We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Duluth
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worth the money”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I read many reviews on Candlewood suites prior to booking my reservation. This place was close to the event I was attending and rates were decent. They didn't have a pool indoor or out but hey I have an outdoor pool where I live so no big deal. The room was a nice size, clean and what more could I ask for. The staff was always able to assist me since I was from out of town and didn't really know my way around. I stocked the fridge with items for my diet from the local grocery store (my choice). I am very selective. I have enjoyed my stay so far.

If I come back to the area I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StormySnow02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
9
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horseshoe Bend
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Apparently a new property - at least everything looked new. A super room at a great price. Plenty of outlets for all the toys we carry nowadays. Great recliner & bed. Full kitchen. Coffee maker that makes more than one cup, ice maker. Courteous & friendly staff. Everything you need except breakfast (no big loss for me) and a fancy lobby. On the breakfast issue, there are a number of options available in their little store which you can heat yourself, if you so choose.

Room Tip: The hotel is in an "L" shape. I might suggest avoiding the end toward Shackleford. No ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aclayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My new employer flew me into company HQ, and they had me stay at this location. I was booked on the ground floor, and the room was clean and comfy! I got in late and the staff was friendly and helpful. The pillows were big and comfy, and the sheets clean and crisp. The Wi-Fi worked great, and I fell asleep HARD!

If you've never stayed in one of these before, they have a self-service snack room with sandwiches, snacks, breakfast items, and other items you can bring to your room and cook. It was well-stocked.

This hotel was a bit hard to find but very close to I-85, Best Buy, and several restaurants. Very nice place!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yallaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrow, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This is truly one on the cleanest places I have stayed. The staff was professional and nice. The room was always clean. No concerns about this place. Location is pretty good too. Close to several restaurants an mallsa

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikepatterson31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have no clue how this hotel is the best in Duluth...in fact, that scares me. My husband and I opted to stay here over some cheaper suite options in the perimeter medical area because of the stellar reviews. All I can say is EWWW! This whole floor reeks of smoking and this room is just gross. Both chairs are peeling the material off..they couldn't bother to replace or at least put a cover over it? Typically the rooms I have stayed at that include kitchenettes are about twice the size. This is the size of a basic hotel room. I have no idea why this cost 77.99 for their best available. I would have taken la Quinta in perimeter or red roof in over this. We were hoping to have a relaxing stay in a room after a long drive. Instead we had to borrow air freshener from the front desk. Very mediocre. This is two and a half stars at best.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear beth S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay and if our hotel fell below your expectations. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My son and I stayed there for 6 days and it was great. Great staff, clean rooms, free laundry. Will definitely stay again in near future. We cooked in our room some days and all the pots and pans were included, plates, silverware, sugar, salt, full size refrigerator, cook top. Plenty of storage and drawer space for clothing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommieof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at Candlewood because it is very convenient to where some of my relatives live. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms. Great area with lots of restaurants. Very nice kitchen, which was stocked with all of the amenities that were needed. Very quiet. Nicely decorated. Convenience of a weight room, laundry, snack and refreshment area. Staff was very nice. Will stay here on my next visit to Georgia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1139anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta/Duluth/Gwinnett County
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Duluth/Gwinnett Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Duluth/Gwinnett Place
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Duluth/Gwinnett Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place

Property: Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place
Address: 3665 Shackleford Rd, Duluth, GA 30096-4545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Atlanta, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are a newly renovated all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay, and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and DVD/VCR Combo. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. The Candlewood Suites Atlanta located in Duluth, GA ; close to the Gwinnett Place Mall, Discover Mills and the Mall of Georgia. Earn Priority Club Reward Points for each qualifying stay. Pets allowed with a non refundable fee based on length of stay. $15 the first night and $10 each additional night not to exceed $150. One pet allowed per suite, must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place Hotel Duluth
Candlewood Duluth
Candlewood Suites Duluth
Duluth Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing