We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointed!!!... To say the least!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Duluth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed!!!... To say the least!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I picked Comfort Suites to make our Youth Groups reservation at because we always enjoy the value and size of their rooms! Well make note that all Comfort Suites are not the same!!! When we arrived with our group of 45 adults and teens we checked in and received our keys for 12 rooms! All seemed well until we got to the 2nd floor and smelled a horribly nasty smell! Well we overlooked that only to be continually disappointed! The rooms we booked slept 6 with 2 queen beds and sleeper sofa as I was told by Greg Hughes the front desk manager, but we had no sheets or any bedding for the sleeper sofas. I went down to the front desk and ask Michelle for sheets and she replied that they did not have any! So the 1st night some literally slept on dirty couches with NO sheets! When we awoke the next morning we started realizing that we only had 2 towels per room!!! So out of immediate need some shared! When we went to head out for our conference I stopped by the front desk and spoke with Greg and told him to please make sure we have sheets for each sofa bed and adequate towels for the next morning. He said he would be sure we did. We didn't arrive back to the hotel till around 10pm that night and when we did none of my request had been taken care of! No sheets and now some of the rooms had NO towels, some had their wet, dirty, used towels folded and put back on towel rack as though they were clean!!! For 45 people we had 18 towels!!! I went again to the front desk and spoke with Michelle who said there was "nothing she could do about it!" So once again the next morning we all shared towels! Gross huh??? As soon as we checked out I sent a complaint to Greg and ask for a refund! He put me off for a week and finally said my General Manager David Smith is going to conference call you at 2:00pm today, which was Wednesday, July 10th! Well that never happened so I called back and was basically told by Greg that he didn't know why Mr. Smith was not calling me back! I did forget to mention earlier that I did make an official complaint with Choice Hotels Corporate office, but because it was a group reservation it had to be handled by the hotel!!! So they were no help at all! To make matters even worse when we received our Credit Card statement they charge us for 14 rooms instead of 12!!! I have given the hotel ample time to resolve the complaint, but they refuse! So I am proceeding by letting everyone know this is the WORST hotel experience I have ever had! Now I will be disputing the charges through our churches credit card company!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulieCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    21
    15
    28
See reviews for
37
10
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Good location if attending something at the Gwinette Center Arena. Other than that it's really a poor choice. It's not clean, service was poor and property not well maintained. If I had not been with a group I would have certainly changed hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Came here for a basketball tournament. The rooms are definitely outdated. The shower curtain rod was falling down, which caused the shower curtain not to stay closed. The tile around the baseboard n the bathroom was missing in spots. The carpet was horribly dirty and disgusting! The ladies bathroom next to the gym had feces around the inside bowl like it hadn't been cleaned in days. There was no paper towels or hand soap in that bathroom either. Then the breakfast was mediocre! I will try to upload pictures so you can see for yourself! I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worse enemy!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davis1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Every hotel chain is in this area so you do have choices. Mine was for price , then location. Business center was closed at the time and carpet being replaced by what looked like water damage. You hear noise in hallways as expected but relatively quiet later in evening. Also most restaurants are nearby and its next to I-85.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmh1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angier, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed March 31-April 4,2013..First of all we booked this hotel so my daughter could go swimming at the indoor pool...It was broken and they kept telling us it would be fixed the next day..it was finally fixed Wed. night. The first and second day while walking to room all you could smell was pot. Two nights that we came home there were cop's everywhere. The back entrance to the hotel was not secure, the door was to remain locked and it was always open. The fire alarm in our room started chirping and the front desk told us it wouldnt be util the next day before it was fixed. Everytime they cleaned our room we were only left one bath towel, no handtowels or washrags, just one bath towel for 3 people. As for free Wifi thats only if you are in the main entrance/lobby to hotel..as for the rooms good luck the signal is so low you can't get on...as for the television channels your lucky if you get 9-10 channels most of which are news, sports. Spoke with other guests and they said they would never return. The front desk asked us to stay another night and told them no way..they didn't respond to any of our complaints and only made excuses...

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel...don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttmorneo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dav4080, Manager at Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
After talking with guest about his complaints, I pulled the house keeping report along with the front desk log and showed him all towels and wash cothes were in his room, the pool was converted over to salt from clorine and the outside pool company was still working on it, and knowone in the hotel listed any complaints about the wifi as we have 24/7 it services and tent cards are in all rooms. During there 3 day stay not one of these complaints were reported as I brought this to his attention. The police were their only because front desk personel called them due to group staying were being loud. The guest only responed it was not his place to report the problems or call the 24/7 IT. Guest was given an refund even though his complaints did not add up as it was shown to him including the Front Desk Manager and Housekeeping Supervisor and Maint. was present at this meeting with them. They were complaints from employees from this guest during his stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Could use a bit of upgrades, but the hotel was very clean, the staff very attentive and considerate, and all at a very affordable price. I was very happy with my stay and would likely stay again. My expectations were met and in some instances exceeded. I have stayed here before and enjoyed the stay better than the last. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 565HappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dav4080, Manager at Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you and we look forward to your next visit, mention this response and you will recieve 10% off your next visit. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta GA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Tried again but still no upgrades, old CRT TV with bad picture, incredibly SLOW wireless internet, got a better signal from the Home Depot accross the street!!! The staff, however, was great. Reception on Wednesday nights no longer includes beer and on my latest visit the food was blah, crappy pizza at reception, (and that was the ONLY food), breakfast sausage was burned to a crisp. Great rates though but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter, internet horrible so if you are on business go elsewhere as I had to use my wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgumms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dav4080, General Manager at Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Do to the laws of Gwinnett Co the hotel can no longer serve beer & wine. The internet was being changed over by Comcast that day, and the guest log shows no complaints from any guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duluth
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Duluth
Quality Inn Duluth
#16 of 23 in Duluth
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
3.0 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Duluth
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Peachtree Corners
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Norcross
Rodeway Inn Norcross
#18 of 38 in Norcross
3.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
9.7 mi away
Quality Inn Northlake
Quality Inn Northlake
#103 of 178 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
10.6 mi away
Quality Inn Northeast
Quality Inn Northeast
#143 of 178 in Atlanta
3.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place

Property: Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place
Address: 3700 Shackleford Rd, I-85 N & Pleasant Hill Rd., Duluth, GA 30096-4544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gwinnett Place Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing