We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was my first time staying in a Wingate and I thought it was a good experience. Bed was comfortable tho a lil springy. The only down point I had was that the cable and internet was going in and out. The day clerk was extremely nice and was able to find out what the problem was. She was also very helpful in suggesting a few good resturants in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 395KenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
January W, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    132
    71
    29
    24
See reviews for
122
95
34
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Room was comfortable desk clerk very nice agree with the 3 rating the area was a little confusing to navigate but the hotel was easy on and off from the interstate breakfast buffet was typical overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
January W, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed yourself!! You're right, it can be a little tricky for first time visitors to navigate at a few intersections. However, we do have maps of the Duluth and Atlanta area located at the front desk. I know how you guys feel about getting directions, but we give really good directions at the front desk. :) Anything we can do for our guest, we do. Thank you for your time and review. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This Wingate is classified by most web booking sites as a 3-star property. However, the appearance of the facility, guest room, and the amenities offered are more consistent with a 2-star property. In fact, I've stayed at Microtel Inns and other 2-star rated properties that were nicer than this Wingate. I think there are some serious issues with the overall hotel star system, but that's a whole other issue. As pertains to this hotel, I would absolutely not classify it as 3-stars.

My guest room was very basic. The green carpeting was reminiscent of an old Extended Stay America I once stayed at. Although it was good-sized, the room was in dire need of an update. The wallpaper was old and there were patches covering holes on the wall... My window was frosted over due to what looked like spray paint on the outside... And all the lamp shades had yellowed from years of use. Most of my bath towels had snags or rips in them. And the bed was not particularly comfortable, at least compared to the hotels I've stayed at recently. There was a microwave and fridge in the room. Cleanliness-wise I'd say the room was about average. There were specs of dried water or cleaner all over the bathroom mirror. Old cough drops from a prior guest on the floor just beside the bed. Someone before me dropped a sticky coke-like substance all over the power outlet and cords around the alarm clock, so after changing outlets to accommodate a laptop charger, I had to wash my hands.

After checking-in, upon arrival at the room, the door was cracked open...the front desk agent suggested the cleaners may have forgotten to latch the door. It was kind of bizarre, but everything was fine. Another slightly odd happening was the fire alarm going off at 2AM -- but only for about 30 seconds. Just as I was exiting the room, it went off, and no update was given as to what the deal was. And this hotel suffered from my regular complaint of clueless guests talking loud in the hallway in the middle of the night, and slamming their room doors so hard that the walls shake. It's like how people are in the airport - they go into a little bubble and forget that anyone else exists.

The rest of the facility is nondescript, and appeared mostly clean. The hallways have industrial fluorescent lighting that creates a cold, empty feel. The outdoor pool was small but looked fine for a quick swim. The parking lot had plenty of spaces and was well-lit.

Service by the lone front desk agent was fine, although she was clearly working her tail off. Same with the person preparing the breakfast items. The breakfast was about on par with what you get elsewhere. Not as impressive as a Hampton Inn (2.5 stars) or Holiday Inn Express (2.5 stars) but better than a 1 or 2-star Extended Stay America.

Location is probably this hotel's best quality. It is on a side road adjacent to the interstate, surrounded by other chain hotel buildings. Shopping and eating options are near by, although Duluth, GA is not a particularly exciting place. It's convenient, but if you're hoping for more to do, look elsewhere.

Overall, my experience was absolutely average. This hotel is definitely not representative of a 3-star property, and even after getting a great price on Hotwire, I feel as though the value is still quite mediocre. I've stayed at nicer 2 and 2.5 star properties for far less in the past two months. It really doesn't make much sense. I expect far more from a 3-star hotel. I would not stay here again if given a choice. However, I reckon if most people got a great deal on a room here, they would find it acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
January W, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your review and your opinion. When we do our renovation, I'll be sure to call you. Maybe you could be our interior designer! Until then, have a great day. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Keeping in mind that one’s expectations of a 2-star hotel ought to be restrained, this one did not live up to any reasonable 2-star standard. My room was a “suite” equipped with a king bed and sleep sofa. The king mattress was probably mere foam (“bouncy”) and substandard.

There was no bedding in the room for the sleep sofa, and none was available on request.

There is a small pool advertised, which comes in handy for de-energizing little kids before bedtime. It was closed.

When the Wingate brand came out it was a cut above the mean for typical 2.5-star hotels. This experience indicates that Wyndam has remodeled the brand to take up residence near the bottom of its stable of brands.

Room Tip: Start by going elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
January W, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Gwinnett Place Atlanta
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Duluth/Gwinnett Mall
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Duluth
Wyndham Garden Duluth
#19 of 24 in Duluth
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta/Duluth/Gwinnett County
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Duluth
Quality Inn Duluth
#21 of 24 in Duluth
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Atlanta / Gwinnet Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta
Address: 3450 Venture Pkwy, I-85 at Exit 104-Pleasant Hill, Duluth, GA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Duluth/Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing