We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cranford Villa
Nearby Hotels
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bandarawela Hotel(Bandarawela)
$57
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melheim Resort(Beragala)
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Peak Mount Villa(Bandarawela)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
$128
$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
11
9
5
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
9
5
5
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 33 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2011

While looking for a place to stay during our journey to the Hill country, we found the Cranford villa as the perfect match for spend the weekend, place is quite easy to access, has the old world charm which we loved most. we had a wonderful experience from booking the place at their Colombo office till check out from the hotel at the Diyathalawa.
Manager and the staff were very helpful and treated us very well. Being a typical srilankan family, our kids needed a free & safe space to run around, which they had thanks to the well maintained Garden.
I would like to suggest few things that can increase the beauty and value of the place as per my observation.
Should keep the fire place alive as much as possible to bring the old colonial life back.
there were drawing of the Eiffel tower and the city of pairs hangs on the walls of the bathroom which is bit of awkward for me as there are plenty of other options available..

other than that I would say we had a wonderful time at the Hotel.. Definitely Cranford will be our home at the hills when ever we want to relax in the mountains....

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lankanath-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

When my family travelled to Sri Lanka to attend a wedding my wife who was born in Sri-Lanka suggested a trip up country. This trip was organised by a Government travel advisor for the railway. As we couldn't get any return tickets via rail the advisor arranged an AC car with driver to take us. He (the advisor also suggested to stay at the Cranford Villa for one night). Upon arrival we were first greeted by a number of male staffers who arranged to start their generator as there was a blackout.
The staff arranged to make dinner after asking what our personal preferences were, as for drinks only beer and wine no other liquors (NOT AS ADVERTISED IN THE BROCHURE - BAR WAS TOTALLY EMPTY). When I asked about the bar the staff told us that you (the guest) need to bring your own.
My wife started to get a severe headache from the musty smell, mixed with the strong smell of mothballs that were in every room including the bathroom.
At that point we advised that we could not stay the night as we found this substandard unlike the promise of the Government travel advisor who said this was top class accommodation. They charged us 39,650 Rs (approx $400) for driver and accommodation and 3,700Rs ($37) for food we never ate! The other problem was the place was infested with mosquitoes.

My advice is to stay away; it is very secluded suitable only for some one who seek to hide away but be warned you need a strong constitution as the smell permeates every room. Definitely not top class by any stretch of the imagination!

We are seeking a refund of the accommodation costs but as yet to hear any reply.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NMihaleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: La chambre 1 donne sur le salon où la TV est à fond et sur le jardin dans lequel les gens discutent
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews