We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Sababa - Mediterranean Grill

Cafe Sababa - Mediterranean Grill
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in Dunwoody
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In both Hebrew and Arabic, the word "sababa" is slang for "awesome," "fun," or "cool." But it originates from Arabic poetry and literally means "ardent love," or "fervent longing." At Cafe Sababa, we strive to offer you an awesome, fun and cool culinary experience with our fresh, authentic Mediterranean and Middle Eastern dishes including grilled chicken, fish, beef and lamb, and we hope you will develop an ardent love for our food and a fervent longing to visit us again and again. Chef/Owner Doni Tamli has over 25 years of restaurant and catering experience. A native of the seaside city of Acco, Israel, Chef Tamli brings his knowledge of the spices and cooking styles of the Mediterranean and Middle East and offers his unique versions of traditional favorites. Chef Tamli owns Cafe Sababa with his wife, Ann, a third-generation native Atlantan. Their two sons, Ariel and Gil, work in the restaurant as well. We offer dine-in, take-out and catering services. Cafe Sababa's lamb burger was noted as a "Dish Worth The Drive" on Atlanta Eats TV in November 2013. The restaurant was voted as one of Atlanta's top Middle Eastern/Eastern Mediterranean Restaurants in a poll by the Atlanta Journal/Constitution in 2012, and was honored by the Dunwoody Chamber of Commerce as the runner up for the 2011 Best of Dunwoody "Good Eats" Business Award.
Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We've been here several times and are always happy with it. We usually get the appetizer combo (which has a nice sampling of spreads and salads), as well as falafel wraps, and the lamb burger. The tabbouli is excellent, as is the sababa salad (mostly cucumbers, feta, dressing).

The chef/owner is pretty much always present and makes sure all is well. The inside is nice, although small. This is in a very dull looking strip that gets no foot traffic whatsoever, but if it was downtown or in a more 'hip' part of town, you'd hear about this place constantly, because the food is that good, like really good quality home-made mediterranean food.

Not sure if the price is one or two dollar signs (or maybe in between). A wrap/burger+side are around 10 bucks or so, whereas other plated 'meals' (kabobs, stews) are more like 15-18 range.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jayrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    15
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife are spending a week in the area to find a new place to live as we will be moving down here next month. We could not have picked a better place for our first meal. The owner was personable, friendly and helpful with menu suggestions. The lamb burger was tasty and juicy...better than anything I could have come up with, and I cook a lot. We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CineGraphic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
507 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“So great I now eat here 2 to 3 times a month!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The food, service and ambience of Cafe Sababa is so good I find myself eating here 2 to 3 times a month.
Especially good hummus and falafel prepared by Israeli born chef. Also, love the big salads, such as their new curried chicken salad. The scoop of curried chicken salad is placed on a large green salad.
All of the homemade dressings and sauces are great. Plus the prices are very reasonable.

Helpful?
1 Thank panpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is my new favorite restaurant. Friendly and unpretentious with absolutely some of the best food I've ever tasted. We will definitely go back. I'm thrilled to find such lovingly prepared and excellent cuisine right around the corner. The owner and staff clearly take pride in the food they serve and the relaxed atmosphere they create.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pickytraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Probably the most friendly resturant on the trip so far.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Had the falafel and hummus app and it was better than average. Had the lamb burger and sababa salad side. The burger was good, but the sababa salad was outstanding.

Good little family neighborhood place. I'd go back if for nothing else than the friendly service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teul2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sababa - Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Sababa - Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing