We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One-Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One-Night Stay”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a nice, clean hotel. The beds are comfortable, the drapes are thick (black-outs), and the check-in process quick. The only down side is that there are some lights flashing from the back of the tv onto the wall, and also from the smoke detector (?) so there was a bit of a light show all night long, but I put my head under the pillow and blocked it out.

Room Tip: I think it was a good value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcurtis948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    191
    65
    27
    23
See reviews for
151
129
38
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Fantastic hotel, located in a great location just off the interstate, and located walking distance from shops and food outlets. Rooms are fantastic and well appointed.

Used the in room dry cleaning and was not a problem, we stayed for 3 nights from memory and really could not fault this hotel. The gift shop attendant where you can buy an early morning coffee was very pleasant. Parking was free which also was a bonus. Wifi cost I think at $ 10.00 per day was reasonable.

Breakfast in the room was ontime and very delicious, no wonder this hotel is ranked no1 in Duluth, well deserved rating.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UrbanObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We always appreciate feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again if you are in the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, MS
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My room was nice, and the location is great for travel in and around Duluth. The parking is free, but the wifi is steep at 10.00/day. Noisy neighbors could be an issue, since the walls are pretty thin.

Overall, it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homingpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again if you are in the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed there on two occasions and both times I enjoyed it. I liked the fitness center, and the staff were nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vj011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We planned a last minute trip to Atlanta and literally searched the web (love my air card) while headed up I185 N for a place to stay for two nights (Friday/Saturday). We got a great rate, $121 a night, that included two adult breakfasts and a childs breakfast - also a $25 gas card. The hotel is really pretty and sits in a great location - close to the Gwinnett Mall and just about every restaurant you can think of. Our room was a nice size, we had a king sized bed and asked the front desk for a roll-away. Not 5 minutes after getting to the room, there was a knock at the door and our bed was brought right in. The breakfast buffet was a nice treat, they had a great variety of fruits, meats (the best grilled chicken!) an omelette and waffle station, cereals, pastries, you name it! It was quality food - not just quantity. The only downside was there was a soccer tournament going on and the place was swarming with young teenage boys that were nice and behaved but we did hear doors being slammed well into the early hours. They weren't actually slamming the doors, but when the room doors are closed, they slam loudly on their own.
The staff was very friendly, the price was right and we will certainly keep this hotel on our list for future trips!
BTW, they say that you get a $25 gas card but actually they just subtract $25 from your final bill which suited me just fine!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieK_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcyAdams, General Manager at Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are glad that you chose our hotel and that we were able to meet/exceed your expectations! I will share your comments with our staff as they are the ones that make the Atlanta Marriott Gwinnett Place a great place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I can't say enough about this hotel. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff were friendly and professional. The breakfast is healthy and fresh and the servers were the best. The location is great, right off I-85, and you can walk across the side street to TGIF and a great country diner right next to TGIF. I do think that they should paint the bottom of the pool though, it was a bit dinged. The swimming was fine otherwise.

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk. Ask for Joyce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Great for family vacations and business events! This hotel has never disappointed me! Their staff can handle anything from a fun Atlanta weekend to a 400 person business meeting and banquet with ease! I have stayed at this hotel regularly for the last 15 years and have always felt welcome and at home. The beds are just icing on the cake!

Room Tip: This is a non-smoking facility. Ask for a room with a balcony if you must smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duluth
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta/Duluth/Gwinnett County
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Duluth/Gwinnett Mall
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Gwinnett Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta
13.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Atlanta
Sonesta ES Suites Atlanta
#56 of 172 in Atlanta
425 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta

Property: Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
Address: 1775 Pleasant Hill Road, Duluth, GA 30096-4621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sonesta Gwinnett Place, you'll be within easy reach of the history and vibrancy of downtown Atlanta and a short drive from some of the most captivating and fun spots north and east of the city. And right outside your door, you will find ample options for shopping, dining, and entertainment. It's all thanks to our convenient and central location off I-86, northeast of Atlanta in Duluth, at the heart of vibrant Gwinnett Place. Relax at our unique indoor/outdoor swimming pool, with wading area suitable for kids. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast or long lunch at our casual restaurant - Grapevine Restaurant - where you'll find plenty of menu items infused with a southern flair. Visit ArtBar for local fare and libations. No matter the venue, our southern hospitality is always on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Gwinnett Place Atlanta Hotel Duluth
Marriott Duluth
Marriott Hotel Duluth
Duluth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing