We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wedding weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedding weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The front desk was friendly and helpful upon our check in on Friday. There was a minor issue with our room and Mo was so friendly and helpful with correcting the issue. She upgraded our room to the Concierge level with a beautiful view of Duluth. I love great hotels with great service and your hotel has exceeded my expectations. The king bed was so refreshing. We were so conveniently located to the venue for our friends wedding and that's a plus with Atlanta's traffic. Great times this wedding weekend !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 504WhoDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will be sure to let Mo know that she was instrumental in your enjoyable weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    179
    61
    24
    23
See reviews for
140
121
36
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

So the Sonesta outside Atlanta is an Old Mariott, but was recently renovated. Looks about 5-8 years old on the renovation and was very clean. It is an Executive hotel with a very large meeting area that is more for Conventions than vacations. The front desk and staff was VERY accommodating. The indoor/ outdoor pool was nice, but COLD. The room service was very affordable and Very Convenient.

the breakfast Buffet downstairs was AWESOME. and it was fairly priced.

Room Tip: floors 1-8 have 2 sets of elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUPERMARIO-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I got a kick out of your title as we often are asked about the origin of the name Sonesta and enjoy telling the story. In the 1940’s, Abraham Sonnabend, called Sonny by his family, had a dairy farm in Holliston, Massachusetts among many other business ventures. He was a very successful farmer, but was also interested in other industries, and began venturing in to the hotel business. He and his wife Esther didn't know what to call their hotel, so they combined their names and Sonesta was created!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can win you back as a 5 next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed a wonderful night of rest after indulging in a delicious dinner in the hotel restaurant. The king bed was so comfortable and relaxing. After a nights rest we dined in at another restaurant in the hotel that offered a wonderful breakfast buffet. The staff was excellent offering superb service throughout our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G8R4EVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of some of our amenities! We are very excited about introducing Sonesta's Food is Art concept and it sounds like you enjoyed it as well. We change our menu in Kaets seasonally and have some great new additions. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review, I hope you will come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was my first experience with a Sonesta Hotel, and I am hooked. From the moment I walked in the door to the registration desk and met a smiling face I knew this was going to be a better-than-expected experience. Hotel was very busy, but the person who checked me in chatted with me as if I was the only person in the hotel. The room was furnished luxuriously, and the grounds were immaculate and lovely. I did not get to take a dip in the lovely pool, but I did check out the exercise room which was complete with extremely high-end equipment. Maria, who checked me out, was very helpful, offering to give a later check-out time so I could tour other areas of the hotel. What a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed us as a Sonesta. I hope that you will come back and see us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The staff was so friendly at this Sonesta, I felt compelled to write about it on Trip Advisor. I purchased a Groupon deal (I got a tremendous price through this service btw) for a three night stay. My wife was traveling with me so we wanted and had specified a King sized bed. Unfortunately, the room had two full sized beds. When I requested a swap the front desk person, Joyce, had technical difficulty getting the new room. While we waited for the fix, she gave me free drinks in their bar and when the glitch was fixed she gave me a suite room for having to wait. The rest of the staff was just as friendly and professional. The breakfast bar is terrific and came with the Groupon offer. Bundle it if you can because it is worth it. The only negative I had was a noisy group next door on the last night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McWhorterComm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I lenjoy being able to share the stories with our staff, and they love knowing they have left a good impression with our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our property. Be on the lookout for more great deals where you can enjoy our hospitality again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was having a sore throat, pains in my bones and joints from this flu I picked up the night before. I went for breakfast in the Sonesta Gwinnett Place in Atlanta and asked the lady at the entrance if I could get a chicken soup instead of the breakfast buffet since that soup would most likely make me feel better. She said they normally don't serve chicken soup at breakfast but was going to ask the chef. A few minutes later she came back with the reaction of the chef: no chicken soup. I was really disappointed with this reaction.
Another few minutes later this kind lady Sejla came to me asking whether I had asked for a chicken soup to which I answered affirmative. She just wanted to let me know that she just gave orders to the chef to make me the chicken soup.
Now that is what I call taking responsibility and pride in giving good service to your guests. You have the chicken and all the other ingredients. Why not help someone who can start feeling better because of the soup.
Thanks Selja, the chicken soup made me feel a lot better as you've probably noticed when I walked out!
Because Selja corrected what had initially gone wrong I still rank 5 them dots.

I also want to compliment Carmelita.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review. I am so happy to hear that we were able to take care of you and that you left with a great impression of our staff. I love hearing stories like that. I have shared your review with our staff and use it as an example for all to follow. I'm Glad you are feeling better....there is nothing worse than being sick on the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I travel a lot. This time was for Catalyst 2013. The hotel was packed and can really stretch the staff pleasing so many during such a large event. They kept a smile on their face, always polite and will to go the extra mile. Thank you Daisy and Ashley for an easy and friendly check out and thanks for going out of your way to assist me this morning Temaran (go Miami Heat) Lisa Lupola Momentum Church Gulf Breeze, Florida

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisalupola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta/Duluth/Gwinnett County
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Duluth/Gwinnett Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Gwinnett Place
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta

Property: Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
Address: 1775 Pleasant Hill Road, Duluth, GA 30096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sonesta Gwinnett Place, you'll be within easy reach of the history and vibrancy of downtown Atlanta and a short drive from some of the most captivating and fun spots north and east of the city. And right outside your door, you will find ample options for shopping, dining, and entertainment. It's all thanks to our convenient and central location off I-86, northeast of Atlanta in Duluth, at the heart of vibrant Gwinnett Place. Relax at our unique indoor/outdoor swimming pool, with wading area suitable for kids. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast or long lunch at our casual restaurant - Grapevine Restaurant - where you'll find plenty of menu items infused with a southern flair. Visit ArtBar for local fare and libations. No matter the venue, our southern hospitality is always on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Gwinnett Place Atlanta Hotel Duluth
Marriott Duluth
Marriott Hotel Duluth
Duluth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing