We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently Renovated, Modern with one big drawback” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta Marriott Perimeter Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlanta Marriott Perimeter Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   246 Perimeter Center Pkwy NE, Dunwoody, GA 30346-1402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dunwoody
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Recently Renovated, Modern with one big drawback”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Currently staying at the Marriott which is very close to my company headquarters. I usually stay at the Westin Perimeter, but wanted to give the Marriott a try. The hotel had recently gone through a significant upgrade renovating all the public spaces and rooms. The rooms are nicely updated with modern furnishings, flat screen TV and appealing wall art. The gym in the hotel is very small with just a few treadmills. The Westin Perimeter provides guests access to the Concourse Health Club a large upscale health club, so the Westin wins regarding working out. The Marriott rooms are nicer than the Westin rooms. The big drawback here is the location next to the Marta Train which lets out a bit of a roar every 15-20 minutes. I am on the top floor of the hotel and still hear the highway traffic and the Marta. If you are considering staying here, insist on a room facing the other side of the hotel. I had access to the Concierge lounge which had food and drink during happy hour. I will try the breakfast tomorrow. Overall decent Marriott with noise being a big drawback.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Waitingforvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    145
    66
    23
    26
See reviews for
80
61
28
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, GA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a last minute stay. We were interested because it had recently beed updated. The staff was personable and went out of their way to make us comfortable in our room. However, after we went to bed, we could not get any sleep because of noisy neighbors next door and in the halls! Awful! Walls are wafer thin, and I could hear the conversation next door very clearly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
338 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I first stayed here by pure last minute chance for a personal family emergency in '09, then regularly for business in '11 during their renovation, and returned for a few weeks in '12 after it was complete. The updates to this once dated property are remarkable. It is close to great dining and shopping north of Atlanta. However, what has always stood out to me on every occasion is their staff's dedication and attention to their guests. This is a Marriott team that truly gets, lives, and breaths the "Spirit to Serve" that is the corporate mantra. From the front desk to the concierge's lounge each staff member was always engaged with their guests. The only real complaint is that the back side of the hotel is directly across from the MARTA rail line, making those rooms a bit on the noisy side throughout the night. Despite that, this is one site in the Atlanta area where I would stay again and again.

Room Tip: The best rooms are away from the MARTA station, which is to the East side of the hotel. Park in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasVoyager_BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had a great stay! The only problem no fridge or microwave. Also I was so tired, I didnt look into finding a room that did. The bar was nice and convient, next time when I travel I hope it is the same.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inas953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Haven't stayed here in years so I was pleased to find a complete renovation at this property. It's incredibly close to the perimeter mall and a great location to reach 85 easily to head north or south. Asked for a room upgrade and was given a beautiful suite with a full sized dining table which made it easy to get my work done in the room. Extremely clean and modern rooms with big flat screen tvs. Very comfortable stay and cheery staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rikwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have been traveling for business for the last 20 years in most of the US and a dozen foreign countries and I have never had a such a disappointing experience at a hotel as I did at this one.

I was staying on the 16th floor or Concierge Level in which I paid an additional $30 per night for exclusivity and quiet. On Thursday evening, the hotel moved a party into the concierge lounge at midnight. The party spilled into the hallway and became increasing louder. Not being able to sleep, I called the front desk and explained the situation. I was told that party was booked at last minute and my only option was to change rooms.

I did not realize that I had booked a 24 hour party hotel. I thought that I was at a business hotel that catered to the executive traveler. I was wrong. I would not consider booking this hotel for business travel. Very poorly ran.

Room Tip: Do not stat at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tperdue4012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It had been quite a while since I had stayed at this hotel. The outside was as tired as ever, even with the "old style" Marriott lettering. Was I shocked when I walked inside. The lobby had been completely transformed into a modern, updated, and funtional hub of activity. The entire lobby area looked great. The staff was friendly and my check in was smooth and quick. This trick had been played on my before, most notibly by the current actions at the Courtyard properties (updated lobby and nothing done to the rooms). Another suprise greeted me when I got to my room. The rooms were also almost completely transformed. The footprint could not be altered in each room but they must have almost completly gutted each room and started from scratch. I read on the hotel wifi welcome screen that they had spent over 22 Million dollars on the renovation. WOW, what an investment! What a pleasant suprise to come back to an old location and find such a complete and modern transformation...a complete transformation, not just the lobby!

Room Tip: Other reviews here mention the MARTA train. I must have been in a location where it could not be hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dleslievol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunwoody
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Atlanta Perimeter at Villa Christina
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Atlanta - Perimeter Center East
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Atlanta Perimeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Atlanta Perimeter at Ravinia
0.6 mi away
The Westin Atlanta Perimeter North
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Perimeter Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Marriott Perimeter Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Marriott Perimeter Center

Property: Atlanta Marriott Perimeter Center
Address: 246 Perimeter Center Pkwy NE, Dunwoody, GA 30346-1402
Location: United States > Georgia > Dunwoody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dunwoody
#2 Family Hotel in Dunwoody
#3 Business Hotel in Dunwoody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlanta Marriott Perimeter Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a premier location in Perimeter Center, the Marriott Atlanta Perimeter Center Hotel provides travelers with unparalleled service and Southern comforts. This modern hotel features a vibrant Greatroom, where guests can gather in flexible work spaces. For those looking to explore, our Atlanta Perimeter hotel is minutes away from Cox Enterprises, fine dining, and world class shopping at Perimeter Mall and 15 minutes from downtown via MARTA. Unwind in one of 341 spacious Dunwoody hotel rooms, featuring wireless Internet access, or visit the revitalized Concierge Lounge. This classic hotel offers exciting amenities including complementary parking, a fitness center and a stylish ''day and night bar'', serving savory regional cuisine that transition from morning to evening. Discover over 18,000 sq ft of revitalized meeting space for innovative gatherings. Experience a favorite, the Marriott Perimeter Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Atlanta Marriott Perimeter Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Marriott Perimeter Hotel Dunwoody
Marriott Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing