We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great except for the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Decatur
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great except for the noise”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This motel is located on the edge of dowtown Decatur, basically in a residential area, and is on a cramped lot. The parking lot is narrow and the cars are jammed up next to the room doors so you hear loud pick-up trucks and vehicle doors slamming.
The ground floor room I had was near the lobby and clean and spacious and the free wi-fi was the fastest I encountered in the past week of travels around Georgia.
The lobby and breakfast area is small but adequate.
I had requested an upstairs room when I made a reservation months prior to the trip. If that had been honored, then I wouldn't have any complaints as I expect the parking lot noise wouldn't have been an issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room, they're in the back and hopefully more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drillisj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    146
    119
    44
    37
See reviews for
154
57
59
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The location of this hotel was excellent - we could walk to downtown Decatur - this was a huge plus. The staff was considerate and helpful. Given the opportunity, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Relocated to here after 4 days at a downtown Atlanta convention. Spent some vacation time at Stone Mountain and several attractions East of the city. The place is quiet, comfortable, and walking distance to downtown Decatur with probably a dozen+ good / interesting restaurants. Found it to be a convenient drive to the CDC, Fernbank Natural History Museum, and Callanwolde, the mansion built by the son of Coca-Cola's founder (now a fine arts center). And the price -- at 1/2 that of the conference hotel's rate -- was a welcome relief.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred_PA_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesbit
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Super 8 in Decatur was wonderful! Five of us in a suite overnight. It was clean,affordable and comfortable. My only complaint is the website doesn't say there is an additional charge for each person. A but misleading.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#96 of 172 in Atlanta
473 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#17 of 172 in Atlanta
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area

Property: Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area
Address: 917 Church St., Decatur, GA 30030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Decatur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 in Downtown Decatur, GA. Our newly renovated hotel is in the heart of the downtown area where shopping, restaurants, and more are just blocks away. Start your day off energized by visiting our fitness center or enjoying our SuperStart breakfast with Fresh waffles, fruit, yogert, connamon rolls, and more. If you're in town to visit Emory University, it's just minutes away. We look forward to welcoming you to the Super 8 in Downtown Decatur, GA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Decatur Downtown Hotel Decatur
Super Eight Decatur
Decatur Super 8
Decatur Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing