We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to an elevator shaft Atlanta Ga. Room 926. Worst night sleep ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Next to an elevator shaft Atlanta Ga. Room 926. Worst night sleep ever.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Around 5 am there was no more sleeping due to the crazy noise from the elevator. Complained to front desk, got a Sorry with a blank deer in the headlights look. You could not pay me to stay in that hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank focas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the inconvenience of the noise that you heard. I would love the opportunity to talk to you further about this as room 926 is at the opposite end of the hallway from the elevators, so I am somewhat puzzled as to what the noise may have been. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to share more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    200
    72
    28
    25
See reviews for
166
138
39
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

the entire staff was great. mo, an employee, was especially very helpful. nice lounge, rooms, and breakfast. i will stay here again!! when i arrived for a conference, i did not have a reservation. mo, at the front desk, was very helpful and within 5 minutes, i had a room. the rooms were very cozy and clean. the lounge was comfortable and inviting. breakfast was very good, buffet style or menu. i plan on staying at this location again next time i am in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is my first visit to the property, but if possible it won't be me last!

It is close (walking distance) to some great restaurants. Very clean. I only stayed here for the night but I was able to enjoy some great hospitality from the entire staff, including Maureen at the front desk.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that oversees the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 43015Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

After having a frustrating day with another Sonesta location in Atlanta, I called Sonesta in Gwinnett and Daisy and Riahnne were able to handle my transaction. Both Daisy and Riahnne took the time and provided excellent customer service, they were very pleasent and overall easy to talk to. I'm VERY BIG when it comes to customer service and they hit the nail on the head, I wish i could say the same for the Atlanta location. Next time Sonesta in Gwinnett is the first call im going to make.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBadLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here with Army groups before and I can tell you the amenities and customer service are awesome. This used to be a Marriott and now that it is Sonesta the change was seamless from where I see it. Comfortable beds in clean cozy rooms. Clean indoor and outdoor pool, large spa. Fitness center! Two nice restaurants, a bar, concierge, excellent room service. Secure elevators. A mini-starbucks and gift shop/snacks/newsstand! easy access ATM. Internet access. Ample parking. Plenty of conference space. The weekend I returned without the group was even better in the quality of care. Quality and customer service are reflected in this hotel. I will return with my family and groups. Military friendly!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Sonesta is located in a former Marriott so I was expecting it to be old and outdated however it had been completely renovated and is possibly BETTER than the Marriott was! Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. Front desk is pleasant and seemed genuinely HAPPY to welcome us! The hotel is conveniently located close to I-85 as well as restaurants (Bahama Breeze, TGIF). They have a restaurant, lounge, pool and work-out room on premises too!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 8th floor providing a nice view of the grounds an plenty of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolffpak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First, I would like to say I am very picky on room comfort and cleanliness of hotels. This hotel exceeded all of our expectations. I had never heard of this hotel brand so I was a little skeptical about the type of accomodations we would receive. We were attending the Chick Fil A kickoff game in Atlanta and at first I thought I may have booked a hotel too far from the city, but it was actually the best decision we could have ever made. It was easy access right off of 85 surrounded by a lot of good eating places (Georgia Diner - is right next door and a must go to! They have sweet potato wedge fries w/ caramel dipping sauce that is out of this world)! Anyway, we arrived very early and to our surprise they allowed us to check-in. Ashley, one of the front desk associates was so helpful and kind. When we do go back to Atlanta we will definitely stay at the Sonesta at Gwinnett Place.

Room Tip: This hotel is a diamond in the rough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are so happy that you found your diamond in the rough! I am happy to hear that we were able to be a part of your fun weekend and that we made such an impression. I will be sure to pass your comments on to Ashley and the rest of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duluth
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta/Duluth/Gwinnett County
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Duluth/Gwinnett Mall
3.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta NE Gwinnett Sugarloaf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf
13.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Atlanta
Sonesta ES Suites Atlanta
#62 of 171 in Atlanta
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Duluth
Wyndham Garden Duluth
#21 of 24 in Duluth
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta

Property: Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
Address: 1775 Pleasant Hill Road, Duluth, GA 30096-4621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, you'll be within easy reach of the history and vibrancy of downtown Atlanta and a short drive from some of the most captivating and fun spots north and east of the city. And right outside your door, you will find ample options for shopping, dining, and entertainment. It's all thanks to our convenient and central location off I-85, northeast of Atlanta in Duluth, at the heart of vibrant Gwinnett Place. Relax at our unique indoor/outdoor swimming pool, with wading area suitable for kids. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast or long lunch at our casual restaurant - Grapevine Restaurant - where you'll find plenty of menu items infused with a southern flair. Visit ArtBar for local fare and libations. No matter the venue, our southern hospitality is always on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Gwinnett Place Atlanta Hotel Duluth
Marriott Duluth
Marriott Hotel Duluth
Duluth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing