We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cranford Villa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Cranford Villa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diyathalawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

The bungalow is decent but has an odd and irritating smell in most parts of it. food was not to our liking having said that the staff especially mr naniyakkara always aimed to provide the best. lakmal was a stand out in service as well.

overall we had a decent stay during the 3 days but areas of improvement in terms of lodging facilities.

Also an important factor during trips to the hillsides is the garden and even though there is quite a bit of area available it was not the type of garden that is necessary in these kind of bungalows. The cute fatty duckies were lovely though the kids especially loved hanging out with them.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nisreen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Avissawella, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

we stayed for a day here in mid December 2013. Weather was rainy during our stay in this area. Road to the place starts narrow & poor at the beginning from main road & becomes little ok when closer to property.
Room was ok for the price but still without power supply for the TV in the room. (We did not bother to get their assistance to switch on)
Meals & service was good! they even gave us useful info on attractions/ road conditions etc in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thilan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prevessin Moens, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had our most autentic experience in this small boutique hotel.There is only 4 rooms,what makes the difference compare to an ordinary hotel.The decoration is cosy and charming. We had a VIP service.We were treated like we were the owners of the villa. The waiter was polite and professionel.All the staff were very kind with us.
This is a MUST experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szire85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Although the home has a lot of potential, it is completely out of the way, the rooms have not been redecorated like the main house -- they are damp and remind you a little of your grandmother's house (!). In addition, although the staff are lovely, the main member of staff is a little stuck in colonial times and can be a bit in your way when you're trying to enjoy dinner. That said he and the rest of the staff are flexible to provide you with exactly what you want. And the food is nice. I wouldn't return as a couple, but if I had a large family, I would consider hiring out the full 5 rooms. Hopefully the owner, in Colombo, will invest in the rooms soon and bring in an experienced manager to make this hotel a success. On a side note, if you're looking for internet access, the one they provide at this hotel is really poor and we couldn't consistently download emails.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waffle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Diyathalawa hotels

Wattala, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights & we were able to relax with the good service & excellent food.The manager & staff did a great job to make sure that the guests have a comfortable stay.They take lot of trouble providing you with all your needs.The food was delicious with such a variety of eastern & western dishes & veges from their very own garden.I would recommend this place to anybody without any doubt.Looking forward to be there again soon.Damayanthi

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damayanthi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Cranford Villa was beyond amazing. From its rooms to the service provided by Mr. Nanayakkara and his staff, everything was just perfect during our stay. The food from day one up to the day we departed was superb. The food was delicious and it was good to know that most of the vegetables are home grown. The juices which accompanied in the morning were delicious. Thought I'd miss the traditional Sinhalese and Tamil New Year celebrations but the staff at Cranford, made us feel just like at home with the traditional new year food and also a little festival to go alongside with it. They even took the hassle to make sandwiches as early as 4am when we left to World's End. Everything at Cranford was excellent. Their hospitality made us feel right at home and I'm surely going to visit Cranford again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Migara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This time, it was my 3rd visit to the hotel and I would like to recommend this to anyone wish to have a nice stay. Good foods, Clean rooms, and Nice environment. And also friendly staff.They have a nice garden with many varieties of flowers. And also small vineyard. Every time when I visit the place, I can see many improvement in all the aspects concern. Ideal for a vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadeesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diyathalawa
4.6 mi away
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Bandarawela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
5.4 mi away
Melheim Resort
Melheim Resort
#1 of 1 in Beragala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bandarawela Hotel
Bandarawela Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bandarawela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
98 Acres Resort
98 Acres Resort
#1 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
3.8 mi away
Olympus Plaza Hotel
Olympus Plaza Hotel
#1 of 2 in Haputale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cranford Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cranford Villa

Property: Hotel Cranford Villa
Address: 542 Kahagolla | Diyathalawa, Diyathalawa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Diyathalawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Diyathalawa
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing