We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“flawless event”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“flawless event”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I just returned from a 3 day conference at the hotel and must admit I was very impressed.
The hotel in itself is a nice full service hotel. What makes it special is the attention of the staff.
From check in to check out I got the feeling being very well taken care of. My room was located
on the 17th floor with breath taking views over the morning sunrise. Way to start the day.
The event planning was flawless and executions superb. The breaks as well as the lunch where
delicious. Overall solid and unexpected. I will defiantly try to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you had a successful meeting and enjoyed your stay. I will share your comments with our staff as they really are the heart and soul of this property. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    198
    70
    28
    24
See reviews for
161
134
38
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

stayed there 19 days for training it was great! staff was great and very pleasant the breakfast buffet was great Skaets was great and so was the lounge Skip was very helpful and so was Sinead looking forward to returning

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to complete a review. I am glad that so many of our employees made such a great impression and that you enjoyed so many of our great amenities. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited for weekend. Groupon had great rate for room. Hotel staff friendly. Loved the resort style feel with indoor and outdoor pools and workout area. Breakfast was good with omelet station. Rooms were very clean. Will visit here again. Restaurants on site plus afew off site restaurants in walking distance. This is a high traffic areas. Stores nearby for shopping or if you forget something.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yum4tum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the Groupon offer. Please be on the lookout for more great offers through the holidays. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I made reservations at Sonesta for two nights via Groupon for the Joyce Meyers Conference 2013. Little did I know this find was more than economical and convenient to the Gwinnett Center! All of the "preferred" amenities were already full; yet Sonesta was a gem hiding among the rest. I arrived late for check-in the first night due to the conference, and was a bit worried since I made my reservations via a third party site. However, there were NO issues or concerns!! The front counter was still well staffed, the on-site bar was still open, the staff were perky and cheerful as though it was 10AM, and the parking was close and clean. The staff was so helpful with deciding a late night munchies, and directions to open eateries. I chose take-out at the bar, opted for the meatloaf sandwich and went back again the next night. They even have wake-up calls the old fashioned way. Although the property is not that big, I got a little lost and confused getting to the parking area via the south exit. Not a problem for the staff that called security who chaperoned me back on track AND to the exit safely in my car. The bar had a "Cheers" appeal with locals watching big screens and at game tables. The rooms were spacious, clean, and equipped with a fridge and microwave. With a late check-out on the last day I was able to grab "UN-continental" breakfast prior to the conference; as the cook to order omelettes, and cruise worthy options could not have been better!! This was absolutely one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at, and the restaurants, staff, food, courtesy, convenience, and cleanliness placed them above the rest!! Bravo!!

Room Tip: Request the wing on the opposite end of the bar for less foot action at night. Higher floors have le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrny2Peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
WOW! Thank you for such great feedback. I am glad that you found us and hope that you will come back and see us again if you are in the area for pleasure or if you attend the conference again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Formerly a Marriott property, Sonesta will not disappoint you. They still have the same staff and the service is incredible. One of the changes is JW's Steakhouse is now Skaets (steak spelled backwards). My husband and I ate there while staying at the Sonesta and it is, by far, the best steakhouse in the area. We loved it and plan to dine there again in the near future.

Room Tip: Third floor has balconies for smokers. All other rooms are non-smoking. We've stayed here a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your Sonesta experience. We are very excited about our new brand and look forward to more exciting changes to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Sonesta is a large hotel with a very busy conference center. It is convenient to the Gwinnett Mall and the Gwinnett Center. The weekend we were there the hotel hosted a class reunion and a VFW convention. The rooms were spacious, had a comfortable bed and had a mini-fridge. All spaces of the hotel were clean. The staff was competent, but not in a rush. If you need a luggage, expect to have someone do it for you. Parking was a bit of a challenge with two events occurring. All in all, kind of like a full service Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaJerryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
What an honor to get get such a good review from such a senior reviewer! Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will join us again if you are in the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nites during the Ga. American Legion Auxiliary's Fall Conference. First to greet us were doormen, then front desk. Earlier Reservations gave my requested room near the elevator and be sure to ask for the AARP or AAA rate. Thru out my stay, all staff proved great with directions, and explanations of their restaurants. A requested blanket & coffee, was in my room almost immediately. Larry, our floor supervisor, went out of his way to get us extra condiments for the coffee, and filled my ice bucket. He was a gentleman lst class and an employee the hotel should recognize. He was very service oriented. Their Steak House was cold and drafty and service was great but food arrival extremely slow for the low patronage on a Saturday nite. Order a thick ribeye, med. rare and the onion soup; charred outside just right, with juicy inside. Marinated mushrooms too strong & salty, but they subbed for a wedge salad, and these were comped.
Front desk check in and out was friendly & fast. Carpet in my room needed shampooed. Pillows & mattresses just right. Never could get the thermostat to work ok & heard this from other fellow members, so request a blanket. Will definitely stay here again. The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars, was lack of extra blanket in room & the carpet issue.

Room Tip: When you make reservations, request whatever you want. They will try their best to accommodate. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winifred9188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of some of the amenities that we offer, as I know how busy you are during these meetings. I hope you will be back for your meeting next year as I am sure you will be pleasantly surprised by the updates we have planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duluth
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta/Duluth/Gwinnett County
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Duluth/Gwinnett Mall
13.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Atlanta
Sonesta ES Suites Atlanta
#66 of 173 in Atlanta
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta NE Gwinnett Sugarloaf
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf
0.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta

Property: Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
Address: 1775 Pleasant Hill Road, Duluth, GA 30096-4621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sonesta Gwinnett Place, you'll be within easy reach of the history and vibrancy of downtown Atlanta and a short drive from some of the most captivating and fun spots north and east of the city. And right outside your door, you will find ample options for shopping, dining, and entertainment. It's all thanks to our convenient and central location off I-86, northeast of Atlanta in Duluth, at the heart of vibrant Gwinnett Place. Relax at our unique indoor/outdoor swimming pool, with wading area suitable for kids. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast or long lunch at our casual restaurant - Grapevine Restaurant - where you'll find plenty of menu items infused with a southern flair. Visit ArtBar for local fare and libations. No matter the venue, our southern hospitality is always on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Gwinnett Place Atlanta Hotel Duluth
Marriott Duluth
Marriott Hotel Duluth
Duluth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing