We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay when going to Alton towers.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Farley, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynn N
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when going to Alton towers.”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We first chose this house because of it's closeness to Alton Towers, but it was so much more than that. It is a home from home. It has everything you could possible need for a 3 night stay or longer.
All the rooms are a good size and plenty big enough for the 3 generations that were in our party.
The kitchen is fully equipped, The pots and pans are big enough to be able to cook for a large number of people. A big farmhouse style table that was great for all to sit round and enjoy meals and chats. Plenty of crockery and glasses, (bit like being at home and made up with a couple of different sets),
The lounge was large with loads of seating. The brown leather sofa's and chair were not only welcoming at the end of a day in the park, but when you sat in them they gave you a big hug,
5 roomy bedroom and 3 bathrooms made life so easy.
Would and have recommended this home to friends and family, and have already made enquiries about going for longer next year.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley546
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definately not 'luxury' basic at best!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Old Barn from 14th to 21st June 2013, I completed the feedack form and emailed Sykes Cottages with our complaints, although they acknowledged reciept, the advertising remains the same, I would hate others to be as disappointed as we were, so here goes. The Old Barn was advertised as being 'luxury' and 'stylish' and '4 Star' I would describe this as BASIC - VERY!
Here are just SOME of the issues we had with The Old Barn:-
First impressions, drive and garden overgrown and neglected.
Doors and entrances filthy, walls, paintwork etc in need painting and a good clean.
Had to vacuum through, kitchen table 'sticky' all surfaces had to be washed
down, all crockery and glasses needed washing, the roasting pans had to be
scrubbed.
Basic, cheap mattresses and old bedding, all well worn and washed out, old,
worn and bleach stained towels and only ONE each for a full weeks stay.
Bathroom and shower room both just filthy and grotty! Note no photo's on web site of bathroom and shower room.
Kitchen bin discusting and stank.
Tablemats made us feel sick, couldn't face washing or using them.
Highchair discusting! had to wash and bleach it before use, the second one
was as bad, we did not use that one.
No matching dinner plates, in fact all crockery mismatched.
BBQ was a rusty chiminea which had been used as an ashtray, unusable.
No 'welcome pack' !
We did complain to the owner on arrival as for a weeks stay we had been left
4 dishwasher tablets and 2 loo rolls - for 11 of us and about the BBQ area,
the owner did bring another garden table and benches and more loo rolls and dishwasher tabs, she said she didn't leave more as 'people steal things'! As I had had to provide a returnable £100 for good housekeeping I had felt
reassured that the property would have been of a very high standard, how
wrong was I!
Despite there being no cleaning materials we purchased some and we left the property much cleaner than when we arrived. We have taken many photo's as proof- both the bad and how we left it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: bathrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose alberta canada
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking distance to Alton Towers and the large, comfortable sitting room.
Liked least: Poor quality showers and lack of good quality garden furniture
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed November 1, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Essex
Reviewed January 11, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester
Reviewed January 5, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing