We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice! Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice! Great Location”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We recently stayed at the Super 8 in Decatur GA for leisure and were very impressed with how nice the rooms were. They were recently remodeled and were very large! For only 65$ a night we couldn't possibly find a better hotel in a more convenient place with such great service. Highly recommend! Book online in advance and get a discount too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back- they are the newer ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patandrach0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    150
    123
    44
    38
See reviews for
159
59
60
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waltham UK
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We recently had a 6 night stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms contained everything we needed and was very comfortable. There was a free continental breakfast which met our needs every morning. In our opinion, this hotel provided very good value for money and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. We have plans to return later this year when visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leginyblod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiger, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This place is near the Veterans Administration Hospital. I've stayed here numerous times. I've never had a problem. The check in & out process is quick. My room was clean and had a nice smell. I'll tell others who were in the military - you can't go wrong with this place. The price was even right. They are expanding the place and now have handicap rooms. I'll continue to stay when I have to go to the VA hospital and hope you do also.

Room Tip: I like the bottom floor in the middle of the motel. I've stayed in many of their rooms. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LILJOHNEGLIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I needed a place to stay for one night before Dragon*Con that was near my cousin at Agnes Scott College. This was the closest hotel at a reasonable price, about a mile from the college. I'll probably stay here again if I go to visit my cousin next time I come for D*C.

It was nice to have such large rooms, and the staff was quite pleasant. Unfortunately, some of the breakfast food had mold on it, though. The bathroom had a spider in it (not that I don't see that everywhere, so I won't complain too much). The DVD player didn't work, which was kind of annoying as we were going to watch a movie with my cousin. I probably could have gotten a working one from the front desk, but I didn't bother since it was so late at night.

Overall, just fine. No problems. Inexpensive. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wraithofmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coloradojess
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This was by far the worst motel experience of my life. The first room my husband and I were given was disgusting. The room smelled, and was filthy…as in the corners of the carpet has visible dirt and lint built up they seemingly have never been vacuumed, the front of the bathroom sink had something crusted on it I’m gagging as I type because it was so gross. Also the ironing board was so stained I wouldn’t dream of using it, and when we lifted the mattresses to check for bed bugs there was the case to a pornographic movie laying under the mattress. I did not walk around in this room without shoes on my feet. My husband and I had checked in late in the evening on a Friday night so I didn’t ask for a different room because I didn’t want to disrupt the manager who obviously had gotten out of bed to answer our arrival which was amazing to me since it wasn’t even midnight on a weekend.
The next morning I took pictures of the filth down to the manager to demand a new room. The manager was apologetic but refused to look at the pictures I was providing. He offered us a new room which would have to be cleaned; however he allowed us to drop our bags inside the door before we left for the day. This room was better but still not good. I again didn’t walk around without shoes and refused to touch the bedding except for the sheets and pillow cases which seemed to be clean.
Our first two nights were disrupted by noise. The first night we were awoken by the neighboring room having returned from a night out, not a big deal however the walls must be paper thin because I could hear the folks as clear as day. The second night we arrived to a police car with its lights on and a police officer and motel worker confronting our new neighbors for having broken the glass in the fire extinguisher box.
I went down to the ‘continental breakfast’ one day simply to get a coffee; I wouldn’t call what was offered a continental breakfast but rather cereal with old coffee.
I was amazed this motel was open for business. I would imagine a surprise visit from a health inspector would turn up some violations.
Look I don’t expect much from a budget motel but I DO expect cleanliness, this place is not clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coloradojess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Decatur hotels

Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Very safe area. Free parking. 6 miles from downtown Atl. Beautiful "little city in big city". Excellent service. Comfortable beds. Not brand new but well maintained. Very quiet room both nights. Stayed Fri and Sat nights for a Georgia Tech game. Decatur has fun walk around nightlife (lots of families and locals walk around). Good restaurants and shops in Decatur. Really pleasantly surprised. Great and SAFE bargain.

Room Tip: Much safer area than the $200 rooms I usually stay at in dntn Atl. easy drive to dwntwn Atl. Beutifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowJacketinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This motel is located on a main thoroughfare, 2 blocks to Kroger, 4 blocks to many restaurants, 4 blocks to public transport. The rooms had a Mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot plus a sittling area and free wi-fi. The continental breakfast wasn't gourmet, but it was adequate. The continental breakfast was typical, packaged sweets and some bagels, coffee, milk and juice and bananas. The Ice machine worked well. Rooms were dated and some of the tiles in the bathrooms had mildew. Rooms and bathrooms were cleaned daily for the 4 night stay. The DVD player worked in only 1 of 4 rooms occupied and the management did not appear to grasp the importance of maintaining and fixing broken equipment. One of the rooms had major issues related to the door, keys were changed numerous times and finally the entire lock was removed and changed. The management was rude and abrupt at times, displaying indifference to concerns voiced. Eventually some of the concerns and issues were addressed, after threats of checking out, and explaining normal expected American public relations standards and norms. Overall for the price, it was a safe area, close to the train, we slept ok and was somewhat comfortable, but I probably wont stay here again. I was very disappointed in many factors, and the motel was not up to the standard of other Super 8 previously used. There was a lot of construction during our stay, (the owners are adding more rooms to the motel) so on the weekday mornings there was a lot of noise related to the heavy equipment being used. Parking was very limited. This could be a better motel if the management is willing to do some upgrades and pay for a qualified maintenance man, instead of trying to fix things themselves.

Room Tip: Be careful when booking non-smoking rooms, they are not always true non-smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 349Blakey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#100 of 173 in Atlanta
479 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 173 in Atlanta
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area

Property: Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area
Address: 917 Church St, Decatur, GA 30030-1872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Decatur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 in Downtown Decatur, GA. Our newly renovated hotel is in the heart of the downtown area where shopping, restaurants, and more are just blocks away. Start your day off energized by visiting our fitness center or enjoying our SuperStart breakfast with Fresh waffles, fruit, yogert, connamon rolls, and more. If you're in town to visit Emory University, it's just minutes away. We look forward to welcoming you to the Super 8 in Downtown Decatur, GA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Decatur/Dntn/Atlanta Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Decatur Downtown Hotel Decatur
Super Eight Decatur
Decatur Super 8
Decatur Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing