We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Captive audience in a small town. Royal ripoff.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gateway Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dillard
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Captive audience in a small town. Royal ripoff.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were disappointed in this Holiday Inn Express. Shabby all the way. No automatic doors, elevator is not conveniently located, rooms are small, no AC on when we arrived, took 3hours to cool down. Minimum towels. old pillows smelled. Reminded me of a poorly operated
MicroTel. Tv worked great as did the Internet connection. Great restaurant nearby: country cupboard. Great fried chicken unspiced. wine service too. I had to say something nice...... Franklin, NC, is close by ,10 miles, and offers more and better choices. We made a big mistake and it was too late to move on. If in Franklin,eat at Rel's. Wonderful but no credit cards. We had to stay here because the power was off at our nearby home or I never would have picked this place. Grubby...and very dated. Poorly managed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheflars2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear cheflars2,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Please allow me to apologize for the room accommodations you received that did not live up to your expectations and any inconvenience you may have experienced. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    21
    9
    11
See reviews for
34
35
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights to see tallulah falls about 30 minutes away. We always stayed at a holiday inn express. This is the closest hotel near the fall and the previous reviews were very helpful. Friendly staff, clean environment, free breakfast (of course) and quiet area. Very close to North Carolina and the entrance to the Smokies.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I, our daughter, and two granddaughters recently stayed one night while traveling to North Carolina. We found this hotel to be a pleasant suprise in an area that does not have a wide selection of quality national chain brand lodging. The room on the first floor was pleasant and clean and very quiet. The hotel is located back from the main highway, so traffic noise is not an issue. The internet worked fine, much better than I had experienced earlier on our trip. The breakfast was quite good. Check out their pancake making machine! This hotel is a great value for your money!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at the Dillard Holiday Inn Express for two nights while sightseeing in the north Georgia mountains. We arrived late one night but found a cheerful desk clerk who processed our reservation quickly. The room was on the second floor and upon entry, we found it to be clean and free of any foreign odors. The room was equipped with a large LCD television and a refrigerator/microwave. The bathroom was very clean and the shower produced hot water with excellent pressure. There were plenty of towels available and the shower curtain looked new. The beds were very comfortable and we did not find anything distasteful about the sheets, although a military-grade inspection was never performed. The A/C unit was efficient and ice cold and had a digital thermostat. We had two nights of restful relaxation and were not disturbed by any noises outside of the occasional rude guest or two.

The breakfast was not the best I have ever enjoyed as a part of the room rate, but it was still good. The young lady who was tending to the meal was working very hard (the small dining room was full) and was very nice to the guests. If I had run into the hotel manager, I would have recommended her for a raise. The cinnamon rolls were excellent!

Some other good points from our stay: 1) Heated indoor swimming pool with hot tub, and very clean. A big hit with my 6 year old son! 2) Excellent view of the surrounding mountains. Made us feel like we were really imbedded in the scenery. 3) Wireless internet which registered 5 bars on my laptop and no connection issues during the stay. 4) Guest computer in the lobby with a printer, which was useful when I needed to print directions to area attractions. 5) No unsavory characters on the property. Everyone there appeared to be a legitimate guest.

The only downsides to this stay were: 1) Our room had two beds. The bed closest to the window was about 12 inches from the air conditioner. This created a "chill zone" for the person sleeping in this bed, but it wasn't so bad that it impaired sleep. 2) An outside security light shined directly at the window, and even after pulling the curtains shut tightly, there was still a crack of light coming through into the room. Again, though, still not enough to impair sleep.

Overall, it was a very good stay. I would recommend this hotel. Also, if you're looking for a place to eat, try the Main Street Pizzeria. It's very close to the hotel on 441 and you can dine-in or carry-out. Our pizza was delicious and service was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here recently for 3 nights while attending a wedding. The hotel is clean & staff was very friendly. The phones in our room never worked & the internet was inconsistent at best. Otherwise, it was a great place to stay in Dillard!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nae69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Mississippi
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Our stay was great. Two adults two children. Very quiet and very cozy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We'd made reservations at the Holiday Inn Express-Dillard about a month ago for a little getaway to Clayton/Dillard, just to relax after the Thanksgiving hustle-bustle. I was not expecting a fancy place with amenities, just a clean, comfortable place to wind up in after a day of shopping and sight-seeing.

The hotel was not at all crowded, and we were able to check in early. The lady at the front desk, Shandaline (?) was fantastic. Very friendly and helpful...she really made my rating go from a 4 to a 5.

Our room was extremely clean, bed comfortable, decor just fine. Only things I noticed needing attention were trivial: wallpaper loose in one corner of the bathroom, and the toiletpaper holder was rusty/corroded.

The lobby was clean and inviting, hot coffee and cookies available at all times. We didn't use the indoor pool/spa, but there were several families in there swimming and it seemed clean and maintained.

Breakfast was a nice surprise...was expecting only pastries, cold cereal, etc for a continental breakfast. Instead, there were biscuits & gravy (yum) link sausages, pancakes, some kind of egg (didn't try) toast, bagels, danish, oatmeal. Overall, pretty darn good.

We were a little disappointed in the Dillard/Clayton area, unfortunately. Shops and everything closed up pretty early. We will probably go back some time in the summer months to do more outdoor stuff...will definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, would have preferred an upstairs room. However, there were only about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraR718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillard
0.4 mi away
Mountain Valley Inn
Mountain Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knights Inn Dillard
Knights Inn Dillard
#3 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
8.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#1 of 12 in Franklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites

Property: Gateway Inn & Suites
Address: 64 White Oak Lane, US Hwy 441 & GA Hwy 246, Dillard, GA 30537 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Dillard)
Location: United States > Georgia > Dillard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dillard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Gateway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dillard Hotel Dillard
Holiday Inn Dillard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing