We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Reviewed November 22, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank MAYO G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 454 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank ALICIA K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Linens were very clean; beds were very comfortable, HVAC was quiet and efficient and the coffee at the breakfast bar was excellent!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Fairfax100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Bigger hotels in the area were booked because of college football games, so we chose Super 8. It was a happy accident....it cost much less than the big hotel two blocks closer to town. Very comfortable bed, good hot shower, lots of space on the sink console, plugs for rechargers, 2 flat-screen TVs.

We stayed in the newer, or newly-refurbished part of the hotel, in a small suite. We had a great view of a small woods with a well-kept cemetery nearby. Cemetery is great for daytime walking. That extra room in the suite turned out to be a blessing when we had to stay a couple extra days (Hurricane Sandy had closed most east-coast airports). Room had microwave, fridge. There is laundry room on site. There is an elevator convenient to the parking lot. In 8 or 10 minutes you can walk into the town center.

The studio-couch in the suite was not a very comfortable couch, but that was about the only drawback to an otherwise really good value.

Breakfast was included (pre-pak oatmeal, buns, etc. Waffle machine, juice, coffee, yogurt, toast, bananas). WiFi was reliable.

We didn't interact with the staff that much, but they were helpful and accommodating with replenishing breakfast foods and printing up boarding passes and so on. This is a family-run business, and they take great pride in their work.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magister_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Recently renovated. Elevator, fridge, microwave, friendly staff. Convenient to downtown Decatur eateries and bars. 10 minute walk to MARTA. Direct TV. Continental breakfast. A very good deal. The hotel is well lit at night. 2nd time I have stayed here and I enjoyed both stays.

Room Tip: With the elevator, does not really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimG1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed in Room 301. It was right over the office and right next to Church St. The room was clean and for the most part in good repair. There were a couple of spots in the room that needed attention. For instance, the bathroom ceiling is peeling and needs fixing/repainting. The corners of the room needed a good cleaning. There was some odor - no idea what it was in the room. Not offensive but doesn't give the appearance of clean. The staff ran the dryer until 1AM and I could hear it in my room. Also, it vibrated my bed. Finally, I could hear every car that passed by through the night, not only their engines but the roar of the tires. The wall needs to be better insulated or don't rent that room. Use it for storage.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank GREGORY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#94 of 172 in Atlanta
493 reviews
Affordable Hotel
#4 of 18 in Decatur
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area

Address: 917 Church St, Decatur, GA 30030-1872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Decatur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range: $87 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 in Downtown Decatur, GA. Our newly renovated hotel is in the heart of the downtown area where shopping, restaurants, and more are just blocks away. Start your day off energized by visiting our fitness center or enjoying our SuperStart breakfast with Fresh waffles, fruit, yogert, connamon rolls, and more. If you're in town to visit Emory University, it's just minutes away. We look forward to welcoming you to the Super 8 in Downtown Decatur, GA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Decatur Downtown Hotel Decatur
Super Eight Decatur
Decatur Super Eight
Decatur Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing