We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Consistent in Quality”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #18 of 89 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Toomsboro, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not Consistent in Quality”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The quality is great one trip and not another. We used to frequently stop here because my husband loves ribs, but one time they are great, the next they are burnt.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastman GA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have lost respect for Sonny's over the last year or two. They used to be better, but everything tasted old and processed. Our server was probably the best part of the evening. The salad bar was good, but if you want some BBQ, there is another just a half mile down the road and there is no comparison.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“My Go To BBQ in Dublin”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Because this is a chain, you are pretty sure to get fairly consistent food here. Sonny's is Sonny's. I'm not from Dublin, but work here and when I want BBQ, this is where I go. Sure there is Buffalo's and the other chain restaurants, but Sonny's is as good as it gets for a true BBQ experience for me.

My partner likes to go early to ensure getting fresh options at the salad bar. The restaurant is really never crowded and we have always had a pleasant meal here. There are very few diners in Dublin that eat late, so there may only be a couple people eating if you go around 8PM. I like to just get a rack of ribs or a pound of ribs and skip the meals that come with the sides.

For Dublin, where there is not a ton of choices, this is a good bet for a good salad or a very good meat meal. In Dublin, Sonny's gets a Very Good rating.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stompper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Terrible Turned Into Good”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

In town for 3 days on business. Wanted Bar-B-Q. Sonny's is usually pretty good. I like whole, dry rubbed pork ribs, not the St. Louis cut they now offer. Ordered a rack and sides. The rack the server delivered was dried out and obviously been sitting in a warmer for hours. I told the girl "These ribs are disgusting". If they don't have fresh ribs, I will order something else. She came back with a suggestion of ribs with sauce on them. Told her no sauce just fresh ribs or none. I guess the cook got the picture and sent out the fresh cooked rack he should have sent first instead of trying to get rid of an old rack. The meal turned out to be good after all and the server did all she could to please.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AIRBOATER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing