We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family dining”
Review of Dillard House

Dillard House
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Dillard
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Description: The Dillard House offers a Family Style dinning experience!
Mobile
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Family dining”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Dillard House is located in a beautiful setting on top of a hill. There is a huge dining room, and meals are served either family style or from the menu. There is a wide variety of food choices, and the food is good. The atmosphere is nice, waiters are efficient , and it was an enjoyable lunch stop for my husband and I and the couple traveling with us. Would recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank card_bri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    233
    175
    102
    115
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the Best Meals Stays anywhere in Georgia”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

If you come to the Georgia Mountains you have to stop off at The Dillard House. They serve some of the best southern cooking anywhere. Breakfast Lunch and Dinner 7 days a week. And the views!..
Plus they have different places you can choose from to stay. If you love animals then they have a Zoo Farm and you can go horse back riding.
Don't miss The Dillard House

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfTravelHost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We have eaten at this restaurant in the past but was greatly disappointed on our visit this past week. We arrived a little before the dinner service and waited to be seated at 5 PM. The meal was late starting...close to 30 minutes. The dinner was served family style as always but certainly not worth the money they charge for the meal and service. There were 2 meats served with the meal...fried chicken and roast beef. I always thought they served 3 or more meats with the meals. Several casseroles--a squash and a cabbage both tasted the same. The eggplant/tomato--were on the menu but was not good. In fact the server who brought the food to the table did not even know what the tomato/eggplant concoction was! The dressing that was served was very dry and no gravy was brought to the table to accompany it. We found some "juice" on the roast beef plate and put it on the dressing. The only green item was fried zucchini which was cold when it got to the table. The red potato pieces, butter beans and corn on the cob were acceptable and tasty. My fried chicken was seeping blood when I cut into the thigh and I had to send it back for replacement which took some time from the waitress who did not seem in a hurry for anything. The wing that was on the plate was cooked properly. The roast beef was so dry and tough it was hard to eat. The relishes and salad offerings brought initially when you sit down were the best items served the whole meal. Some servers were observed being prompt with refills from the kitchen but ours was not. Although this restaurant has been an icon for the area many years, I certainly do not recommend anyone spend the money for the dinner meal because of the quality of the food and the service we got. I mentioned the problems when we checked out and were told by the young ladies at the register that they had heard other complaints similar to mine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My friend had to hit this restaurant on our trip. We were a little skeptical because of recent reviews. We went anyway and it was OK. Service was very good, very attentive. They do give you plenty of food with the family style option (15 plates of food) and it was good, nothing to rave about and we were full when we pushed away from the table. I think it was kind of high for just a little step above Cracker Barrel food (just over $100 for a family of four). It was nice to be able to walk around their grounds after dinner.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuckerscurve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray beach
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best Ribs, Fried Chicken, mashed potatoes and sweet tea I have ever had.”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Everything was amazing.
Great service and atmosphere.
Beautiful view to boot. So good
We're going back tomorrow morning for breakfast and were staying 20 miles away.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldschool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dillard House also viewed

Dillard, Rabun County
Dillard, Rabun County
 
Dillard, Rabun County
 
Clayton, Rabun County
 

Been to Dillard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing