tea room with an excellent selection of home made cakes , light meals and beverages where you are made very welcome.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArleyArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Wow a 5-star rating! Thank you so much, we really appreciate your thoughtful words and take pride in receiving them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A beautiful garden, with some stunning trees. Always something to view here, no matter what time of the year you visit. Spring, is of course delightful, but the colours in Autumn are also magnificent.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank GillH007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArleyArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Every season provides new colours, smells and new things to see! Thank you for supporting us, we really appreciate it. And look forward to welcoming you back to the arboretum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We loved our walk around, very dog friendly, dogs do have to stay on a lead but we don't mind. On our arrival we where even asked if we needed poop bags how good is that. The photo opportunities are endless and we will be visiting again. It gets 4 paws up from George, well worth a visit if you are in the area, but check out the opening times on the web site first. If you time your walk right you get to see the Steam Trains pass in the valley.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArleyArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We're glad you and George enjoyed your day. We welcome dogs and their owners to the arboretum! Can't wait to see you all next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've been here many times over the last few years but only one this season due to moving further away. I suggested to a couple of friends who live local to here that we go for here to enjoy the autumn leaves on the trees at this time of year and it didn't disappoint as there was a vast array of colour for us to enjoy.

What I love most about Arley Arboretum is it's view over the river Severn and that the Severn Valley Railway runs down in the valley below and you can hear the trains chuffing along and the siren (?) echoing.

If you venture to the far corner of the Arboretum as well you will find the beginnings of a model of the arboretum that is being lovingly created by one of the groundsmen who work there with the help of volunteers and if you stop by and he is there he will talk you through what is going to go where - he's very friendly and loves to talk about his project, his enthusiasm is catching! I saw the start of this last year and I can't wait to go back next year to see the progress.

The only downside to Arley Arboretum is that the tea room is a bit...rubbish. Somewhere like this I would expect food made from local products and drinks and juices from local farms etc, but it's just Knorr soup, diet coke and instant coffee (unless you are savvy enough to realise that you only get proper coffee if you order a cafetiere!) and it's all very uninspiring Passable but could do so much better! I wouldn't mark the venue down for the cafe though as technically you can come to the cafe without paying to get int the Arboretum so it's almost separate.

So on the whole, great place to visit, love the old trees and the colours, the fountains and the ambience - and don't forget the maze, it's fun for kids. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: October 2012
2  Thank Roving802647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArleyArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind thoughts and for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We really appreciate the effort you have gone to, and are looking forward to your next visit to see the progress of Arleyensis, the model project you saw being worked on! We are consistently aiming to improve, in regards to our Tearooms we have introduced a new machine this season so there are a larger variety of hot beverages available. We also have homemade quiches as well as a huge variety of homemade cakes to keep the hunger at bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I visit the arboretum regularly and every time I am completely bowled over by the magnificent trees there. It is a very humbling experience! But this attraction is not just about the trees. The setting is lovely, overlooking the Severn Valley and offering the visitor the occassional glimpse ot the steam engines on the Severn Valley Railway. You can hear the trains leaving Bridgnorth and the noise in the valley always makes me want to rush up to the nearest viewpoint and watch. The Arboretum is stunning in the spring with the trees clothed in fresh, bright green foliage and the Magnolia Walk is not to be missed. Throughout summer the borders in the walled garden are full of vibrant colour which lasts well into the autumn. Autumn is of course the highlight of the year with an amazing display of colours particularly from the acers. All this is topped off by an excellent and reasonably priced tea room and friendly, helpful staff and gardeners.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArleyArboretum, Public Relations Manager at Arley Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

What a review - thank you so much. Your lovely words are really appreciated. You really have described what we have on offer here so well, and what to expect throughout the year. Looking forward to seeing you again, and displaying the new colours, smells and other visionary treats!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews