We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Customer Service Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Duluth
Puerto Rico, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Customer Service Ever!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stay at this hotel, twice a month for 3-4 days continuously. Last year, in 2012, I stayed here for an entire month and had a phenomenal experience, but this time around was a whole different story! I think management has changed and the new management has no idea how to operate a hotel.

It all started when I checked in yesterday to only find dirty plates and cups sitting next to my door. Next day, the cups and plates were still there in the morning when I left my room and were STILL there when I returned to my room after 4PM. I called the front desk almost 10 times and NO ONE responded. Finally, I got in touch with a lady named Poo and she said she'd take care of it. I left the hotel and came back a couple hours later only to find the dirty cups and plates still sitting by my door. By this point, I was furious. Not only was I bothered with the lack of cleanliness, I was bothered by the front desk staff not being able to deliver. (Point being, if management did property walks, these things would be avoided before new guests check-in at 3pm.)

Later that evening, it just got worse. My wife being allergic to down, she requested to have her pillows changed to foam pillows. The past times we've stayed here, it was never an issue - the front desk would gladly replace the down pillows with foam pillows. This time, when my wife called down stairs, the front desk agent had an attitude and told my wife she should've brought her own pillow. She then told her, we had been traveling across country on the plane and the last thing we wanted to pack was a pillow! We also told her that the hotel always has provided us with foam pillows and in return the confused front desk agent proceeded to ask the very stupid question of "what does a foam pillow look like?" Instead she offered to give us a stack of sheets which my wife used as a pillow and woke up to a very sore neck.

By far the worst hotel ever! I would pick hilton any day over holiday inn. Not very friendly and hotel staff is lazy and careless. Cleanliness is a big issue. Employees are clueless and they need hotel training from upper management.

Room Tip: Go to the hampton across the street. So much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunjay511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    68
    36
    16
    13
See reviews for
49
18
10
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

One night stay. Computers down for over an hour at check in. When restored, guests were checked in based on how obnoxious they were. Food really substandard - salad with black lettuce and soggy croutons, breafast sandwich with cold english muffin and cheese. Room was clean, bed fine, but we received a wake up call at 5:30 AM when none was requested.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Deborah D.

I appreciate you taking the time to share the experience of your stay. I know we did not deliver the level of service you deserved, when our systems went down at the hotel. Guest service is our priority and I would like to have the opportunity to discuss with you further. I would appreciate you reaching out to me directly at the hotel. Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Was in the area for a conference. This hotel is great - the staff is friendly and exceptionally helpful. Rooms are well appointed and clean. An occasional bit of noise (sirens on the interstate) but not close enough to the interstate to be bothered by truck traffic. Nice cafe onsite - breakfast was a little pricey (around $10) but good variety and food was good, plus the convenience made it worthwhile. Recommend staying here if going to a concert or event at Gwinnett Arena - parking lots practically connect.

Room Tip: Rooms on side away from interstate might be quieter, but facility is far enough off of interstate th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sojournhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Sojournhr

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We know you have many choices, and appreciate you letting us take care of your hospitality needs. I hope if you are traveling here again, you will come back to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were able to book a room here on zero notice for our attendance to the Starcitygames.com Invitational this past weekend. The hotel was full to capacity with players as well as guests in town for the Final Four tournament. For them to be able to work us in on such short notice was greatly appreciated and was a great improvement from our previous night's lodging. The staff was friendly and the room was great. It was comfortable and clean and they had no problem providing us with extra blankets. Well Done!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dragos Dragn

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I'm glad you made it for the Star City Games, I find it incredibly fun to have a full packed hotel with people who are excited about their events. I look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Bright, clean, and business functional! If you are coming to the Sugarloaf Business park area on corporate business or a quick overnight to catch a performance at the Arena or Performing Arts center – less than a block away -- this place will meet your needs with compact, efficiently designed rooms. A HUB concept sets the tone for a basic overnight stay designed to keep you focused on business but also well taken care of. Everything is in easy view from the professionally staffed reception: a breakfast area—open 6:30 – 10 AM -- that transforms into evening dining and bar amenities from 5-10 PM, a computer area, fitness center, and a welcoming outdoor area for relaxation. The “Market” area features water and soft drinks, sweets and frozen meals for those after-hour hunger pangs or an alternative to business community feel of the early morning coffee crowd. The rooms, complimented with the Holiday Inn signature citrus bouquet, are an overnight recharging place equipped with microwave and refrigerators, comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Even numbered room face a lovely wooded area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyJohnsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Gabriele S.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during you recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed the new concepts we have to offer and hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at this property for the SEC Women's Basketball Conference games, which were being held at the Gwinnett Arena. The rooms were pricey at $159/night due to the event and the hotel's close proximity to the arena. It was a convenient location, I'll give it that, but this was not a $159/night experience.

The king bed and non-smoking room that I thought I had requested turned out to be two double beds. Even worse, I'm pretty sure Cheech and Chong had occupied the hotel room for the month previous to my stay. It definitely smelled like something straight out of, "Up in Smoke." The hotel was filled to capacity, so they could not reassign me to a different, non-smoking room. I understand this, as I made my reservation just a few days before the event began. They did set off an oxidation bomb, but this was not effective. The horrendous smoky smell made for a very unpleasant stay.

Trash was all up and down the hallway one night (fast food bags, pizza boxes, etc.). It could be that a few people ordered take-out and left their garbage in the hall and I just happened to walk by at the wrong time. But it was pretty disgusting and I sincerely hope it had not been there long.

Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was pricey at $11 per person and the buffet was the only option. I am not a buffet person. The food was bland, mediocre at best and, well, buffett-ish.

Staff and waitstaff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Although I wished I had been able to be reassigned to a non-smoking room, I understand that none were available and believe that they did try.

If you could get a room at a much better price and get assigned a non-smoking room (if you're a non-smoker), it might be OK. But next year, I'll save $60 per night and find a better hotel a little farther away from the arena.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDG5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear JDG5400,

Thank you for your feedback. We truly value your comments, all the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve, as these give us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay. Please be assured that your input will be taken into consideration in our efforts to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

someone saud this was poorly rated and it is. very disappointed, no fitness room, have to walk next door to comfort inn, and that hotel is really dirty especially the fitness equipment. ,
business center is a joke, loos like someone put it together in 5 minutes, and it didn't work straight away, and it in the lobby next to the checkin.desk just one small chair and visible to all. will never start here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodbadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear woodbadg,

Thank you for your review. It was regrettable to see that your stay with us was not all that it could have been. We strive to make each stay an enjoyable one and we are happy to take your feedback so that we may continue to improve.

Thank you again for providing a review.

Sincerely,

Adrian D.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta NE Gwinnett Sugarloaf
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf
3.7 mi away
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Atlanta Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center

Property: Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center
Address: 6310 Sugarloaf Pkwy, Duluth, GA 30097-4334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gwinnett Center Hotel, located adjacent to the Gwinnett Center and the Arena at Gwinnett Center, home of the Gwinnett Gladiators, Forward Conference (Jun 09), Watchtower Conventions, Joyce Meyer Event (Oct 09) and other Gwinnett Arena Events. The new Gwinnett Braves Baseball Team plays just a few miles north The Holiday Inn Gwinnett Center, a Duluth GA hotel is located NE of Downtown Atlanta via I-85, less the mile from Discover Mills Mall, close to the Mall of Georgia, Gwinnett Civic Center, Gwinnett Convention Center and 3 miles from the Gwinnett Place Mall. Gwinnett County offers a wide variety of recreational activities such as golf and tennis, which are located within 2 miles of the Holiday Inn Gwinnett Center, a Lawrenceville GA hotel. The hotel is also close to the University of Georgia ( UGA )Bulldogs Stadium. Each one of our 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms was designed to make your stay comfortable and productive. We offer complimentary high-speed Internet access. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Gwinnett Center you can relax by our indoor pool or work out in our poolside fitness center. Perhaps you will want to unwind with a cocktail in our lounge or dine at Kem s restaurant (named for the founder of Holiday Inn, Kemmons Wilson.) We hope you will choose the Holiday Inn Gwinnett Center Hotel for your next visit to Duluth GA, Lawrenceville GA or Gwinnett GA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Hotel Duluth
Holiday Inn Gwinnett Center
Holiday Inn Duluth
Duluth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing