We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood Pub atmosphere plus great food”
Review of The Corner Pub

The Corner Pub
Ranked #54 of 370 Restaurants in Decatur
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Armenian, Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
161 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Pub atmosphere plus great food”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very good food. Excellent food by pub standards.
Many interesting beers on draft. Nice patio too. And brunch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BSchug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    24
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
329 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Great local pub!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We've come here dozens of times and it never disappoints. My wife and I come here to hang out and also to meet friends. Honestly we first came for the beer specials, but along the way learned they have a wonderful menu including fresh produce from the farmer's market. They always have true pints available and rotating beers including some hard to find ones. They also have a great internet jukebox which we love to play in the evenings. This pub has a strong following of regulars and they are all very welcoming - be sure to say hello to Robert, the owner's father as he is always at the bar. Additionally they have a pool table, foosball and darts when you feel like a challenge. Overall this is a great local place tucked away off of College and worth the visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Pub Food (hard to find)”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a genuine pub. It's a bar.

But, it has much better food than a typical bar. Their Vegetarian Cuban is a great sandwich and apparently one of their specialties, along with the other Cuban with meat in it.

I say hard to find because their tiny little sign out front is very hard to see. I would suggest slowing down to 10 mph when the GPS says you are close. It's there - you just can't see it.

They can handle larger groups by moving table around.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dependable/Reliable Hangout”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Corner Pub isn't the fanciest and your food might be served on chipped plates, but you will never leave disappointed. After dozens of visits, I've come to love this place. The food is always good (sometimes great!), with a pretty good selection of beer and wine. Brunch on the weekends is phenomenal!! Service is super friendly more often than not, and once the severs get to know and recognize you they are very welcoming and will chit chat. I sure wish they hadn't removed the foosball table though! Friends and I used to look forward to foosball matches, but alas, no more. Corner Pub is kinda like Cheers in Decatur. Good place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoff, South Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Definitely a better class of ‘pub grub.’”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I must say that the food is pretty good. And as an Irishman, I have to say that they treat a Guinness with all due respect. They do know how to pour a “proper pint.” And according to our server, they shop for all of their veggies at the local farmers market and prepare each dish when ordered.

I had the Cuban sandwich with a side of rice and black beans. They said it was served on a hoagie roll. It was more like a toasted baguette; sliced on the bias. I know, love and cook traditional Cuban food. There was nothing traditional about this dish, especially the mayo on the ‘un-pressed’ sandwich. The rice with black beans was just that, white rice with a serving of regular black beans over the top: No seasoning.

My wife and stepson both enjoyed their meals. My wife had the fried okra which was off the charts: Absolutely fresh and absolutely excellent. The only problem being that they split the pods lengthwise and they don’t remove the stem head. I would advise that they remove this part as it is inedible. When people try to eat it by holding the head, they loose a lot of that beautiful crisp coating which has been perfectly prepared and fried.

That being said, all-in-all, everything was pretty good. God bless.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Corner Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing