We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my faves” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody

J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody
Reserve with OpenTable
J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 62 Restaurants in Dunwoody
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Meadow Lane
atlanta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One of my faves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've eaten here many times but never gave any feedback. You will not be disappointed. Love the open kitchen atmosphere. This location is a former Houston's restaurant. Love the chicken fingers and macncheese. Large portion of food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kendr390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Greatly improved!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My family and I had a very tasty, well prepare and well presented dinner at J. Alexander's Atlanta-Dunwoody on Oct. 31st, 2012. The grilled salmon atop Alex's Salad was delicious, the rather new addition to the menu - taco platter- was just as flavorful. The grands enjoyed Mac 'n Cheese/steamed broccoli. Robert (who took our order) is personality plus and Michael, our server, was spot on. This was a great dinner in a casual upscale restaurant. Even the music was perfect! Of course, we'll be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lewsyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Bar Service Saturday 10/27/12”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The server this evening spent most time talking to people at the end of the bar and only pored the drink order after I had ordered from the other server. I was charged for premium wine but ordered house. I asked for a check after dinner and she pointed to a glass and said its in there. This server always spends time ignoring customers as has been my experience in the past. She is too busy talking as well as arrogant. The food is expensive and deserves professional service. This is not an unusual experience with this server. She was a bar back in the past and is suited for that or needs further training as to customer relations and priorities. We will continue eating at JAlexanders when this server is not on duty even though prices are equal to more professional establishments.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eddie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Steak Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

While getting acquainted to Atlanta I thought I 'd try this place. I had the ribeye, mashed potatoes and a Cesar salad. Though I ordered to go food the restaurants requires you place orders at the bar only and does not take orders by phone. I'm glad they do that. It seems like a great ploy or business strategy to get you to see the ambiance and order drinks while you wait. The bar tender was super nice and talked me into a glass of wine while I waited. I have to back with friends to dine in soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 671Kam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great business lunch spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is my favorite location to have a business lunch. The menu is great with a wide selection. The hostess always pays attention to the color of your pants and brings a dark cloth napkin if you're wearing a darker color so you don't walk out of there with white spots all over your pants. They are very accommodating with special requests as well. The wait staff works as a team and you can be certain that your drink will be refilled before it is empty. The seating is also great since you can have a business meeting without feeling like others are right on top of you. Great place overall!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank seven21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody also viewed

 

Been to J. Alexander's Atlanta Dunwoody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing