We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect for a weekend at Alton Towers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trough Ivy House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trough Ivy House
Ranked #1 of 1 Farley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for a weekend at Alton Towers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hospitality was perfect, full english breakfast was lovely, and the rooms were clean with lovely finishing touches. Just one thing to be aware of -the parking area is quite tight to get in and out of.
Will be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
105
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

What more can I say than the title!

Room- everything that's needed. Would be better if larger tv. Nice grounds

Breakfast- set me up for the day

Location- straight outside of the main gates to the park

Friendly owners

Decent pubs nearby

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnD1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

my husband and i stayed for 2 nights.the whole hotel is very,very clean,terry and carol are a lovely couple.we were made to feel welcome and we did feel at home. we had the full english breakfast and it was excellent,i never have fried bread but i ate it here it was really good,the food is all local not cheap supermarket rubbish.alton towers entrance is just round the corner,a 4 minute walk if that.it is very quiet considering you are right next door to the entrance of alton towers.although they do not allow takeaways in the rooms (don't blame them) you are more than welcome to use the breakfast room where carol will provide plates and cutlery.we will stay again,thinking of booking the self catering apartment for a week.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here as part of a two day visit to Alton Towers. The owners are lovely and they kindly let us leave our car in their car park before we checked in so we did not have to pay the charges in the park (we were there for 9:30am). You can literally not get any closer to the park - it is over the road.

The owners Carol or Terry are lovely and friendly - upon checking in Terry gave us the choice of two rooms as there was two available. The room was very nice, very clean and comfortable. The B&B also has a license to sell alcohol, so we were able to have a drink in their beautiful garden in the evening.

Breakfast was very nice. Very good quality fresh local produce, even the jam is home made.

Upon checking out we were able to leave the car in the car park to enjoy another day in the park and pick it up when we had finished.

We were made to feel very welcome at Trough Ivy House and we will definately be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank safc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

myself and my now husband stayed here september 2010, right opposite entrance to alton towers, impossible to get closer! u can park here for free. Rooms are beautiful, we stayed in the suite, had own little sitting room, and the most comfortable bed in the world!, we paid the very reasonable extra of £6 for full breakfast, very good quality! owners and staff so friendly, feels like you have known them forever! beautiful gardens to sit and enjoy the beautiful views, so peaceful!
We will always try to stay here on any visit to the area!
Finally i noticed one review that stated terrible, regarding the reviewer cancelling the 2 night stay, that to me isn't a standard review and does not warrant a terrible rating, I'm sure he exaggerated the amount of times the owner called etc, shall be reporting his review as isn't following guidelines as he never stayed!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyBenFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Brilliant accommodation we stayed in the self catering swallows nest, had everything you needed! Alton towers only a 5min walk away, secure car park. Lovely helpful hosts too! Highly reccommended to all .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a lovely stay here for a trip to alton towers. Comfortable, very clean & quiet room. You pay extra for breakfast which is delicious and sets you up til lunch. Lovely hosts. You can't stay closer for Alton Towers - it is literally across the road and you are there in a few minutes. And on the way back at closing time it is a big relief knowing you don't have to wait in the huge queue for the monorail.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farley
0.4 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.3 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bank House
Bank House
#1 of 13 in Alton
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Laurels B & B
The Laurels B & B
#1 of 6 in Oakamoor
5.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trough Ivy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trough Ivy House

Property: Trough Ivy House
Address: Trough Ivy House Farley | Alton, Farley ST10 3BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Farley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Farley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated by Alton Towers main gates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Trough Ivy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing