We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy to relax..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountain View Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Ellijay
Certificate of Excellence
lgs321
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easy to relax..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

My family had a wonderful time at this hotel. We stayed over the weekend and basically had the pool to ourselves on Saturday. I found the staff warm and inviting. This was a wonderful way to relax. Also, it was very nice to take our kids swimming during the Winter.

  • Liked — The pool and staff
  • Disliked — The trip ended too soon
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lgs321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    124
    32
    11
    20
See reviews for
128
123
13
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
thompskr
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

The main picture on Trip Advisor does not look like the hotel. If you click on additional photos, there are better images of the hotel as it currently appears.

I thought the hotel was clean. The room was spacious and seemed newer. The front desk was extremely helpful with the many questions I had about the area.

When I checked in, a very handsome and friendly cat named Buddy came to greet me; he's wonderful! He had been given up by his former owner who went to live in a nursing home, and the Best Western adopted him from an area shelter. I initially thought Buddy was living a comfortable life indoors, but later found out that the hotel makes him spend his time outside where he must constantly fear harmful humans, cars and the ever present coyotes, as well as deal with scorching heat, below-freezing temperatures, rain and snow. There is no reason why Buddy can't come inside permanently. The hotel already has a pet-friendly policy, and Buddy is housebroken (he not only can use a potty box, but he also goes to a door when he wants to be let outside to relive himself). The front desk area, which is enclosed by a door, has more than enough room in which to put a cat bed.

I would stay at this hotel again, BUT I ENCOURAGE EVERYONE TO SAY A LITTLE SOMETHING ON BEHALF OF BUDDY. He should be able to live indoors, where he's safe and sound. When you visit the Best Western of East Ellijay -or just Ellijay in general- please be sure to insist that Buddy live a life inside. He and I thank you!

  • Liked — BUDDY, front desk staff, cleanliness, proximity to things in town
  • Disliked — learning that Buddy is forced to live outside (no reputable shelter would have adopted him out had they known this would be the case)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thompskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

Definately stay at another hotel.
The staff is rude, especially at the front desk where my young children were charged as adults even though they are not, the woman at the dest argued that they were and would charge me adult rates for them, they are 10 and 12, they are not adults.
The spa was very dirty and had bugs in them.
The bed in the room was the most Uncomfortable bed I have ever encountered, thus my husband and I didn't sleep much that night.
Overall, it was a terrible experience and we plan on staying at a different hotel when we return to visit our friends , this one we will never return to.
I hope this saves someone from a sleepless night and rude treatment from staff.

  • Liked — nothing redemable about this hotel
  • Disliked — rude staff and very lumpy, hard, uncomfortable beds
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank angelnurseor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2007

We were treated very badly for wanting to pay in cash! Will never stay there again!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank NantucketAugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

We stayed at this hotel when my grandmother passed away. We had two rooms for my family, my brother and son, and my parents. The staff was totally rude. The clerk actually came down to our rooms at check-out on the dot and began going through the room and pulling sheets off the bed. I believe he was angry because I let him know earlier that he was rude. Terrible treatment at a very low time for our family.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — rude staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank YSCLEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2007

I found the driveway that others have complained about quite fun. It really isn't bad. It IS very steep but there wouldn't be such a a great view without the climb.

We paid $99 per night for a suite with living area, microwave and fridge. I thought it was a good deal. Other rooms go for around $65. Front desk was very nice and efficient. The room was a nice size. Bedding was not great. There was a sheet with a comforter ...that's it. We found a thin blanket in a bureau. We left it on the bed hoping housekeeping would get the hint and include it when they made the bed. Instead, they laid it out over the comforter. Strange. Also only provided two pillows for king size bed. Front desk accomodated our request for two additional.

Indoor pool is heated to around 80. Hot tub was nice and toasty on a cold, rainy day.

I'd recommend bringing your own toiletries. There was a bar of soap and a small bottle of suave that I could barely get out of bottle. Kind of frustrating with the new travel restrictions. We just went across to Walmart and bought our own stuff.

There is a continental breakfast available until 9:00am. We didn't try it but looked like a good variety.

Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. It is fairly new, very clean and a good value.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WunelleTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2006

The motel sits high on a hill overlooking the valley and surrounding mountains.There is a steep climb up to the motel which is quite interesting unto itself. Low profile cars might have a challenge descending due to this steepness.
The room we had was smaller than some,but clean and comfortable. The pillows,however, were like wafers. Pool is indoors with a sundeck adjacent to it.Staff were friendly and accommodating. The big plus,however, is the VIEW.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rpsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Ellijay
16.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
13.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jasper
18.0 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
14.4 mi away
Seventy-four Ranch
Seventy-four Ranch
#2 of 4 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
17.2 mi away
Douglas Inn & Suites
Douglas Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Blue Ridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain View Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Mountain View Inn
Address: 43 Coosawattee Dr, East Ellijay, GA 30540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > East Ellijay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Ellijay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel East Ellijay
Best Western East Ellijay
East Ellijay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing