We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nostalgic Diner”
Review of Rexall Grill

Rexall Grill
Ranked #196 of 428 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
415 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“A Nostalgic Diner”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Recent health score 80.
This former Rexall drugstore remains true to its heritage, as a sort of drug and general store shares the property with a pretty good diner.
The decor can only be described as both nostalgic and eclectic - OK, kitschy.
The large diner-style menu (breakfast and lunch) is supplemented by a variety of daily meat-and-2 specials. Between us we enjoyed very good hamburger steak, mac and cheese, green beans, cabbage and coconut cake. The fried shrimp were good but not a standout.
The service was very good.
Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoswellDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A local hotspot when in Duluth”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This place is wonderful. It's like stepping back into the past. I imagine it looks the same today as it did 40-50 years ago. Come here for breakfast or lunch, and you might rub elbows with the mayor or the local chief of police - and friends and neighbors greet each other like it's Mayberry RFD.

Right on Buford Highway, just a block south of the intersection with GA 120 on the west side you will probably notice the Rexall Drug Store first, and if you pay attention you will see the Rexall Grill right next door, under the same roof. It's on the east side of the railroad tracks separating Buford Highway from the historic district of downtown old Duluth,

The food is good, honest, fresh and (as others have mentioned) and draws heavily from southern classics - butter beans, greens, okra, fried chicken, meat loaf, pot roast - as you might expect. The traditional "blue plate special" is a red plate special here - paying homage to the Coca-Cola collectibles that cover the walls - they are everywhere you look.

You can find sandwiches including burgers and fries (fresh 6 oz hamburger patties cooked-to-order on the grill where you can watch) and the home fries are awesome. But the primary draw here is the meat-and-two for around $10-11. Pick the main course you want and 1,2 or 3 of the sides listed daily on the menu board. It's all delicious. Can't go wrong.

You know they must be doing something right, because its a very popular local favorite, and they have been there for a long time. Personally, I love to find a unique local eatery with good food, personality, smiling faces and local color. Rexall Grill pretty much defines this kind of place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
858 reviews
560 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Try the baked chicken”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

When my client parked here I thought "no way." Then you walk in and your nose takes over. I had the baked chicken with greens and cold slaw. Finished up with peanut butter cake. They must have some really old ladies cooking back there. Outstanding.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimvet1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I travelled all the way from Australia to check it out!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The people are, without doubt, the strongest asset of this little piece Of Southern History!
It Doesnt look Much From Outside But Dont Let That Put You Off.
Go Inside, Fill Yourself Chock full Of Velvety Grits, Hot Coffee And Southern Hospitality!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Home Cooking Ever!!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have eaten southern home-cooking all my life and thought I had experienced some really good food. Then I ate at the Rexall Grill!!! It blew my mind with how good it was. I did not know country food could be as good as this. The restaurant is not fancy, it is an old-school small town drugstore restaurant. But it is where the locals in the know go. For awesome country cooking this is the place. P.S. You MUST try the peanut butter cake.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MatlockSwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rexall Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rexall Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing