We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value but not super clean...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Gwinnett Center Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel around the Labor Day week. We booked 2 rooms. My parents' room was very clean, even the furniture was newer. Our room however, was older, smelt musty and not particularly clean, especially the bathroom area, it was not cleaned thoroughly. The worst thing was that I had a skin reaction after the trip, went to my doctor and she told me it was likely scabies that I got from staying at the hotel or using their towels (fortunately, I was the only one in our party that caught that). This is our second time staying at this hotel. THis is an older property that needs to be renovated and thoroughly cleaned again. I don't think we'll come back to the same hotel the next time we are back in Duluth.
The breakfast selections were very good for the value. The breakfast area was also kept very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swasda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnAtlantaConcierge, Director of Social Media at Best Western Gwinnett Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We are so sorry about your skin reaction. We would appreciate it if you would call the hotel at 770-935-7171 and let us know which room you were in so that we can STRIP that room from ceiling to floor, have it treated and make sure this does not happen again. Once again, we are so sorry for your skin reaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 385 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is an older property, perhaps was a Sleep Inn originally, or maybe it is an original HIX. In any case, the public areas are pretty small and there is only one elevator. But there are nice, carpeted staircases at each end of the building.

The room itself seemed to be pretty standard for this chain. Comfortable bed, good shower head, clean, nice large desk. It was quiet and the neighborhood seemed safe even late at night. Overall this property was a great value for the rate I paid.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank storewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnAtlantaConcierge, Director of Social Media at Best Western Gwinnett Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We have always been a Holiday Inn Express, since our construction. We are so happy that you feel we were an excellent value.Indeed, we are in a great and safe location! Do come again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel was renovated, but it needs renovating again. It is not bad, but you could see traces of aging. We had LG AC working very well and it dd turn itself on and off automatically during the night, it was quiet too. In our friends room, it was much older unit... We got a room at the hotel front and I thought it will be noisy, it was not. However, the other side is absolutely quiet.
Breakfast area is small and tables are not pointed corner to corner so it is impossible to walk around. Breakfast is a typical very good HI Expres breakfast. Parking area is well lit and secure. Hotel is at the very good location. My bed was comfortable, a lot of hard and soft pillows for a good night sleep. Housekeeping did a good job.

Room Tip: Room in the back side are QUIET
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoweDZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnAtlantaConcierge, Director of Social Media at Best Western Gwinnett Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear guest,

I am glad overall that you liked our hotel. The hotel was built when the Olympics were here in the late nineties so there are newer hotels than ours but I feel you won't find one in our area with a more customer orientated staff than ours. But, yes, I am prejudiced! Do please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The receptionist was very friendly and recommended a few things for us so that was a plus. First thing we notice was the 1st floor hallway smelt old and musty. The room was old looking and the floor felt very wet/damp. The bathroom was outdated and definitely needs to be updated. The bed was very uncomfortable. I have stayed at many HIE's and this definitely is on the low end.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texasbud1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnAtlantaConcierge, Director of Social Media at Best Western Gwinnett Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear VALUED guest,

I am so sorry you were not impressed with our hotel. We have learned from other reviews that the comfort of our beds is a subjective thing: one reviewer "slept like a log", another felt they were "too soft" and still another felt they were " hard as rocks". While we feel that our marble-counter, amenity-filled bathroom is up to date, I wanted to assure you that we are trying to locate the smell you were referring to on the first floor and when we find it, we will take care of it. We DO want our hotel to appear fresh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff here is very helpful. The rooms are clean with a great H/C. Plenty of hot water for long showers and extra towels in room.
Breakfast was bacon, eggs (scrambled and hard boiled) pancakes, toast, English muffins, bagel and assorted pastry. Three types of juices, coffee, tea, milk, fresh fruit and yogurt for an all around full breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loeidth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnAtlantaConcierge, Director of Social Media at Best Western Gwinnett Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so pleased you liked our hotel. You mentioned the pancakes. Our guests get a hoot out of watching them come out of the machine. I hope you tried them! Do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was super pleased with the appearance of the hotel and the room. I was even more pleased with the gentlemen at the front desk. He was so nice. I will say two big negatives for me though: For such an up to date looking hotel the beds were HARD AS A ROCk and very difficult to sleep on. In addition, there is only a sheer curtan over the window to the outside and there was a street light blaring in on me the whole night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayrayjulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnAtlantaConcierge, Director of Social Media at Best Western Gwinnett Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

RayRayJulian,

Thank you for having stayed with us and liking the appearance of our hotel. Just wanted to let you know that I hope you come again. AND IF YOU DO, behind that sheer curtain is a white plastic black out curtain which when the guest first enters is drawn open and is to the sides. I am sorry the light kept you awake. Thank you, once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Perfect spot for a getaway. I would recommend this to everyone. I was pressed by Elane Kim the manager, another gentlemen that helped us and more impressed when the opener himself welcomed us personally.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godisgreat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnAtlantaConcierge, Director of Social Media at Best Western Gwinnett Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear valued guest,
We are SO pleased that you were happy meeting our General Manager, Elena Kim and our "opener", as you called him. Sam, the owner, stops by every day to check on the property and to mingle with his guests. The only exception is when he is in the Blue Ridge Mountains at our property, there. We were so happy to host your reunion and we do hope you will return!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Duluth
Quality Inn Duluth
#16 of 25 in Duluth
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta/Duluth/Gwinnett County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Duluth/Gwinnett Mall
3.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta NE Gwinnett Sugarloaf
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gwinnett Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gwinnett Center Hotel

Address: 3670 Shackleford Rd, Duluth, GA 30096-4546 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Gwinnett Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#4 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $85 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gwinnett Center Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Best Western Gwinnett Center could not be in a better location! We are 10 minutes from the Gwinnett Center and Sugarloaf Mills Mall and directly off of I-85, we are a quick 20 minutes to downtown Atlanta. Within walking distance of the hotel, are restaurants of many varieties along with many shops. The Best Western Gwinnett Center offers free wireless and wired internet access throughout the property as well as a business center, fitness room and in season pool. Our valued guests will enjoy a hot complimentary breakfast each morning. Each room has a refrigerator, microwave, one-cup coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and flat screen television. Our multilingual staff stand ready to provide you with impeccable service. In order to allow for a quiet stay for EACH of our guests, the property does NOT allow pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Gwinnett Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta - Gwinnett Mall Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing