We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Exceeded My Expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gateway Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dillard
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exceeded My Expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was very pleased with my accommodations. I stayed for 2 nights as I was enjoying some of the local state and federal parks/lands. It is the winter season so not many guests this time of year, and it was pretty quiet. I was on the first floor so could hear every footstep above my room; not sure how that could be improved. The room was very clean, but could use updating. Internet connection was good. I liked the flat screen TV, fridge, and microwave. The hotel also has an indoor pool and jacuzzi; nice. The breakfast room is well designed, a separate dining room with a wall mounted TV. The breakfast is above average and was well stocked. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    32
    21
    9
    11
See reviews for
32
35
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife, daughter and I visited here in Mid-October and enjoyed our experience. The rooms are clean and appear to be new; the beds were plush and comfortable and the room itself was very spacious! Also this Holiday Inn Express is located near various attractions in Dillard, GA and Highlands, NC. The customer service was very good also; we had a pleasant vacation and it was money well spent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was about what I expect from Holiday Inn Express. The place was clean but worn. It definitely has some age. The bed was completely wore out, and if it had been a horse, it should have been put out of its misery. We were just passing through and called late night and got a room. The check-in person was very helpful, very kind and very nice. It was comforting after a long trip. The breakfast was OK and satisfying; the omelet was acceptable but I eat most anything. My wife didn't care for the breakfast. The price was very high considering the age but it is in north Georgia and we were there during the high season of the fall foliage. I'm would not plan a trip back but would stay again out of desperation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good/new bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night after visiting the Smoky Mountains en-route to Atlanta.
We were a little disappointed with this hotel after staying at several HI Express properties throughout our trip. We felt it fell below average, upon arriving in the room it had a strong musty smell and it was hot! We quickly turned on the Air Conditioning and sprayed some perfume around it either killed the smell or we got used to it.
The carpet felt dirty I made sure I wore my thongs (flip flops) around at all times.
We had a comfortable sleep, the breakfast was HI Express standard and the free wi-fi was good too.
We wouldn't stay here again and would choose somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eeliechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear eeliechick,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are glad you had a comfortable sleep and you were satisfied with the breakfast and WIFI. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had with your room accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dillard hotels

Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Clean and comfy rooms, friendly front desk staff, and good, hot breakfast. I stayed here for two weeks on business and loved it. The front desk associates told us the best places to dine and to visit for fun. Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Rabun County.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were disappointed in this Holiday Inn Express. Shabby all the way. No automatic doors, elevator is not conveniently located, rooms are small, no AC on when we arrived, took 3hours to cool down. Minimum towels. old pillows smelled. Reminded me of a poorly operated
MicroTel. Tv worked great as did the Internet connection. Great restaurant nearby: country cupboard. Great fried chicken unspiced. wine service too. I had to say something nice...... Franklin, NC, is close by ,10 miles, and offers more and better choices. We made a big mistake and it was too late to move on. If in Franklin,eat at Rel's. Wonderful but no credit cards. We had to stay here because the power was off at our nearby home or I never would have picked this place. Grubby...and very dated. Poorly managed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheflars2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear cheflars2,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Please allow me to apologize for the room accommodations you received that did not live up to your expectations and any inconvenience you may have experienced. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights to see tallulah falls about 30 minutes away. We always stayed at a holiday inn express. This is the closest hotel near the fall and the previous reviews were very helpful. Friendly staff, clean environment, free breakfast (of course) and quiet area. Very close to North Carolina and the entrance to the Smokies.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillard
0.4 mi away
Mountain Valley Inn
Mountain Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knights Inn Dillard
Knights Inn Dillard
#3 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#1 of 13 in Franklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
11.5 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites

Property: Gateway Inn & Suites
Address: 64 White Oak Ln, US Hwy 441 & GA Hwy 246, Dillard, GA 30537-2110 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Dillard)
Location: United States > Georgia > Dillard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dillard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gateway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dillard Hotel Dillard
Holiday Inn Dillard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing