We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Better places for BBQ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson Hickory House

Hudson Hickory House
Ranked #10 of 171 Restaurants in Douglasville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
dallas, georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better places for BBQ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Locals either love this place or hate it. My friend decided to order take out from here and after seeing the kitchen I was unsure if I should order any food or not. Not the cleanest and I will leave it at that. The bags of take out are always soaked in grease. If you like greasy bbq then you won't have a problem eating here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rba911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“MMM MMM Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I go to Hudson's almost EVERY Saturday night and it is ALWAYS Awesome and Amazing. I enjoy the people that serve you, the food they serve and my Uncle, Nolan Kell (People who have been there in Douglasville for a while may know him from Kell's Radiator Shop) is really good friends with Buford Hudson, the owner. I absolutely love Hudson's and that will never change.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raegan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Simple and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stopped in several times for lunch here during my business trip. Service was quick and food was good. I really enjoyed the pork, it had a great taste and the sauce with it was very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hondo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is definetly the best barbeque in Douglasville. The pulled pork that my children and I had was heavenly, and my husband enjoyed his beef sandwich, also. Their fried cherry pie was so good, it somehow got my son-who hates both cherries and pie-to eat it. Being from TX, we have eaten a lot of barbeque, and this is some of the best I've ever had.


Helpful?
2 Thank Chollacactus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosser, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fast, good, not pristine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hudson's is definitely a Douglasville landmark. I always feel like taking a bath when I leave, but the bbq is very good! Its definitely somewhere to go when in Douglasville...but not if you're a germaphobe.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lamez33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudson Hickory House also viewed

 

Been to Hudson Hickory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing