We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Back In Time”

Southeastern Railway Museum
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Duluth, GA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Step Back In Time”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

An excellent attraction, especially for educating children about the history of railway travel.
There is something for young and old, and children will especially enjoy the short 'train ride'.
Since much of the museum is outdoors, it is not a trip for a cold, or rainy day. There is plenty to see and do inside, but many of the exhibits are heavily historical and appeal more to adults than small children. There are examples of other forms of transportation, such as old busses and taxi cabs also on display. Overall, an excellent attraction.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank towo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    44
    12
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, GA
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Collection, All Volunteer Staff”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a great place to take anyone interested in trains, mechanics or history. My train-obsessed four year old had to be carried out after 4 hours of looking at trains, buses and other vehicles. My 9yo daughter and her friend had a blast as well. The admission is very reasonable and there are lots of train engines and cars from several eras of railroad history. I love the art deco passenger cars and the mail car and my kid loved explaining all the parts of the steam engines and diesel engines to me and seeing how all the parts connect, where the brakes are, what a cowcatcher looks like up close. There are also MARTA buses you can tour, a small museum of train memorabilia and a model train that is just a little to reachable by tiny hands. There is a ride on a real train that is short, but perfect for kids and if you ask when you buy your ticket you might be lucky enough to get a spot in the locomotive's cab with the engineer for just a couple dollars extra. It made my son's day. The gift shop has a great selection of train-related items including tshirts, engineer and conductor hats, and story books. Yes, the equipment is in decline and needs repair, but at least this group has saved them from becoming scrap and are doing their best to maintain them. I appreciate the opportunity to learn by seeing and touching rather than just looking at photos and that wouldn't be possible without these dedicated volunteers. That said, sometimes certain things are not open or running because there aren't enough volunteers staffing on a particular day. We didn't get to ride the small train today, which was a bit of a disappointment, but the ride in the cab more than made up for it. We will definitely be back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Took the family here and there were so many trains to see. The outside trains didn't have ac but its understandable. If you want to see every train outside go early in the morning or on a cool day. Kids loved the train ride! They could use a little landscaping to make the ride more interesting but the museum portion was awesome!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vci300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Train Lovers will enjoy”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Lots of great old trains. We were pressed for time so we didnt get to see everything. They have some really great history on display.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaQuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun for rail fans of all ages!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My 3 and 8 year old sons had a great time at the SE Railway Museum. They have lots of trains and engines to explore and offer lots of artifacts and railroad memorabilia. You can ride on an open rail car and a train ride around park. A must for any rail fan!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southeastern Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Southeastern Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing