We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convention Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, United States
1 review
“Convention Stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Upon arrival, check in was smooth and quick. Arriving in the room, found fridge not working. Reservationist on duty quickly moved us across the hall AND when l went down to the lobby to get a cookie, none were left, but she GAVE me Mrs Fields SoftBaked Chocolate Chip from the Snack Bar!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Vincent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIMgmt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are very excited to have you as a hotel guest at the Hilton Garden Inn Sugarloaf. We take great pride in providing a superior guest experience for our hotel guests. When you’re planning your next trip to Duluth, let us know if we can assist with your planning. We’d love to have you back as a guest of our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    152
    64
    28
    14
See reviews for
151
96
21
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Every single day of our stay we were short on linens, called to request more, which were never delivered and made us have to go down to the front desk to get the linens so that we could shower and dress on time. We were never made aware of the satisfaction guarantee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank PetiteScrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIMgmt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We do apologize for the inconvenience of not having extra linens. We are reviewing with our staff and taking measures to be better prepared during larger conferences. If there is anything we can do for you, please let us know. I do hope you will consider staying with us again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was the second stay for me at the Hilton Garden in Duluth, GA, and a reminder as to why I like to stay there. The staff was very accommodating and profressional and the hotel comfortable all around--lobby, dining area, rooms and other areas throughout. Room was just what I needed and the hotel was quiet overall during the evening. I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUTEX2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIMgmt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review regarding the Hilton Garden Inn Sugarloaf. Our hotel team is dedicated to ensure you stay with us again the next time you’re in the Duluth, GA area. When you’re planning your next visit to Duluth, let us know if we can assist with planning. We’d love to have you back as a guest at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very good hotel with excellent location next to interstate and mall. Close to most locations in Atlanta and eating areas and safe enviroment. Great price and value for the cleanliness of the hotel. Breakfast is not free however but price about what you pay at IHOP or Denny's. Has a great indoor pool and a small gym to work out. You can walk across parking lot toseveral resturants

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIMgmt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review for our hotel. Our team takes great pride in providing superior guest experience for our hotel guests. The next time you are in Duluth, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great 3 nights. 1st time staying here and pleasantly surprised. Hotel even though it was crowded proved no match for the staff. Everything was on point. We experienced no problems. Look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIMgmt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We appreciate your time in reviewing the Hilton Garden Inn Sugarloaf. We certainly believe our hotel team offers superior service in order to make our guests’ stay a memorable one. The next time you’re in Duluth, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here for over 10 days and experienced the most disgusting rooms and hallways I've every seen. On the first night I arrived I found a significant urine stain on the toilet seat which was not cleaned the next day, so I cleaned it myself (yuck!) then later in the week I discovered that there was a used, bloody bandage next to one of the beds (double-yuck!) which had obviously been there during my entire stay, but hidden between the mattress & bedframe. I was moved to another room and there was, again, urine on the toilet seat. The front desk agent who was with me at the time made no effort to clean it, so I had to do it myself (again...). This room also had a broken window lock and a very slow drain. All floors have nasty, stained carpets and I never once saw or heard a vacuum in use. Housekeeping is significantly deficient in this hotel and their attention to detail is non-existent. Only the front desk/lobby area is presentable. Despite multiple emails the communication with this hotel is abysmal. I received one boiler-plate response from the GM and no further communication. This Hilton experience has turned me off to the entire Hilton brand. Stay at your own risk!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIMgmt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand that you encountered an opportunity with the cleanliness of your guest room, I sincerely apologize for this. This is one of the areas that we are very vigilant in to ensure comfort and satisfaction for our guests. I'm so sorry that we were unable to meet expectations and based upon your review I am actively participating with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen again. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again. Thank you again, I appreciate your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I booked this hotel for one night when I attended the Beyoncé concert at Gwinnett Center. This is a basic hotel for a comfortable night's rest, but don't expect too many bells and whistles. The location is great if you're attending an event at the arena...it's directly across the street from one of the left parking lot entrances to Gwinnett Center (and it was half the price of the Holiday Inn located inside the arena lot in spite of the fact that the properties offer almost identical amenities...I viewed both hotels prior to booking). When it was time for the concert we were able to easily make the quick drive across to the arena without having to get stuck in the heavy traffic on Sugarloaf Parkway. Parking at the arena is free so it was perfect.

The lobby of the hotel looks brand new and is beautifully decorated, however the rooms are simply average although they do have flat screen TVs. Since it's an older property each room has an air conditioning unit located underneath the window. Note: these are not the old-school window units, they are modern electric units controlled by a digital wall control thermostat. The unit was not noisy and it kept the room cooled well. I noticed they offered a breakfast buffet as well as cooked-to-order breakfast in the lobby for $9.99. That's a nice feature and a decent price not to have to leave the hotel. However, there are other breakfast options close by, i.e. Chick-Fil-A (across the parking lot) and The Waffle House. There is a Carrabba's restaurant as a lunch/dinner choice in the connecting parking lot and the Sugarloaf Outlet Mall (which has an ample food court) is literally five minutes away.

Please be aware that the indoor pool located on the 1st floor has a very strong chlorine smell that permeates the entire hallway. If this will irritate you be sure to request a room on an upper floor. Thankfully our room was on the 3rd floor, but my travel companion was still very bothered by the smell when we used the hotel's side exit. Also, there was a $20 charge for a roll-away bed.

Room Tip: The 1st Floor hallway has a strong chlorine smell from the indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIMgmt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor; we greatly appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We are so glad you had a great time while staying with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta NE Gwinnett Sugarloaf
3.6 mi away
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Gwinnett Center
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta NE/Duluth Sugarloaf
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta/Duluth/Gwinnett County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf
Address: 2040 Sugarloaf Cir, Duluth, GA 30097-4084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NE/Gwinnett Sugarloaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Ne/Gwinnett Sugarloaf Hotel Duluth
Hilton Garden Inn Duluth
Hilton Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing