We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New, Clean, Forward thinking.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New, Clean, Forward thinking.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Brand new hotel, love the lobby design with tv's for travelers, newspapers and breakfast options to go. rooms were also nice. Near East Lake Golf course where we played the next day, so great for that option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    138
    47
    13
    6
See reviews for
100
51
12
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This Marriott has been remodelled in the last few years; was a Holiday Inn before and everything has been upgraded, including the prices. Furnishings are very male, tho there's a nod to floral here and there. (Some of toilets are awfully tall and our bath had a TV right in the middle of the mirror at my face height; annoying. I am handicapped and asked to be near the elevator and they evidently could not accomodate, so they gave us a suite; nice; but we paid $280 a night, so it should be! Even tho we reserved a month in advance, this was all they said they had, no AAA rooms available. That was a pretty big surprise, but, we now know that they do LOTS of weddings here, sometimes three a day. They will tell you that it is not always quiet; the noise in the bistro/lobby area echoes up the interior to rooms that face the interior. And, ALL the rooms are not close to the elevator.) Staff is outstanding and the place is very conveniently located, particularly if you are visiting NE Atlanta. Cute restaurants and shops a block away, and hotel is attached to conference ctr. Drawback: breakfast, which is not great, ends at 10AM sharp, and there is NO restaurant on site from 10 to 5, including the coffee bar (Starbucks). No room service. Not sure what they serve from 5 to 11PM, probably small plates and I think alcohol. So if you are not going to be there all day, no prob, but if you get up late, you're walkin to breakfast a block or two away; same with lunch. We bought yogurt and fruit and kept in the fridge and made our own tea.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that looks out on the east or south side. Rooms looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family stayed at this gem in downtown Decatur during a family reunion. This was an all-around great experience. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, spacious and modern. The location can't be beat. And, we stayed with a AAA rate of just $123.00 per night. You just don't find deals like this very often. I highly recommend the Courtyard in downtown Decatur!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went to Atlanta on business, stayed at the Courtyard. Didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel but everything was smooth and nice. Hotel was perfectly located for me and lots of places to grab dinner nearby. My room was clean and spacious with a great bed. Bathroom nice with a nice shower. It basically had all I needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Thorbjorg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
193 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to go for the book festival so found this hotel had rooms. Pleasantly surprised easy check in, very good front desk staff, nice room right off the city square. Overall great experience and was a fair price for such a busy time. Always amazed by people that whine about hand soap etc bring your own!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hockeybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week on business. This hotel is fairly new and the lobby is very well-kept and has ample seating. It is connected to the convention center. Free wi-fi, HD flat screens and refrigerators in every room. This hotel is in walking distance to many eateries, independently owned businesses, cvs, Kroger, McDonald's and the MARTA subway system that can take you Downtown Atlanta, King Memorial, Airport and shopping malls for $2.50(one way). The hotel shuttle is complimentary with a 3-mile radius which is nice. On location is a bistro,bar and several grab-n-go options. There is complimentary coffee and assortment of teas every morning. No free breakfast though. There is a charge for parking per day. If your room is facing the atrium there is no window to the outdoors(just the lobby). **Please. Note: I heard from several hotel guest that lobby noise can be heard if your room faces the atrium.I left a personal belonging and it was mailed to my home in a very timely manner. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atrium (lobby) do not have outdoor views. If you appreciate natural light than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I want to mention that this Courtyard is independently run from Marriott hotels, and while you can make reservations and view the hotel from the Marriott website, you may encounter some glitches in the process. I have made reservations to this hotel several times, and almost every time there is something wrong with my reservation (duplicates, different room than requested, and no reservation showing). In one incident, I was on the phone with Marriott reservations who were telling me that I have a confirmed reservation, at the same time the person at the front desk was telling me that I didn't have a reservation and that they were totally full. No explanation, no apologies, no 'let's see what we can do' just a "we're full, there's the door" approach.

Now, once you are in, this is a great and newly-renovated courtyard. The rooms are very comfortable, and the facilities modern, welcoming, and very clean. The rooms are the current Courtyard standard, so if you've seen one, it's exactly the same. The location is great, and the front desk staff make great efforts to help you, the shuttle and drivers are wonderful. Indoor pool is great for both older and younger kids (toddlers who can't swim yet). For getting around Atlanta it's right on a Marta stop, and central to most attractions to Atlanta.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leighjohnwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Leighjohnwi –Thank you for taking the time to complete the trip advisor review. I appreciate the great feedback on our front desk staff and the shuttle drivers. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoy the hotel and the local area. I do want to express my apologies about the reservation issues you have experienced and that our staff did not do more to accommodate you. Although you are correct in that we are not run by Marriott International, our systems still link together and the process should be seamless. I will work with our IT department to determine why these glitches are occurring. Please feel free to contact me at 678-244-9300 if you would be willing to provide a few more details such as the dates of your stays, if reservations where made through the internet, etc. In addition, I will ensure our front office manager does additional training with the staff on problem resolution. Thank you for providing me the opportunity to address these. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#97 of 172 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#17 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#37 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory

Property: Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory
Address: 130 Clairemont Ave, Decatur, GA 30030-2501 (Formerly Holiday Inn Decatur Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Decatur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of historic downtown Decatur with over 50 restaurants and shops within a 3 mile radius of the hotel.The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Decatur Downtown/Emory provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your destination for a great breakfast, or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! We offers spacious meeting rooms, breakouts,pre-function and event space. Our new facilities offer flexible space and our experienced staff is dedicated to making your event a success. From corporate meetings to joyous celebrations, we’ll bring your visions to reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory Hotel Decatur
Holiday Inn Decatur Hotel
Decatur Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing