We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park Cafe-a little disappointing”
Review of Park Cafe - CLOSED

Park Cafe
Price range: $21 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: A contemporary American restaurant. Bold flavors, creative pairings, beautiful setting, an urban outpost.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Park Cafe-a little disappointing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went on Saturday night. The atmosphere is very quaint. The server was extremely well versed in the menu and made good recommendations but was a little hung up on the chefs outdoing each other on the nights specials. We ordered an appetizer, when the waiter said it would be out in a minute, we ordered our entree. The appetizer did not come for another 10 minutes or so. By this point we were half way through with our bottle of wine. Trying to wait for the entree to enjoy a glass with-this is usually not a good sign. Well, our entree finally arrived and was very good. However, no apologies for the long wait. Ordered a choc tart with sea salt. The tart was very rich but no salt to be seen. Party of 2-we were there for 2 hours and spent about $100. Glad we tried the place but won't go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mom2vc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    38
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, great value”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Six of us went to the Park Cafe for a Saturday night pre-concert dinner (Eddie Owens presents Randall Bramblett at the Red Clay Theater - Awesome!). First time visit for all of us and we all left very satisfied with our meal and experience. Our reservations were for 6PM and we were seated immediately upon arrival. Started with Pork Belly, Baked goat cheese and fried green tomatoes with a bottle of White from a Georgia winery. All three starters were well presented, delicious and plenty for the six us. For the entree I ordered the chef special, duck leg and my date ordered the Tilapia. I found the duck to be cooked to perfection and the fish had a wonderful flavor. Other items ordered were the Shrimp and grits, meat loaf and the pork tenderloin along with a bottle of French red. My fellow dinners had nothing but praise for their meals and I did notice no one offered to share. We were so full after the meal that no one opted for dessert though several items were tempting. Our waitress Melissa did a great job keeping the water glasses topped up, Will request her when we return. The excellent rating is due to the fact that the group is made up of 'experienced' diners and the Park Cafe received a thumbs up from everyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WSA_IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pre-Concert Spot”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was a beautiful evening and they were able to seat us outside. There were 6 of us having dinner before going to the Red Clay Theater down the street for a concert. This was a great pre-concert dinner spot as we only had to park once. The food was excellent. I had the Tilapia, others at the table tried the special, which was a risotto with duck. All were in agreement that it was a fantastic meal with a great view of the Duluth Town Green. The tables on the covered patio were spaced well apart and it was quiet enough to easily hear one another. Our server was very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KaTaHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Just very average”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went on Friday the 15th, after making an early reservation so that I could make a local show at 8 PM, which I told them when I made the reservation. We arrived on time for our 6:30 reservation and our main course was served at 7:20. We asked them to box one dinner and we quickly shared the other, in order to make the show. The wine recommended was reasonably priced, but a very weak chardonnay. The food was just okay, nothing to make us go there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billinsugarloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Quiet Dinner for Two or with Friends”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Love this place. My husband and I went to the Park Cafe for Valentine's
day with two of our friends. The special Valentine's dinner was excellent and the service was great. We look forward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanNJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing