We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Terrible and Worst motel 6 ever!!!!!!!!”
Review of Motel 6 Decatur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Decatur
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is the Terrible and Worst motel 6 ever!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Cockroaches !! When we entered our motel room, I noticed something inside an old microwave near our door. Not knowing what it was, I opened it and a cockroach crawled out of it. We picked up our bags and left the hotel room, and when we asked for a refund, the manager refused to give a full refund, so we only got about 75% of our money back? not good. Very scary and awful place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hernandaz v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    1
    5
    18
See reviews for
14
6
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Because of the bad reviews I decided to take a look at this place. I had a reservation and a very good rate. The motel is located on an alley sort of street behind some fast food restaurants. There is another motel in front of this one so you are really way back in the alley.

A housekeeper was throwing things away in the outside dumpster and some men were in the parking lot doing some work.

I walked past the front door to get a good look at the place as there was still time to cancel the reservation.

A man in a dress shirt appeared in the door where the housekeeper entered and rudely asked if I "needed something." I just turned around and went the other way. He then began screaming loudly, "hey what do you want." And, "what you can't hear me."

I will bet this guy was the hotel manager and that this is the type of service one should expect in this hotel.

I promptly got on the computer and canceled by 3:30pm (the site says by 4pm, but I notice that somewhere around 3:45pm the site refuses to honor the cancellation).

I wanted to like this place but never got the chance.

He was yelling so loud that the men working just stopped and stared; probably wondering what I had done wrong, which was NOTHING!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CopacabanaGrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Decatur hotels

Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed there just for a night and the only good part was the staff. I have stayed in motel 6 in many other cities and this one was no where near the rest. Shady location, filthy room, extremely loud AC, people playing loud TV in their rooms. My wife had never stayed in motel 6 before and she never wants to go near another one

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank TKC0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Their service was excellent. Staff at the front desk were very friendly and polite. Rooms were nice, cleaned and calm. Beds were excellent. Location is in perfect place and area is beautiful. Also hallways are nice and cleaned. I like the front place designs and looks cute. My friends were happy and satisfy of living in great Motel. Prices are not that expensive compare to others. We'll come back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingqueenoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Giving a one for each of the catagories was very generous, Lobby was freezing cold,
the heater in the rooms smelled like burning coils, the blankets had holes in them and there was blood on the sheets, This entire hotel needs to be razed. Because we had one extra child, we had to get an entire room and then they charged the premium price.
I know that we will never stay there again. We should have driven further east to Conyers.
This hotel should not even be on the roster for Motel 6. It's a total embarassment.
As we checked out the next morning, they asked if we were finished. It looked like it was frequented by drug dealers and prostitutes.
What a shame to have to expose the family to that!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DopeyNGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Me and my wife came to get baptized in decatur. we stay there for 2 nights. we really had no problems to speak of. for what we paid, we got our money worth. the room was decent. the service was fine. and we slept just fine.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fosterdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
Affordable Hotel
#4 of 18 in Decatur
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Masters Inn Tucker
#3 of 11 in Tucker
50 reviews
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#100 of 171 in Atlanta
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Decatur

Property: Motel 6 Decatur
Address: 2572 Candler Rd, I-20 Exit-65, Decatur, GA 30032-6501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Decatur
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Decatur 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Decatur, GA offers several amenities including a microfridge and free WiFi in all guest rooms. We are located near shopping. Dine at Philly Connection, Red Lobster or Dairy Queen. Visit the GA Dome, GA World Congress Center and Fox Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decatur Motel Six
Decatur Motel 6
Motel Six Decatur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing