We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gateway Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dillard
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here recently for 3 nights while attending a wedding. The hotel is clean & staff was very friendly. The phones in our room never worked & the internet was inconsistent at best. Otherwise, it was a great place to stay in Dillard!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nae69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 121 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

Our stay was great. Two adults two children. Very quiet and very cozy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBigDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We'd made reservations at the Holiday Inn Express-Dillard about a month ago for a little getaway to Clayton/Dillard, just to relax after the Thanksgiving hustle-bustle. I was not expecting a fancy place with amenities, just a clean, comfortable place to wind up in after a day of shopping and sight-seeing.

The hotel was not at all crowded, and we were able to check in early. The lady at the front desk, Shandaline (?) was fantastic. Very friendly and helpful...she really made my rating go from a 4 to a 5.

Our room was extremely clean, bed comfortable, decor just fine. Only things I noticed needing attention were trivial: wallpaper loose in one corner of the bathroom, and the toiletpaper holder was rusty/corroded.

The lobby was clean and inviting, hot coffee and cookies available at all times. We didn't use the indoor pool/spa, but there were several families in there swimming and it seemed clean and maintained.

Breakfast was a nice surprise...was expecting only pastries, cold cereal, etc for a continental breakfast. Instead, there were biscuits & gravy (yum) link sausages, pancakes, some kind of egg (didn't try) toast, bagels, danish, oatmeal. Overall, pretty darn good.

We were a little disappointed in the Dillard/Clayton area, unfortunately. Shops and everything closed up pretty early. We will probably go back some time in the summer months to do more outdoor stuff...will definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, would have preferred an upstairs room. However, there were only about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraR718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel monthly for almost two years. Up until June of 2011, service and cleanliness were excellent.

In June, I noticed a dank smell throughout the hotel and I switched rooms twice because they were not clean. July & August were worse - there were fleas biting me in August and I never went back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cab3170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Good base for motorcyclers as many good roads near by. Not a great choice of restaurants near however. Challenging driveway. Very helpful staff. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSTAsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I think it is an only chain hotel above Days Inn level in the area. It was nothing spectacular, as expected - standard and comfortable. No problems with water temperature (first thing I checked after May 2 review :) or AC though we stayed around June 11. Breakfast was complimentary, everything high sugar/fat, except for yogurt, no fruit but oh well.
A few minutes from border with NC, about an hour drive to Great Smoky Mountains Nat'l Park (great views on the way).
I'd recommend to have a meal at Cupboard cafe just outside of the hotel (one block left from the hotel) - delicious Southern food, the ribs were amazing. They also have a huge selection of desserts and great souvenir shop.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The weekend with the greadkids was great. Very clean rooms and great beds. The kids loved the indoor pool - nice. A good place to stay with alot of outside actives - alot of flea markets and yard sales. Over all the hotel was very clean and the decor was pretty. But the staff was not very freindly. Not a smile or a good morning from the breakfast bar lady, but she did keep everything filled and clean. The front desk people were always in the back ,I had to ring a bell to get help and then they would sit down. I have never seen a front desk staff sitting down at a holiday inn express. I think the all staff needs some training. But the over all stay was the great - I didn't go there to talk with your staff - it was a fun weekend with my four greandkids!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjm77wam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillard
0.8 mi away
Knights Inn Dillard
Knights Inn Dillard
#3 of 3 in Dillard
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Valley Inn
Mountain Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Dillard
100 reviews
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
8.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
21.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites

Address: 64 White Oak Ln, US Hwy 441 & GA Hwy 246, Dillard, GA 30537-2110 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Dillard)
Location: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Dillard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dillard
Price Range: $88 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Gateway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dillard Hotel Dillard
Holiday Inn Dillard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing