We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill location for Alton Towers”
Review of Trough Ivy House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trough Ivy House
Ranked #1 of 1 Farley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Soton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brill location for Alton Towers”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Myself, my partner and his sisters stayed here recently as part of a two day trip to Alton Towers. The B and B owners are so friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and ensure that we could park our car for the entire two days. The B and B itself is very pleasant and only approx 4 minutes walk to the entrance of the park~ which is fantastic.
Its spotlessly clean and the full english breakfast was lovely :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinksSoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
115
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Exclusively in its own legue amazing service so friendly they make you feel so at home couldn't find any dirt anywere they leave you lovely biskets in your room its spacious and its made so easy to relax I loved every minute of it and can't wait till my stay there . They are so nice we ordered takeaway as we don't drive and they heated plates for us just fantastic defently deserves 5 stars . Beautiful gardens to relax in I could go on all day about it and them but ill stop there but its defently the place to stay :D

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samjim123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wife and I recently spent the weekend at the Trough Ivy House and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Excellent service and the owners made you feel welcomed. Perfect location with Alton Towers a stones throw away (be careful of traffic!). Rooms were perfect and cozy. Had great advice from owners on tips and suggestions about the park and area. We will DEFINITELY return to this place in future.

Room Tip: Be sure to book WAY in advance. Especially since the Alton Towers themepark is beginning its season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The owners were very nice friendly nd helpful , the rooms were clean and cumfertble , there little shop was cheap and the breakfast was good , we went for Alton towers and it was right next to the gate , would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_thegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Really nice, comfortable, spotlessly clean hotel, very good value and delicious breakfast. We will be back :)

The owners are really nice, it's 5 mins walk away from the towers, 1 min away from the bus stop, half an hour walk away from alton and everyone seems to know where it is. The garden is gorgeous too. We will be coming back at some point :)

Room Tip: Go to alton village for an evening meal. The owners will recommend good places :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We needed a place to stay during the national science week as we were working with Alton towers and had come across this place on the net. The location was perfect as It was only a couple of minutes away so it was ideal for my colleagues and I. Every room in the B&B was booked up by us, each room had a different décor but all were remarkably clean.
Carol and Terry who run the place were terrific, their customer service is outstanding and very helpful. The rooms are furnished well, has wifi access and comes with complimentary drinks, chocolates and biscuits which are to die for  we were going to purchase some but as we stayed for 5 nights, each day we had gotten a new pack of biscuits.
As we were new to the area we had been given a few recommendations by Carol on where to eat, even had been given a voucher for a local Indian restaurant in Cheadle . One of the nights however we ordered take away and Carol and Terry were very kind to provide us with hot plates in the breakfast lounge.
Unfortunately the only downside to my room which was the suite with separate lounge was going in and out of the room to get to the bathroom  not so great when its very cold in the middle of the night and apparently very disruptive to the other fellow guests i.e my colleagues.
The other rooms were great too the only downside to those rooms were that it had gotten really cold during the night and no extra heater was given to those room unlike the suite had been given.

However we will definitely stay there again as it was a very good experience. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeeshaan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Me and my family have stayed here twice, in the past two years on visiting Alton Towers theme park, and its fair to say we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. A two minute walk to the theme park is also a plus!
Carol and Terry were welcoming, and made our stay more enjoyable. They provided us with a cooked breakfast, also food in the night. Rooms are immaculate! We will be visiting Alton Towers again this year, as we do every year, and will most definitely be staying here! Couldn't have asked for better :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyW93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farley
1.3 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.3 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1.3 mi away
The Malthouse B&B
The Malthouse B&B
#3 of 10 in Alton
190 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 10 in Alton
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trough Ivy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trough Ivy House

Property: Trough Ivy House
Address: Trough Ivy House Farley | Alton, Farley ST10 3BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Farley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Farley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated by Alton Towers main gates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Trough Ivy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing