We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the only place I will stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This is truly one on the cleanest places I have stayed. The staff was professional and nice. The room was always clean. No concerns about this place. Location is pretty good too. Close to several restaurants an mallsa

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikepatterson31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 65 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have no clue how this hotel is the best in Duluth...in fact, that scares me. My husband and I opted to stay here over some cheaper suite options in the perimeter medical area because of the stellar reviews. All I can say is EWWW! This whole floor reeks of smoking and this room is just gross. Both chairs are peeling the material off..they couldn't bother to replace or at least put a cover over it? Typically the rooms I have stayed at that include kitchenettes are about twice the size. This is the size of a basic hotel room. I have no idea why this cost 77.99 for their best available. I would have taken la Quinta in perimeter or red roof in over this. We were hoping to have a relaxing stay in a room after a long drive. Instead we had to borrow air freshener from the front desk. Very mediocre. This is two and a half stars at best.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear beth S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay and if our hotel fell below your expectations. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My son and I stayed there for 6 days and it was great. Great staff, clean rooms, free laundry. Will definitely stay again in near future. We cooked in our room some days and all the pots and pans were included, plates, silverware, sugar, salt, full size refrigerator, cook top. Plenty of storage and drawer space for clothing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommieof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at Candlewood because it is very convenient to where some of my relatives live. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms. Great area with lots of restaurants. Very nice kitchen, which was stocked with all of the amenities that were needed. Very quiet. Nicely decorated. Convenience of a weight room, laundry, snack and refreshment area. Staff was very nice. Will stay here on my next visit to Georgia.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1139anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was looking for a place that had a recliner because I have serious back pain when laying in bed. This location was perfect and was a great place in a very good area. The room amenities were excellent. I have never seen a two burner digital plate. The microwave and refrigerator were also very good and the convenience of the food cupboard, laundry, and fitness facility were very well maintained and stocked. The staff was very friendly and willing to help me as I have serious MS symptoms. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone but especially business travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We (my husband and I) live in Greater Atlanta and needed to stay close to the Gwinnett Arena for a conference (so we wouldn't have to battle Atlanta AM traffic). This hotel had great reviews, so we decided to stay there. The hotel was very convenient to the arena and also to restaurants and the expressway. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. We had a full kitchen, living area and bedroom. The living area and bedroom each had a very nice flat screen t.v. The bathrooms were large. The whole place was nicely decorated; I really enjoyed the lighting. It was perfect. Nice front desk staff. Washers and dryers were on the premises and a little store for snacks etc... VERY NICE for the price! This will be our first choice for next year. Thanks to Charles (night attendant) and Tanya (day attendant).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovetoTravelATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had never stayed at a Candlewood before and honestly I was quite impressed how nice and clean it was. The entry and hallway was clean and pleasant. My room was very clean and so was the bathroom. I had travelled all day and arrived late. I had a very good night sleep as the bed was very comfortable. I would recommend this place to anyone. It is very close to the highway and many places close by to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Duluth
Quality Inn Duluth
#18 of 25 in Duluth
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Duluth/Gwinnett Mall
0.2 mi away
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta/Duluth/Gwinnett County
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Duluth/Gwinnett Place
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Duluth - Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place

Address: 3665 Shackleford Rd, Duluth, GA 30096-4545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $89 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Atlanta, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are a newly renovated all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay, and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and DVD/VCR Combo. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. The Candlewood Suites Atlanta located in Duluth, GA ; close to the Gwinnett Place Mall, Discover Mills and the Mall of Georgia. Earn Priority Club Reward Points for each qualifying stay. Pets allowed with a non refundable fee based on length of stay. $15 the first night and $10 each additional night not to exceed $150. One pet allowed per suite, must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place Hotel Duluth
Candlewood Duluth
Candlewood Suites Duluth
Duluth Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing